We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has it closed?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Mirage to your Saves list
Royal Mirage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #357 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Has it closed?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here for a week in 2012 and the place and location was excellent. Someone told me that it has been demolished? Anyone know if this is correct?
Would love to visit this hotel again when I return. Hope its not closed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    165
    122
    49
    60
See reviews for
94
213
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for nearly 2 weeks.. it was amazing! the food was nice..and the hotel staff were friendly! you can take camel rides outside the hotel.. taxi's outside the hotel..all day&night! i fell in love with marrakech! :D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blatna
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I visited this hotel in April/2012 and it was in a low season. We had a double room, it was nice decorated and clean. We could use outside pool. Watter was OK. The breakfast was delicious, we had a fresh made pancakes which we really enjoyed. I think everyone can choose from lot of food.
We had a marrocan a pot of tea in the afternoon by the pool. It was nice.
There is easy connection to the airport. You can use bus Nr 19.
We had lovely, rellaxing time there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My sister & I visited this hotel for a girly getaway and was bitterly Dissappointed! We walked into the lobby where various guests were crowding the reception area demanding to see the manager. The female receptionist looked like she couldn't care less and simply said no he is busy. As we waited to check in which took over an hour as there were many guests being seen to about various different compliments this didn't give us a good first impression. We finally got seen to and got a frosty welcome and told to follow the bell boy. We were taken to our first room which had already been occupied and walked in on a couple sitting on their balcony! Their wise words were not to stay at this hotel as they had some horrible experiences. Our second room hasn't been cleaned and were wet towel and hair over the floor. Third room was acceptable but nothing like what the Internet described. There was not once an apology or explanation to why this had happened.
Food was basic and bland. Had terrible food poising for 24 hours and had spoken to other guests around the pool when I finally felt well enough to get out of bed who had also suffered with similar discomfort.
There were so many other aspects that were terrible and on the whole our experience was awful and not at all what you would expect from a 4*!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our stay was magical in Marrakech, helped a lot by this lovely, affordable hotel.
Getting there:
You can catch the number 19 that runs very often from the airport and goes right outside the hotel in one stop and takes 5-10 minutes For about 60D- much cheaper than the taxi driver trying to get 100D out of you at best!
On arrival:
we got there 3hrs before check-in but the receptionists were so lovely, they got us a room in 5 minutes and enaured we were comfy and happy.
Your stay:
Don't drink the tap water or have any ice!!! although it's a great hotel the tap water will still give you the squits!
The food is great at the albatros for little snacks and breakfast but we liked to go out for our evening meal.
As it can get quite hectic, hot and very full on in the old town of Marrakech, it's wonderful to come back to the cool, loving arms of your French/English and Arabic speaking hotel :) the travel advice guys are awesome as well and work hard to get you the best deal.
One of my favourite moments of the holiday was when I fell and cut my knee by the pool and when I asked for a plaster they called the doctor who came straight away in full scrubs, applied the plaster himself to My knee and then kissed it better!!!!

The only bad point:
There is no sensor for swearing in their poolside music so if going with children, make sure you speak to reception or the pool guard before relaxing by the pool with your 3 year old and sunddenly 'b**ch guna pay' comes blasting over the speakers :)

Have fun!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for a 3 night break with 5 other couples , check in all went smoothly and rooms were clean enough,two large beds,nice and comfy,however our balcony was covered in bird poo,not clean at all. the safe was free. No complimentary toiletries in bathroom. The mini fridge was empty.Food was ok,always found something to eat that I like, fresh omelettes at breakfast.The alcoholic drinks in the hotel were very pricey though. The reception did not have enough money there for us to all exchange English to their currency which I thought was not very good considering you are not allowed to bring any of their money into rd out of the country, so we walked to the next hotel where we all changed some.There must have been some work going on because there was continuous banging all day. Lots and lots of flys around by the pool and birds will just fly into restaurant when you are eating and eat off your plate if you are not sitting at table.The food from Snack bar by pool was very nice.The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the center but a taxi is very cheap and only takes a few minutes. We enjoyed our stay but would probably look for a hotel closer to the new town if we went again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel has some very grand public spaces, with more sofas than DFS, the rooms were large with 2 double beds, nicely decorated and the television had several English channels. The breakfast had a wide choice of food, fresh fruit, rolls, danish pastries, hot food, and freshly cooked omelets and pancakes, unfortunately they allowed sparrows into the breakfast restaurant which left dropping on the tables, the panels, chandeliers etc. If you left your table to get more food the birds would go for your food. These birds have been doing it for years, they were the fattest birds I'd seen and had learn tricks to get in and out even when the doors were keep shut. The hotel needs to put steps in place to stop this happening, it would be closed down in the UK under health grounds. The reception staff were also very unhelpful, giving you no details about the hotel and were only interested in you doing trips.

Room Tip: Avoid the birds flight path in the breakfast room. Sit as near the food as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
11.7 mi away
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
#264 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,690 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#381 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#208 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,859 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
3.2 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#188 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage

Address: Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#178 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Royal Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.