We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent clean hotel. Friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mirage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Mirage to your Saves list
Royal Mirage
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 466 Hotels in Marrakech
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent clean hotel. Friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We went for 4 nts in Dec. Half board. Daytime temp 23*C but outdoor pool too cold for dip. You can sunbathe instead. We had late b/fast and spent the day out seeing the sights, returning for evening meal. Menu excellent choices. Room cleaned daily and all towels changed whenever used. Not many guests at the time so no problem with facilities. Nice friendly staff everywhere, especially Animation team and Spa staff. No complaints at all. 15mins walk into town or taxi for 20 dirhams (£1.50). Enjoy instead of moaning!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    164
    122
    49
    59
See reviews for
94
212
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I booked this hotel for a long weekend away with my Mum through easyjet holidays. I'd read the reviews before I came away so my expectations were realistic on arrival.

Overall I thought it provided good value for money. While it definitely wasn't a 5 star hotel like a big global chain, it was very comfortable for our stay. The poolside area was nice to sit and relax in the sun and the buffet breakfast was excellent.

The room was very quiet except on the Saturday night when they had a show in one of their club rooms. It was 4 hours of drumming and noise (until 12.30am) which I had to complain about. They resolved the problem by letting us sleep in a different room for the night.

It was a little far out of town but good if you want to get away from the noise and craziness of the Medina. This does however mean either lots of walking or lots of taxis!

Overall for the price I think it provided good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Del Carmen, Spain
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Stayed 9th 12th December
We were only in Marrakech for a 3 night mini break but this hotel was wonderfull and we wish we had been staying for much longer. On our first night we had a problem because the people in the next room to us had a sick baby with them. The baby was crying and the mother was screaming, my husband went down to reception and was back within ten minutes with the key to another room for us to go and sleep in. The following morning we went down to reception to see which room we were suposed to stay in and were given the key to a wonderfull pool view room. The reception staff were full of appolagies although it was not there fault and they did everything to resolve the problem that they could.
The hotel is beautifull with wonderfull tield reception areas. The rooms all have two queen size beds and seperate toilet and bath/shower room. The fridges worked well always a bonus in a hot country to keep your water cold.
We were all inclusive which i would recomend as food and alcohol are quite expensive. About £3.50 for a small beer and about £16 for a main course meal. The food in the all inclusive restaurant was really tasty. There was always a choice of chicken fish and beef/lamb in the buffet and then on the BBQ outside they had steak chicken or local kofta. There was also a very nice salad bar and there was always a tagin of some sort of local delight. If we had any space left you could then go for the fab range of deserts. My husband is a fussy eater and even he thought it was great. The all inclusive in the bars was great too we order two gllasses of wine and took them with us to sit by the pool, we were about half way down our glasses when the waiter came over to us with the wine bottle to top up our glasses. I don't think you can get much better service than that. We found all of the staff friendly and helpfull.
A lot of people have said that this hotel is not 5 star but compared to a lot of other so called 5 star hotels which we have stayed in this one was good. I have decided that I deffinatley want to return to Marrakech but only if we can stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor pool view room,we did not but ended up in one and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire,
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Just returned from this hotel and would like to say that its was absolutely great value for money. Only stayed for a 4 night break but a fab getaway just before xmas, and a real contrast to any usual short city break.
Some other reviews on this hotel are scary and should be taken with a pinch of salt. I have stayed in some really top class hotels and even though this is definately not a five star, i would probably say more of 3 to lower 4 star, its worth a visit. A very relaxing atmosphere and very hospitable staff and people for the price we paid it was brilliant,
The food was very good, with lots of choice and variation. We were half board and were given the option to take lunch or dinner, so we could work it around our day without losing a meal. All self service with as many visits as you wished.
Standards of cleanliness was very good with staff continuely cleaning throughout hotel.
Very strict on consumption of own food and alcohol, but as long as you are discreet its not a problem.
Would definately go back and would say give it a try to anyone who wants a good value hotel with good facilities.

