We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay but was a bit cold” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mirage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mirage to your Saves list
Royal Mirage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing stay but was a bit cold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

we stayed 4 nights from 22-26 jan and it was really cold in evenings had to wrap up, the hotel was nice and clean and breakfast had a wide variety of food such as omlettes and pancake, We went to the souqs a few times it was a 10 min taxi journey paying 30dhms, also went to ourika valleys and Casablanca. the only downside was it was to cold will definitely go back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    163
    122
    49
    59
See reviews for
94
211
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from 2nd - 5th of February. Unfortunately it was freezing cold, everyone wearing winter jackets, scarves and hats for most of the time but that was the only serious negative of our stay.

Positives:
We had a wonderful non-smoking room on the 4th floor (room 4151), view of the pool, amazingly comfortable beds (2 doubles or queens?), separate shower and separate toilet. Some of the rooms are definitely nicer than others (newer fridges and flat screen TVs) and we swapped from an old one with a view of another building to this one on our first day as we had booked a pool view. Our sheets/towels were changed every day and we left a small tip and our room was suddenly tidyied even more (clothes folded, Made a cute little mattress for our babies travel cot with extra sheets/blankets etc).

Everyone is really friendly, we travelled with our son (1.5) and everyone was just so lovely with him, throwing the ball back and forth outside the pool or taking him for walks while we were eating lunch etc, showering him with kisses, makes such a difference when the staff go out of their way to entertain him.

The breakfast was pretty good, omellete and pancake stations, tons of pastries, sausages etc. The only thing lacking i thought was a bigger selection of fruit it's really just oranges. If you sleep in like us then its pretty packed around 10am but I think when it is warmer this wouldn't be an issue as you could sit outside. Try and say thank you to the staff as we noticed so many really rude people and really, it's just unnecessary. We watched the guy beside us pour his coffee onto the floor at breakfast time?!

We actually moved our travel cot into the shower room at night time so it was like a little bedroom for our son and he slept perfectly which meant we could stay up and chat/watch TV/eat delicious Moroccan pastries from the market. Obviously make sure your baby can't reach the shower curtain/stuff on the bench etc.

The pool loungers are nice and comfy and the pizzas from the restaurant by the pool are pretty good. We were just on breakfast included and it wasn't too bad although highly recommend the restaurant just around the corner (walk out of the hotel and turn left, then left down the main street and go to Caruso less than 5 mins away) and get the beef, almond and date tagine it's amazing and only 75 dirhams.

If you don't mind walking its a brisk 20-30 min walk into the walls of the old city and the markets and souks. A bit quicker walk to the new bit of the city Guéliz (big department stores like Zara, Mango etc), ask for a map at reception or if you get the bus they gave us one on the bus. The closest supermarket we found is Acima close to the intersections of Mohammed V and Abdelkarim el Khattabi. We bought some nice french style patisserie treats from the deli counter there although we saw some food being dropped on the floor and then put back into the cabinet... and there are big signs next to the hotel asking you not to bring food/drink in so yeah..

Negatives:
The tiles desperately need re-grouting/completely redoing all over the hotel, most of all the floors in the bedrooms. They give the rooms an appearance of being dirty and worn when actually they are quite clean, we saw the maids really scrubbing the floors and the rooms are actually very clean.

For some reason our fridge was out of its cubby hole which was a bit weird but whatever no big deal.

We had to wait until the next day to get a duvet cover for one of our beds as when we arrived it had none.

A note on travel: We caught the number 19 bus and in hindsight should have caught a taxi because the taxi drivers at the airport offered us the same fare as the bus, and on our return we waited and waited and waited for the bus until finally giving in and paying 60 dirhams for a taxi. Won't be getting the bus again! Although if you want to avoid the hassle of the taxi drivers and the bus is outside just look like you are confidently making your way to the bus and they will give you a good price!

