We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, if on special offer & you're happy to eat out of the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albatros Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Albatros Garden to your Saves list
Albatros Garden
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, if on special offer & you're happy to eat out of the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Overall, if you want to visit Marrakesh specifically and if it’s available on a cheap deal, its worth it.
A riad would be a better experience I am sure, but a Travelzoo deal got us half board and an extra night stay compared to the cost of booking things separately.

Hotel is in good location (walk to old city / Medina in 25 minutes or a 5 minute taxi)
Rooms were fine, we had two small double beds between us. Very clean and everything worked.
There was two nights out of five where we could here really loud music playing till past 2am. Not sure if this was coming from the hotel or neighbouring ones, but annoying all the same.

If you are thinking of booking half or full board here, I would strongly say don’t bother with the evening food.
The restaurant has a selection of 20 or so items, in self serve containers, so items can be there for a long time, getting cold, many of which are already well over cooked.
There are a couple of cooking stations, so if you like to know how and when your food is cooked, look to see what’s being served there!

We found the breakfast fine, omelettes and pancakes made in front of you, selection of fresh rolls, cheese, fruit juice and tea/coffee (along with other cooked items that didn’t appeal)
The lunch was average, highlights were mini burgers and chicken pieces, again cooked in front of you.
The evening food though, was not worth it, dry as hell chicken, fatty and bone heavy beef, the salad bar was ok.

Some of the restaurant staff look at us a bit funny, seemed overstaffed and they didnt really want to be there.

Unless you came with massively high expectations and you are happy to use the hotel as a base to visit and experience Marrakesh and beyond, this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    163
    122
    49
    59
See reviews for
94
211
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oswestry, england
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here for only an afternoon between leaving a Riad in the centre of the Medina and getting our late night flight, but it was enough to form a pretty good opinion of this place, as you'll read.

When we arrived and saw the the reception area we thought wow - it was huge, palatial and nice and cool. We checked in early at 12pm no problem, though the reception from the staff was little more than "fill these forms in" and "here is your room". We found our room along a long corridor - this is a really big hotel - and the room was really good, two huge beds, a balcony looking out over the swimming pool.

No towels in the room - we asked at reception - oh yes they will be there immediately.

We went down for lunch, and chose the buffet - a bit pricey at 200dh (£15) but I guess most people would have this as part of their all inclusive price. Nice enough, salad, soup, choice of mains, sweet trolley - not amazing, but we filled up well. When I went to pay I was told the card machine was broken, so "you have to pay cash". As it was the end of our holiday, I didnt have enough, at which the waiter looked disgusted and practically frogmarched me to reception, where he proceeded to have a huge argument in what I think was French with the girl behind the counter, presumably about how they could pocket the cash when I wanted to pay on a card.

Then after a rest we tried to get towels for the pool and were grumpily told we needed cards to exchange for them - we'd not been given any, so it was back and forth to get that sorted.

We were the only people in the pool and when we asked for two cocktails at the "pool bar" you would have thought we'd just ran over their cat.

So now we went for a shower - still no towels - we rang again - and ten minutes later we were given one hand towel and a bath towel suitable for a small parakeet.

Maybe we were expecting problems now, but when we checked out they seemed confused that we'd only arrived this morning and were leaving already. We waited outside for our transfer. 15 minutes went by. We rang the number (at expense on a mobile) and were told that the hotel receptionist had told the transfer that we were staying another night and to "go away and come back tomorrow". The same receptionist who no doubt minutes later we checked out with and who watched us waiting outside for a transfer she had just "cancelled" for us.

We got to the airport on time, and enjoyed the few hours in the Albatross garden, but in that time alone we'd managed to fall foul of the surly disinterested incompetent staff quite a few times. Can you imagine a whole week ? You can get places this big where ther service matters to the hotels reputation, where the staff care about the customers. This isnt one of them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I liked the stay at this hotel very much , location was great close to main attractions in medina within in a walking distance , the views from our room was great.

breakfast was good " but they should add fresh juices" come on we are in morroco !!!!!
also rooms were clean but need to be painted.

Room Tip: choose rooms facing the mountains i think it was el shems wing facing the door that keads you from f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Booked this 4 night holiday via Travelzoo which inc dinner bb plus hamman.

Having read quite a few negative reviews, i was really nervous about what I had booked.

But when we finally arrived at the hotel, the negative reviews must have been about another hotel.

