We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Albatros Gardens, marrakesh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mirage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mirage to your Saves list
Royal Mirage
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #331 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Albatros Gardens, marrakesh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel was booked for a girlie weekend, and for what we paid I have no complaints. The rooms are spacious,air con worked, the bedlinens clean and there was plenty of sunbeds around the pool. The water in the pool was not heated, but when the temperature was 45 degrees, it made for a welcome change. The pool bar was not operational, but there is a smaller bar to the side for drinkies. I wouldn't say this hotel qualfies as a 5*, it doesn't tick enough boxes, our sink was cracked, and the grouting could have been better, but it was cleaned daily, and fresh towels delivered.
There were 2 issues that warrant comment, the first is that the hotel does not allow you to bring your own food and drink onto the premises (despite providing an empty fridge for your use). We did bring stuff in, but on the first night were actually escorted to the reception desk, where we played dumb. Secondly, at breakfast, the staff were not particularly speedy at clearing the tables, and outside, this made a food fest for the birdies- not so bad if it's some cute baby sparrows, but massive pidgeons-YUK!
breakfast was included in the deal, which was OK, coffee hot, but forget the tea, as the water is only tepid. get down early for the orange juice as it got progressively weaker as time went on. Other than that, there was the usual, pastries, cereals, the egg man (omlettes to order), toast, cold meats.
Good spot that you can walk to the main square ( a 15 min stroll heading towards the mosque), and plenty of taxis across the roads.

Also - very usefully, the red tour bus stops right outside the hotel. This was brilliant when the heat was intolerable. Good price @ 145D each, This covers both the north and south bus route, and you can stay on all day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    163
    122
    49
    59
See reviews for
94
211
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Coulsdon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just got back from a short 3 night stay at this hotel.
Location suited us as out of the main hustle and bustle of the Medina and the two pools were more than welcome in the 50 degree heat!
Check-in was a bit disorganised but no big deal, rooms are big with air-con included and were fine, no complaints.
No problem with sun loungers, plenty for everyone.
We stayed on a B & B basis which catered for all, lovely scrambled eggs!
Had food at pool area 1st day which was reasonably priced but drinks as expected for a hotel were expensive.
All in all would recommend this hotel, but do check your bill when checking out as someone had put a bill on our room number for 200d. When we explained that the food we had we paid for at the time we had to sign a statement to this effect and no charge was made!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

This is no way a 5 star hotel by UK standards, but it is mostly clean and comfortable. The rooms are big and air conditioned, but a little shabby and strange smelling! The two pools are great and the hotel is just a cheap 5 minute taxi ride from the main square. Customer service is awful though. No one is in a hurry to help you and the receptionists are just plain rude! We spent over an hour on several occasions waiting for clean towels and cups of tea. Waitresses do not want to serve you and no one answers the phone for room service. It's a good hotel if you are on a budget and have a very laid back disposition. Avoid at all costs if you expect chirpy helpful staff who will bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Flight -
EasiJet from Gatwick - 3 hour 15 min flight - Normal No Frills airline - No seat allocation - Free for all - May not be all sitting together if there is a lot of you and you are one of the last ones on the plane...Tip..Buy and take your own food and water after you`ve passed through - OR you will pay more than £7 for a set pack of a Bacon Roll,Tea and a Twix..on Board..!!!

Transfer
Is a must - Save all the pester of `taxi Taxi taxi` at the airport - Short journey time of about 12 mins from airport to hotel.

Arrival at Hotel.
We arrived prior to the 15:00 booking in time, 10:30am in fact. The staff were busy and appeared stressed - So I will say here that this may be mistaken for what some trippers have described as rude and arrogant - The staff speak french, arabic and fairly good english - but that don`t handle pressure to easily. If you are half board, you will be given a wrist band so Restaurant staff will recognise you ..We were given given our swipe card key and was shown to our rooms - suitcases transported by Bellhop and of course.... a tip.!!

