We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, just a shame you have to eat breakfast with sparrows!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albatros Garden

Save Saved
You added Albatros Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Albatros Garden
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Royal Mirage Marrakech)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, just a shame you have to eat breakfast with sparrows!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel has some very grand public spaces, with more sofas than DFS, the rooms were large with 2 double beds, nicely decorated and the television had several English channels. The breakfast had a wide choice of food, fresh fruit, rolls, danish pastries, hot food, and freshly cooked omelets and pancakes, unfortunately they allowed sparrows into the breakfast restaurant which left dropping on the tables, the panels, chandeliers etc. If you left your table to get more food the birds would go for your food. These birds have been doing it for years, they were the fattest birds I'd seen and had learn tricks to get in and out even when the doors were keep shut. The hotel needs to put steps in place to stop this happening, it would be closed down in the UK under health grounds. The reception staff were also very unhelpful, giving you no details about the hotel and were only interested in you doing trips.

Room Tip: Avoid the birds flight path in the breakfast room. Sit as near the food as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    173
    123
    52
    59
See reviews for
93
212
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Albatros Garden. The location was good for visiting tourist attractions with the Red Tourist Bus stop outside the entrance. You can walk to the Souks and square with all its attractions from the hotel. Approx., 20 mins. Hail a cab and it should not cost more than 20 dhm. Hotel rooms are spacious and the bedding very clean. Slight problem with first room as at back of main block and not a very good view. No problem changing rooms but to other block overlooking second pool area, very quiet as only two other guests in 60 odd rooms, only problem was running cold water, they did come to deal with it when we spoke to them and it still did not work well. Changed room again to the main block overlooking main pool area and this room had the required hot water. The staff were ok in dealing with these little problems. The hotel is in need of some tlc. Once it was 4 star but it is dated and the rooms are in need of redecoration. The reception staff we found to be functional but there was a girl who spoke good English and she was very, very helpful and pleasant. There is a real lack of information for the Brit tourist. Silly things like no maps of area and information in all languages of the local times of business and what is on offer in and by the hotel. If you like a beer the hotel does sell it but its by the bottle, there is one brilliant bar(BAR 6)where you can get a drink and it also serves good food with music and a very good service which is about 500 yards down the road from the hotel. We were on half board and found the food was quite good, there was a reasonable choice for breakfast and always different choice in the evenings. A menu of what is available each evening would be a nice touch as some times freshly cooked food was not immediately noticeable . Don,t forget that you will be charged a daily local city tax directly by the hotel when checking out.

Room Tip: If you have a choice ask for a room overlooking the main pool from the 3rd floor. Center 2nd floor h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for five nights from 28th October 2013. Our first impression of the hotel was very good, no problem checking in, porter took luggage and showed us to the room. The room was very spacious and very clean. Two queen beds, very clean, flat screen TV, small fridge, large balcony overlooking the smaller of the two swimming pools. No extra charges for safe in room.

There was a nightclub next door which had some loud singing until the early hours of the morning. When we asked at reception the reply was that they would speak to the club and that we could be given a different room. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke very good English. We changed rooms later that day to one on the fifth floor overlooking the main swimming pool, the view was fantastic.

Some reports say that staff did not smile or speak, well this staff were not entertainment staff, but porters and cleaners just doing a job. In our experience the reception staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.

Some other reports mention birds in the restaurant, well these are few small sparrows in the outside part of the restaurant (not the indoor area/ food buffet area). The outside area is beside the pool where there are palm and other trees, the birds live there and most likely do an excellent job of eating unwanted insects. In every outdoor restaurant we have been to with a similar set up you will always get a few small house sparrows, nothing to be concerned about at all.

We were half board and the breakfast buffet was excellent, plenty to eat, fresh omlettes, pancakes, cold food, hot food and breads. The evening buffet was very good with plenty to satisfy all but the most picky of eaters, hot food, cold food, sweets and fresh fruit. We ate in the restaurant everyday and no tummy problems whatsoever. A bottle of wine worked to be about £8.50 which for hotel or bar prices I thought was very acceptable. The coffee was excellent, remember to ask for coffee milk or you get an expresso shot. The cost, less than you would pay in the UK but expensive if you want to drink lots.

Marrakech was amazing and although we had some rain on this holiday we had a really fun time. The hotel reception staff booked us for an excusion to the foot of the Atlas mountains which was excellent. We booked a dune buggy ride followed by a camel ride with a lady at the desk in the foyer, this was excellent also. We would recommend the excusions if staying for more than a couple of days.

All in all, we really liked this hotel, it was clean, reception staff friendly and helpful even though very busy. The swimming pools were clean, there was some cracked tiles but nothing more than you would expect from wear and tear over long holiday season. The water was clean, sunbeds excellent. The hotel areas were magnificant, very spacious, large leather settees, chandeliers, beautiful ceilings.

We would have no hesitation in going back to this hotel, really enjoyed our stay, much better than I expected after reading other reports. It has compared favourably to other hotels we have stayed in throughout the world. An escape from the city centre buzz.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the main pool area. High floors gives a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestonian lancashire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Positives - location - walking distance to souks. Tourist bus stop outside. 2 pools, tennis courts, rooms spacious - 2 large beds. Probably sells itself with its "deals"
Negatives - this year service was poor - no one really acknowledged you particularly in restaurant - if you didn't call a waiter over you could go all meal without being asked if you wanted a drink. Whilst realise all city hotels have very transient guests we were for 5 days and felt no one interested. Think drinks at the hotel are quite expensive.
Air conditioning running hot , opened windows at night but club on hotel site - music till 5am ! asked to change room - standard of 2nd room better and air conditioning worked.
Food wont starve but ok, a few different restaurants in the hotel but only main one and Indian open - indian pay on use.
No service around pool have to go to bar - only open by one pool.

Room Tip: Our 2nd room was overlooking the Main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield Peverel, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A group of four chose to stay at the Albatros Garden Hotel for a long weekend. The hotel is clean, and the room was sizable. Wifi in the lobby was useful. Pool area was lovely although in October the pool a tad chilly for my liking.
Staff did not really seem keen to provide any local information. The Red tour bus stops by the hotel and provides a good option for visiting the markets etc.
The Spa experience was mixed. The Hamman was an interesting experience and went well. However the manicure and pedicure received in the dark was NOT good. My nails looked worse after!
We opted for half board, which for a weekend was fine, however the buffet was limited in options and would be repetative for longer stays. There is lots of great food to be found outside a short and inexpensive cab ride away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at 11.30 were offered no food or drink and had to pay the equivalent of £60 for a cold meal which took two hours to arrive. Drinks are very pricey £2.50 for a soft drink coffee etc. So if you want to sit by the pool all day with family this works out to be a lot! Buying drinks out side the hotel and bringing them back is much cheaper but you have to smuggle them in or the guards will take them off you at the door! The food is horrible and does in no way cater for English people. Teenagers beware!The rooms are fine, but do not have tea or coffee making facilities so again its £2.50 for every drink. The staff do not speak English. Find some where else. There are so many good hotels you do not need to use this one. Very disapointed never written bad reveiw in over thirty years of travelling. ,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

no problems we had a great time. Everybody friendly rooms were clean food in the med restaurant was great :-) . We were really impressed with the breakfast. If anything to fault cause Us British are good at that lol the drink & soft drinks are over priced :-( we found a super market and the same wine was a hundred dirrams more . Overall had a great stay we will def go back :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albatros Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Garden

Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Albatros Garden Hotel
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech
Address: Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Royal Mirage Marrakech)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Albatros Garden 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Albatros Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatros Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.