First impressions .. WOW !

We were greeted by the Duty Manager and offered some dates with sweet mint tea ... !

Our room was clean & large with 2 double beds, a fridge, flat screen tv and a balcony overlooking the pool ... we even had amazing views of the Atlas Mountains.

Staff extremely attentive & friendly and nothing too much trouble although if you dont speak much french - youre stuck ! We even had a regular visitor to our balcony, a pigeon who we named Abdul :-)

Great Spa facillities at the hotel ... try the body scrub which includes a mini body massage and a head massage with shampoo after.

Plentiful food at breakfast & dinner but drinks extremely overpriced ( tin of coke £2.50 and a non alcoholic pina colada £7 ).

The Jemaa al Fna square ( huge market place ) less than 10 mins away in a taxi ( which the hotel will get for you ) ... only pay 20Dh to the taxi driver even though they try to get more out of you.
Lots of great shopping like traditional items aswell as replica designer bags & purses. After 6pm all the food stalls open with some great cuisine.
Just be aware of young lads wanting to be you're guide - very pesistant & intimidating ! We went late afternoon and it was crazy but also went in the morning which was more pleasant & enjoyable !

Went on an organised Moroccan evening which was held in the grounds of a Chateau ... paid £25 each inc 4 course dinner and entertainment & coach - fab evening.

Visited Koutoubia Mosque ..... mesmerising !

Try the horse & carriage plus tour bus.. all a great experience.

Marrakech Plaza is an open air shopping area, new to Marrakech with KFC, McDs, loads of new shops like Mango, Accesorize, Zara etc etc plus coffee shops if you want a break from the hotel.

There are plenty of banks to change currency altho the hotel will also do this.

In all a great holiday and would definately recommend the hotel ... not quite 5 star but definatly more a 4 star !

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and maybe on the 6th floor as extremely private with great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Checked in and got a tired-looking room with old decor and a non-working shower, and a toilet that didn't flush properly.

Asked to be moved to a different room the following day and was allowed to immediately.

We went all-inclusive so were only allowed free use of certain bars, and only 1 of the several restaurants. We were told at reception we could have 1 meal at one of the "fancy" restaurants, but when we asked about this later on in the week no one seemed to know what we were talking about!

The all-inclusive dinner hall is OK - no music so the atmosphere is much like a school canteen. Food was alright, there is a variety to choose from usually, but it's not spectacular and was often cold.

For booking activities etc, the reception was very helpful and helped to arrange a couple of days out (walking in the mountains, camel rides) at cheaper rates than we otherwise could have found.

Room Tip: El Riad is a modern building but faces the pool and bar so may be noisy - however the windows are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Just returned from a great break.We were a party of 8 for 4 nights half board.having read some reviews on here I was dreading going to a poor hotel,having travelled to many places around the world.But the reviews were very misguiding !!!! The hotel was very clean,staff all very friendly,very helpful (especially duty manager Loubna).Rooms were great with 2 double beds in each,Spa body scrub & massage very good & reasonable price.
The only regret we have is not to have been all inclusive as cost of drinks mounts up.
Advise to anyone staying here,ask receptionist staff to book you a driver for all day sightseeing in marakech (approx 400 Dh - £32 for 8 seater!!)
Rak & Clare

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I was in two minds having read all the reviews as to the general standard and upkeep of the hotel but I was immediately reassured. The hotel first of all is extremely clean, rooms of a large size with comfy beds and fresh linen, toiletries even supplied. The food is of a high standard (and hot), lots of different dishes to try each evening as they change the menus all the time, we enjoyed everything we tried. One thing to note, the hotel has two restaurants, the L'Asiatique is the regular buffet one, but The Moroccan Restaurant next door was delightful - good honest authentic Moroccan food, in sumptious surroundings, with traditional Moroccan music players and a belly dancer - well worth every penny!

What is exceptional is considering it's a fairly large hotel, attention and priority is given to each guest - as you are made to feel welcome from the receptionist to the restaurant manager. I cannot praise this place highly enough. The spa centre and hammam was excellent, and plenty enough equipment in the gym for those wanting to work out. The only drawback, and it was a small one considering all of the other benefits, was that the pool was unheated and was therefore impossible to swim in.

Room Tip: We had the top floor - it was nice and quiet overlooking the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albatros Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Garden

Address: Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#134 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Albatros Garden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Albatros Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatros Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.