I've read heaps of negative reviews on this place and can't help but think that a lot of them aren't from particularly nice people. I am very fussy, hate dirty/icky places and this place was honestly fine. I would say 3-4 star. Yes it's true that most of the staff don't speak English very well but try your best and we managed to explain everything we wanted needed with no stress, a bit of humour and patience goes a long way.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view when you book. These seem to be the nicest ones with flat screen tvs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We went as a couple, for a 4 night break - to just get away. Flying with EasyJet was no hassle whatsoever, the plane was quite empty and the crew were great. We decided to get the number 19 bus from the airport after clearing a very slow passport control in Marrakech. The bus was 100 dirham return to the city and left every 30 minutes.It's just outside the arrivals door - you can't miss it. The bus stop is just outside the hotel. A small taxi would have been around that price also. At the airport, buy a packet of chewing gum to get some change - we didn't do this and had to give the porter a 100 dirham note - not too much, but when porters earn 800 dirham a year - it's a fortune!!!
The Hotel - we arrived well beforethe check intime but was greeted with Morocan mint tea - an aquired taste. The reception team were friendly but little English was understood. The porter showed us to our room on the 5th floor. Basic room - no view of any mountains but extremely quiet. We had to change rooms after 2 nights as renovations were taking place upon our floor apparently. We changed to the 3rd floor with a pool/mountain view. Wonderful view. But not as quiet as the other side. Both rooms were definitely not of 4 star quality. The rooms were tired looking and could benefit from a complete makeover. But the basics were there. Clean, comfortable and amenities within the room if required - smellies, fridge, hairdryer etc. Towels clean every day if required and maid service each morning. Restaurant - there were 2 restaurants open during our time. The large 'normal' one and a Morrocan one that you paid extra for. We used the 'normal' one for our half board option and was not disappointed. Breakfast was a buffet with the normal continental fare together with cooked choices, sausages etc. pancakes cooked as and when you wanted them together with any kind of eggs. Cereals, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juices. We made up rolls to have at lunch time whilst having breakfast and put them in our bedroom fridge. :-). We sat on the balcony with a bottle of Ksar Morrocan wine - very nice - eating our rolls! Evening meals - a different choice of hot dishes each night - there was also a pasta and pizza section which we missed the first night as we did not know it was down the other end of the restaurant. There are some birds flying around some of the time, but when you travel to different areas of the world this does happen - they caused no problems for us.
The hotel itself is decorated colourfully, there are bars, cafes to sit and relax in as well as large reception areas. The pool was extremely cold and only the hardy would swim, but we sat on the side of the childrems pool drinking freshly squeezed orange juice from the pool bar and getting a slight sun tan. When in the sun it was glorious, when out of the sun it was chilly. You need a jacket/coat for the evenings. We went to the night market one evening - an experience, I did not feel safe at all. We took a trip into the mountains for one day and climbed up the cascades. A great day out. We booked in the town and paid half the price of all the other guests on the trip. We did wonder if our guide would turn up - but alas he did!! All in all - a lovely break for a few nights. But would not go back to Morroco or the hotel again. Been there - done that!

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

If you want to have a nice time DO NOT go to this hotel.
We arrived at the lobby and had to wait about 20 minutes before we were taken to our room. The room we were given was on the 3rd floor with an old rusty balcony overlooking the highstreet. The fridge didnt work, and the wardrobe was broken.

I then had to go to reception and demand for about another 30 minutes to be moved to the ground floor as we had a 6 year old with us. We had to wait 2 hours or so to be moved. The room was a bit better because we could sit out the front and had our own little garden at the front by the pool area. However, our mini fridge was dirty and leaked constantly.

The restaurant had a constant queue and the food was nothing special at all. It was quite repetitive and we found that we preferred to go out to eat towards the end of our holiday.

The hotel needs SERIOUS renovation, everything is really old and dull. The lighting in the lobby is just unwelcoming, its so dark and dingy in there. Nobody in the hotel spoke English, we had a cricket stuck in our room for 2 days and it was so loud we couldnt speak. I tried to ask reception for help and it took me about 2 hours for someone to understand what I was going on about. It was just tiring. Everyone in the hotel spoke nothing but French.

I can honestly say I have never had such a bad experience in a hotel before. It was awful. Save your money and do not bother.

If you have already booked, make sure u go to the Aqua water park as its nice and pretty there, unlike this dreadful hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just come back from Marrakech staying at Pickalbatros garden. It was a great few days in the romantic city and that hotel make it a real love story with my partner.
We will come back next year.

Room Tip: i think that all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We booked a 4 night break at a very reasonable rate. We travelled with friends and luckily were given a Free room upgrade with welcome pack and adjoining rooms. The rooms are a pretty good size with Free safe, WiFi and a decent size modern TV with some English speaking channels. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the swimming pool and mountains. The pool and surrounding areas are OK although the water was freezing even when the temperature was 20C. The hotel gets some unfair criticism for being rundown and dirty, this is simply not true. The bathroom and toilet are past their best but our room was cleaned daily. The lobby/reception areas are traditionally decorated and very nice. Staff were overall very helpful and cheerful, a few exceptions but expect that anywhere. Bar prices were a little expensive compared to England. We were Half-Board so breakfast and either lunch or dinner, we ate dinner on the 1st night at the buffet and it was very good, we had a few lunches too and they were good, breakfast pancakes were good but don't expect a full english! Our one and only complaint was the Moroccan restaurant in the Hotel, the food was not good at all and we refused to pay the full price for it as it came not as described in the menu, they accepted this without too much fuss but it was dissapointing. Overall it was a nice hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This hotel was terrible, it is huge, and all the hallways to the bedrooms are carpetted, but I believe the carpets are probably 10 years old, and are dirty, and not just from wear and tear, there are spillages everywhere. It looks as though they did some repainting in the past too, and no-one bothered to cover the carpets. The food was ok for standard hotel food, reasonable selections to cater for any tastes. My wife's vegatarian, and there was no problem finding loads to eat. The biggest issue with the dining area is the birds, there are loads of birds inside the dining area throughout the entire day, if you leave your table unmanned for more than a minute you return to find them helping themselves. And with that comes the obvious bird[--] on chairs and on the floor, which whilst not a huge amount, should not be in any eating establishment, anywhere in the world. My last area of concern was the day trip we booked, with the hotel reception, expecting a well established hotel to arrange something more than a minibus intent on taking us to visit every one of the drivers cousins, who had a shop selling trinkets.
Overall this hotel was not up to scratch, with the only redeeming feature being the Spa, which was absolutely lovely. I will not be recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage

Address: Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#139 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.