Room Tip: We had a pool view which was very nice and reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I recently stayed here from 4-8th December 2011 on half-board. I would never go back here an would not recommend anyone to come here.

The hotel does look ok and a reasonable standard but no way is a 5 star...seems more like at 3 star standard. The rooms were a good size and spacey, not the best but ok. The hotel restaurant was disgraceful and unhygienic... the first day we went there were birds flying around the restaurant and even eating the bread and perching on the other food left out in this open. This really put me off the food. Also the place had a bad gone off smell. The staff didn't really care about the birds being around the food. This was also same on the other days.

Do not use the hotel spa... they over charge british prices or more and do not even do a good job.If you want a proper spa experience in Marreskh I would recommend to use on of the recommended spas out of the hotel. Do you research before you go. They over charged us for our treatment of a message which was just a gentle brush on the skin. We later heard that one of the french speaking guests was able to get a deal less than half the price as he spoke their language?! This is discrimination.

The last day we stayed, we were told as half-board we were told by staff we could eat the food and when asked they said don't worry about paying. Following completion of the meal, we were then asked to pay for the meals. I am sorry but this is disgusting and disceiptful and completely killed our trip. We were asked to pay 200 DH (eq to £16) each for the lunch buffet which was meant to be included. They never made us aware of these charges and when refusing to pay, they charged they threated to place the charge to the credit card placed to our rooms. They are scammers!!! They did the same thing to the rest of the guests.

Please do not stay at this hotel if you want to be scammed and treated like nothing!! They treat all tourists like fools and are money hungry!! Don't even trust the hotel reps in the hotel,... they are all the same... money hungry scammers!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Despite the staff's best efforts to offer a half decent service this spa falls way short of an acceptable service. We paid £45 each for a Hamman package which included massage and a hamman body scrub and steam. The steam room wasnt prepared which meant I was standing starkers in a room watched by my husband - in a cold tiled room - with freezing water being chucked over me (though he enjoyed this). It was both humiliating and freezing! I was so cold I had to sit in the sauna instead of the relaxing room which was about as warm and welcoming as Waterloo Concourse (doors open and freezing cold). I know its December but surely the staff knew it wasnt going to be warm? The only reason I havent left a terrible mark against the spa is that the massage was quite decent - except again it was so cold I literally lay shivering during the hour massage. Check two things - that the heating is working and that you dont have a free hamman included in your package before you pay (as we did). Also try not to pay until after the treatment you choose as I also had my hair blow dried which was the most painful and unpleasant blow dry of my life (I got a 70's throwback style - a headful of Elnett and burnt twice and hit in the side of the head with the hairdryer!)

Room Tip: Choose a room not on ground floor or by childrens pool if you dont have children Ask for one not fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed 23rd-27th Nov 2011
Liked- Got recently refurbished rooms, in building away from reception building, short walk across pool area. Rooms cleaned every day, towels and toiletries provided every day.
Had 2 double beds for 2 of us! Ideal for family of 4 but beware if not comfortable in sharing beds as hotel not able to provide single adult beds.
Breakfast Buffet- fab choice of hot and cold choices.
It is a 30 min walk from Place El Jemna or Dh40 taxi to Square. You have to use Grand Taxi if more than 3 in-group.
Paid Dh450 for nice Haman, peel and hour massage in around Main Square; there are plenty to choose from, Hotel willing to price match but heard bad reviews from other customers.
Many café/restaurants for food (sharwma @ Dh30, Tagines @ Dh40) in street leading up to Main Square.
An hour drive by taxi to Atlas Mountain via various villages paid Dh500 for 5 people via Grand taxi.

Didn’t like-Weather drops in the evening, so wrap up. No entertainment at the Hotel as off-season.
Dinner buffet not authentic tagines but mild Mediterranean food, should have gone B&B.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage

Address: Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Albatros Garden)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Mirage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Garden Hotel Marrakech
Royal Mirage Marrakech
Marrakech Royal Mirage
Royal Mirage Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.