We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albatros Garden

Save Saved
You added Albatros Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albatros Garden
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
oldbury
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Where do i start! We booked for a week in march this year at the albatros club. A little tip for anyone booking through lowcostholidays; the hotel is literally a ten minute drive away from the airport so dont pay lowcosts transfer prices, just get a taxi, will cost you about 40 dirhams which is less than 4 pound! Upon arrival at the hotel, the porters are waiting to assist you with your luggage, which they usually would appreciate a 10 or 20 dirham tip for, but if like me you have young children or your hands full, this is actually very much appreciated! Check in was simple and quick, and our rooms were ready as soon as we arrived. Room was spotless, cleaned everyday if you wished. The food was wonderful, they would have at least 12 different fresh salads, many different hot and cold dishes, and a vast range of puddings. Anyone saying that they couldnt find something to eat is ridiculous! My 1 and a half year old daughter has never eaten so well! The waiters and bar staff are lovely and friendly, ensuring they are doing everything to satisfy your needs. Even the cleaners are polite and will smile and say hello when passing. The pools are immaculate and not as cold as you might expect for march! Theres a little shop right in the corner of the main reception which was my haven for chocolate and crisps! If you leave the hotel and turn left, a 5 minute walk down the road there is a small pharmacy and supermarket which have everything you could ever need, they are very small businesses so im sure they will be glad of the money! The Medina is a 20 minute walk away, depending on how fast you walk, the morrocan culture can be overwhelming at times but with a firm 'no' you shouldnt have a problem. Agree a taxi price before getting in to a taxi as they may try and charge you more. Things to avoid! When leaving the hotel, you may have a man approach you saying he is a 'hotel tourguide' and will try see if you have any plans of finding anywhere, and he will offer to show you where it is, at the time we thought this was great, it was only about an hour into the trip we realised he was actually after being paid and was getting commission for taking us to different shops around the berber market. So i would suggest saying no thankyou and having a look around yourselves. I think this is pretty much it! I would definitely stay here again, only one thing i would say, is maybe go with older children or no children, as there are a lot of things to do i.e camel rides etc, and a lot of the time children cant go with you, but still a lovely place, lovely hotel and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    164
    121
    49
    59
See reviews for
93
212
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

we found this hotel excellent , 3 women to share a room ,we had 3 double beds and masses of room .The food was very good having half board we swapped between lunch and dinner.
At the weekend when the morocans came for the weekend we foundthe dining room a bit f
ree for all and a shortage of food .We decided to book a guide from out side the hotel charging us 25 pound sterling each,A good price we thought ,he was very good but decided to take us to a friend selling carpets and was quite put out when we didn t buy.We were also taken to another shop selling all nic naks and again he wahe seconds very rude when we did noy buy .We gathered that him bringing customers to the shops got him a back hander for sales. book through hotel for guide its cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 6 days 1to6 march. Booked all through easy jet Wonderful very large hotel spotlessly clean friendly helpful staff all spoke English weather 70 plus great location enjoyed so much going back in October

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

stayed there in march 2012. very pleasant and plush hotel....i'd say it's a 4 star maybe. rooms are very spacious, clean. room service great. short walk (about 15 minutes) into the medina. great for families. staff were superb...very friendly and informative. only negative would be that it's lacking character. that said. good base to visit marrakech for a few nights. night club next door which is, *cough* interesting, guys...watch out for the local girls. very charming and friendly...but....let's just say, be careful. overall a good hotel but I subsequently stayed in a riad further out and would recommend others to do same.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were greeted by efficient but not over friendly staff, this was we realised because they were busy! Talk to the staff out of the busiest times and they could not have been more helpful, in fact a couple of them bent over backwards for us and as hoteliers ourselves we KNOW how hard it is sometimes.
We were shown to our room by a very nice porter and welcomed by the cleaning staff along the way (they clean endlessly)
Our room was large, airy, had loads of storage and the bathroom was spotless with 2 large towels, 2 hand towels and 2 facecloths.
We had minor misunderstanding due to language constrictions but their english was way better than my French or Berber.
If you wanted to nit pick you could find faults but for the price we paid we had an excellent stay in a clean room with exceptionally comfortable bed, made up with clean linen. The breakfast buffet was included in our price and more than catered to any dietary needs.
We had one lnch there and whils very nice it was a bit pricey, but hey, it's a hotel, if you want cheap go to a market stall. We ordered coffee and tea at night and big thermos pots arrived and stayed hot enough that we could have another in the morning.
All in all and excellent place to stay and it was 25 minutes walk to the main square.

Room Tip: If you want a decent room to rest up in, any room will do, if you want a view, ask when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Came to Marrakech this March to stay for 4 nights and this hotel was just wright! 15 minutes to walk to main square so really didnt need more! I found hotel very clean and staff was friendly. I had breakfast at the hotel everyday and I was satisfied. Pools were clean aswell and beacause hotel wasnt that busy had one of the pool just for myself :)
This hotel is perfect if you are not too fussy and if you dont expect European 5star quality in Morrocan 5star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Overall, if you want to visit Marrakesh specifically and if it’s available on a cheap deal, its worth it.
A riad would be a better experience I am sure, but a Travelzoo deal got us half board and an extra night stay compared to the cost of booking things separately.

Hotel is in good location (walk to old city / Medina in 25 minutes or a 5 minute taxi)
Rooms were fine, we had two small double beds between us. Very clean and everything worked.
There was two nights out of five where we could here really loud music playing till past 2am. Not sure if this was coming from the hotel or neighbouring ones, but annoying all the same.

If you are thinking of booking half or full board here, I would strongly say don’t bother with the evening food.
The restaurant has a selection of 20 or so items, in self serve containers, so items can be there for a long time, getting cold, many of which are already well over cooked.
There are a couple of cooking stations, so if you like to know how and when your food is cooked, look to see what’s being served there!

We found the breakfast fine, omelettes and pancakes made in front of you, selection of fresh rolls, cheese, fruit juice and tea/coffee (along with other cooked items that didn’t appeal)
The lunch was average, highlights were mini burgers and chicken pieces, again cooked in front of you.
The evening food though, was not worth it, dry as hell chicken, fatty and bone heavy beef, the salad bar was ok.

Some of the restaurant staff look at us a bit funny, seemed overstaffed and they didnt really want to be there.

Unless you came with massively high expectations and you are happy to use the hotel as a base to visit and experience Marrakesh and beyond, this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albatros Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Garden

Address: Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#130 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Albatros Garden 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Albatros Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatros Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.