We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mirage to your Saves list
Royal Mirage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #338 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I liked the stay at this hotel very much , location was great close to main attractions in medina within in a walking distance , the views from our room was great.

breakfast was good " but they should add fresh juices" come on we are in morroco !!!!!
also rooms were clean but need to be painted.

Room Tip: choose rooms facing the mountains i think it was el shems wing facing the door that keads you from f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    165
    122
    49
    59
See reviews for
94
212
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Booked this 4 night holiday via Travelzoo which inc dinner bb plus hamman.

Having read quite a few negative reviews, i was really nervous about what I had booked.

But when we finally arrived at the hotel, the negative reviews must have been about another hotel.

First impressions .. WOW !

We were greeted by the Duty Manager and offered some dates with sweet mint tea ... !

Our room was clean & large with 2 double beds, a fridge, flat screen tv and a balcony overlooking the pool ... we even had amazing views of the Atlas Mountains.

Staff extremely attentive & friendly and nothing too much trouble although if you dont speak much french - youre stuck ! We even had a regular visitor to our balcony, a pigeon who we named Abdul :-)

Great Spa facillities at the hotel ... try the body scrub which includes a mini body massage and a head massage with shampoo after.

Plentiful food at breakfast & dinner but drinks extremely overpriced ( tin of coke £2.50 and a non alcoholic pina colada £7 ).

The Jemaa al Fna square ( huge market place ) less than 10 mins away in a taxi ( which the hotel will get for you ) ... only pay 20Dh to the taxi driver even though they try to get more out of you.
Lots of great shopping like traditional items aswell as replica designer bags & purses. After 6pm all the food stalls open with some great cuisine.
Just be aware of young lads wanting to be you're guide - very pesistant & intimidating ! We went late afternoon and it was crazy but also went in the morning which was more pleasant & enjoyable !

Went on an organised Moroccan evening which was held in the grounds of a Chateau ... paid £25 each inc 4 course dinner and entertainment & coach - fab evening.

Visited Koutoubia Mosque ..... mesmerising !

Try the horse & carriage plus tour bus.. all a great experience.

Marrakech Plaza is an open air shopping area, new to Marrakech with KFC, McDs, loads of new shops like Mango, Accesorize, Zara etc etc plus coffee shops if you want a break from the hotel.

There are plenty of banks to change currency altho the hotel will also do this.

In all a great holiday and would definately recommend the hotel ... not quite 5 star but definatly more a 4 star !

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and maybe on the 6th floor as extremely private with great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Checked in and got a tired-looking room with old decor and a non-working shower, and a toilet that didn't flush properly.

Asked to be moved to a different room the following day and was allowed to immediately.

We went all-inclusive so were only allowed free use of certain bars, and only 1 of the several restaurants. We were told at reception we could have 1 meal at one of the "fancy" restaurants, but when we asked about this later on in the week no one seemed to know what we were talking about!

The all-inclusive dinner hall is OK - no music so the atmosphere is much like a school canteen. Food was alright, there is a variety to choose from usually, but it's not spectacular and was often cold.

For booking activities etc, the reception was very helpful and helped to arrange a couple of days out (walking in the mountains, camel rides) at cheaper rates than we otherwise could have found.

Room Tip: El Riad is a modern building but faces the pool and bar so may be noisy - however the windows are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Just returned from a great break.We were a party of 8 for 4 nights half board.having read some reviews on here I was dreading going to a poor hotel,having travelled to many places around the world.But the reviews were very misguiding !!!! The hotel was very clean,staff all very friendly,very helpful (especially duty manager Loubna).Rooms were great with 2 double beds in each,Spa body scrub & massage very good & reasonable price.
The only regret we have is not to have been all inclusive as cost of drinks mounts up.
Advise to anyone staying here,ask receptionist staff to book you a driver for all day sightseeing in marakech (approx 400 Dh - £32 for 8 seater!!)
Rak & Clare

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I was in two minds having read all the reviews as to the general standard and upkeep of the hotel but I was immediately reassured. The hotel first of all is extremely clean, rooms of a large size with comfy beds and fresh linen, toiletries even supplied. The food is of a high standard (and hot), lots of different dishes to try each evening as they change the menus all the time, we enjoyed everything we tried. One thing to note, the hotel has two restaurants, the L'Asiatique is the regular buffet one, but The Moroccan Restaurant next door was delightful - good honest authentic Moroccan food, in sumptious surroundings, with traditional Moroccan music players and a belly dancer - well worth every penny!

What is exceptional is considering it's a fairly large hotel, attention and priority is given to each guest - as you are made to feel welcome from the receptionist to the restaurant manager. I cannot praise this place highly enough. The spa centre and hammam was excellent, and plenty enough equipment in the gym for those wanting to work out. The only drawback, and it was a small one considering all of the other benefits, was that the pool was unheated and was therefore impossible to swim in.

Room Tip: We had the top floor - it was nice and quiet overlooking the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The food was very poor. The hotel was cold and had no atmosphere. It is described as a five star hotel but it is a poor three star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I went with my mum for 4 nights halfboard. in January, very good value, would say like large 4 star hotel. Pleasantly hot during the day and quite chilly in the evenings so need a coat/fleece in the winter, but warm enough in the rooms. The rooms had two lovely big comfortable double beds and rooms cleaned each day. There were some soap dispensers and small amount shampoos in the bathroom. Most rooms had a balcony, we had one on the other side from the pool and it was quiet. The rooms are away from the dining hall across the pool area so you walk to your evening meal/breakfast but well worth it. There are hot buffet options for breakfast and evening meal and also cooked options (omelette and pancakes at breakfast and pasta/pizza in the evening) and the dessert selection is quite exciting - lots of sticky things to choose from. If you are doing half board the drinks at breakfast are free but you pay for the evening drinks (so we just drank lots first thing and enjoyed the orange juice in the main square - about 40p a glass). Hotel as a whole spotless - they spend most of the time cleaning. The pool was cold as it was the middle of winter but very pleasant sitting on the sunbeds. There are also some shops onsite for postcards etc. We used the hotel spa - free hamam but we also chose to have the massage so was about 25 pounds each, lasted quite a while and was goos value/equivalent to uk. For charging things up we took a convertor but it didn't work all that well in the plug sockets, we got it to fit one of the sockets, so well worth taking spare batteries for things like cameras etc. The main square is 30minutes walk and the outer wall 20minutes walk along a straight road with perfectly pleasant pavements + view of the mountains, alternatively there is the hop on hop off tourist bus just around the corner from the hotel. All the government museums and old palaces are about an english pound and normally have toilets (with an attendant). For an idea of where to visit just see where the tourist bus stops. Exchanging money out there had better exchange rate than at the airport (we exchanged cash at a hotel in town). We went to the tanneries but have some small notes ready as however determined you are not to spend any someone will end up asking for money for taking photos etc. We got one of the people working there to show us about and they took us through each stage of it for about half an hour and asked for ten euros at the end, we gave them the equivalent of two english pounds each and he seemed happy enough. Ask at reception for a map.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage

Address: Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#153 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.