The Room
Very Spacious with 2 x double beds and I slept like a log - There are NO tea and coffee facilities and just a few towels (If you want more - ask) The room was light and airy smelt clean - They are cleaned and made up daily. The decor is fair but probably in need of an update - Some bed side lights and side lamps weren`t working which resulted in a call to reception for 4 bulb replacments. - Some grouting and sealant needed to be done around the bath and sink areas. Plenty of wardrobe / hanging space and plenty of drawers. There is a room safe in the wardrobe section. I didn`t have a view overlooking the pool, but I only want to sleep and shower in a room so the view was not a top priority for me.

Eating
There are several eating places / restaurants on site - I paid for half board - Consisting of Breakfast and evening meal. The breakfast was the normal, All - You - Can - Eat, Eggs, beans sausages, toast, bread rolls,fruit juices, cereals, croissants tea coffee etc - All eggs are freshly cooked whilst you wait.
The evening meal was again, buffet style and didn`t change much - Salad, soup starters, bread rolls, Beef, Chicken, pasta, Rice, Desserts - Puddings - Cakes, fruit etc.

I must add here that the food replenishment was few and far between - had to wait more often than not for fresh, presentable food - This was mainly due to the behaviour of guests - They piled thier plates as high as they could and some acted like `pigs` at a trough. One guest dropped 2 bread rolls on the floor, then promptly picked them up and put them back with the rest for someone to chose and eat (Until, I took them off display) - Food was slopped into other bowls and trays where people were leaning over, piling up the serving spoon and then the food would topple off into another section.
When i eventually got some food - it was tasty and enjoyable to eat - Albeit that the menu and variety was basically the same all week.

Culture
If you have been to Egypt, you will know what I mean - Be prepared to be pestered if you go to the Souks, the market or the `Square`. If you take a picture of a performer, a side show, snake charmer or the man with the monkey - You WILL be expected to pay them...Another contrick, is that I mentioned the wristband earlier..??? Some Moroccans see that and say `Hey do you recognise me - I work at the hotel and no off duty - let me show you some around, take you somewhere or show you to `my brothers` - Its a con and will ask you for mon ey if you go with them...personal shoppers they aren`t..!! Dont be affraid to just `ignore` these pests - Its their culture. we are naturally british and think that if someone is talking, offering or helping us, we are obliged to be polite its our culture - trust me, just ignore them.

The monetary system is dirhams and I have to say DO NOT pay the asking price..You MUST barter.. E.G. They say 500dh - I paid 150dh. I took a horse and carriage ride. The asking price was 300dh - I paid NO MORE than 120dh. (£7) - That is the going bartered rate. Coffee coloured taxis are the best and safest to chose - but agree on a price first - From Albatros to the Squrae was 40 dh (£3). But again..don`t accept the first price.

Unless you have a strong stomach, I would suggest not eating anything from the souks or the markets - the temps are in the 100`s and food laying around attracts flies. Would I go back again..?? - well yes I would, it is an eye opener, different country, different culture. For me, the only thing that spolit it (ish) was the behaviour of SOME (not all) of the guests at meal times.

I paid a total of £360, for flight,transfer,hotel, bed,breakfast and evening meal and was very satisfied.. But as I say...it is not a 4-5 star hotel. I would say a 3. and finally..?? Its not the Ritz, but also nor the Pits.

Room Tip: Nothing in particular - rooms are for sleepng and showering (leave it..!!). They are roomy and ade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you're looking for 4*, this may not quite cut the mustard. I would say it's more of a 3* Europe standard. It is quite clean but not immaculate, the food is a little repetitious and unexciting but it is edible and some of it is fantastic, especially the breakfast omelettes. The pools are nice. I didn't find the staff particularly friendly apart from those in the restaurant. One of the receptionists was quite rude and other than that, people were generally unhelpful. We still had a very nice time though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hotel is in good location no enrtertainment but the indian restaurant was the best I don't really like indian food but it was the best would give it ten out of ten apart from that nice cosy hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely time at the Albatross Garden. It was very clean and the facilities were well looked after. The hotel staff were very polite, no hassle at all. I would recommend going to the Indian restaurant on site as it is the best curry I have had! Would definately suggest going there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage

Address: Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#137 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Mirage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Royal Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.