We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special and far away from central Marrakech” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace to your Saves list
Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuit de la Palmeraie | BP1488, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #243 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nothing special and far away from central Marrakech”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Unless you want to have the golf course next door, there is no reason to stay at the Palmeraie. THe hotel itself is too big and has no personality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGP_contact, Guest Relations Manager at Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you sharing your comments as we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our golf courses.

Otherwise, we are sorry that you did not take advantage of our many activities such as our SPA which is the biggest one in Marrakech with a wide selection of beauty treatments, steam bath and massages, as well as our different restaurants with a large choice of different gastronomies in addition of many activities you can also do outside of our property that our concierge provides to our customers

We will really appreciate to welcome you again to the Palmeraie Golf Palace, then you will have the opportunity to experience all these activities during your next visit.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    220
    103
    56
    50
See reviews for
132
222
26
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Service was very uneven and not very professional; at times, staff seemed not to care; I waited in vain for drinks ordered by the pool - and either did not get them or had to go at the bar and ask again and again. Rooms are comfy and the pool area is very nice and well appointed. The quality of the food was really not impressive. Wifi was quite unreliable, working efficiently only from the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel is getting very mixed reviews. I was there three nights at the end of October, smack in the middle of a huge UN conference. I believe the President of Morrocco was even there. As a result check in was manic, and everyone in the hotel was under enormous pressure. However, they coped really well, as well as any hotel in the world would, and so they are to be congratulated for that.

Now, some perspective on the criticism leveled by some. Firstly it is not what I consider to be a 5 star hotel, more a 4 star plus. However, it probably justifies it's star rating by virtue of the fact it does have all of the qualifying facilities on hand, exclding a beach of course, but then you do have access to a good Nikki Beach Club, which, whilst expensive (they all are) is as good as any I've visited. There are many good restaurants, a very good SPA and Hamman, great gardens, great pools, and golf on site. The rooms (even the basic ones) are spacious with excellent linen/pillows/robes etc. Service, contrary to some reports, is very good. Morroccan people are extremely friendly, the staff here no less so, and they were experienced and efficient.

My most important comment is that whatever people think of this hotel, one has to judge it based on value for money. The people who criticise it might have a point if they were paying 5 star prices. Most true 5 Star hotels are two or three times more per room per night than this establishment.

If I were to have one gripe, it would be levelled at the golf course. More a comment than a gripe. There are 27 holes divided into three 9's. They have obviously built holes 19 through 27 recently, and this third of the course is excellent. The older holes (1 through 18) are shabby in comparison, and by that I mean they are not as well maintained as the new 9 holes, and I can see no excuse for this given it's all sitting on the same piece of real estate. We declined a caddy, and then found it hard to get to each hole because the signage was poor, and in most cases the hole schematic was missing. But it was very enjoyable all the same.

As for Marrakech itself I think I'll leave that for you to discover.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGP_contact, Guest Relations Manager at Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as you were very pleased with our service.

The Palmeraie golf Palace is a five stars Hotel, but as you said with a reasnable prices which makes a wide range of peopole able to come to our resort.

We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of all our activities, our different restaurants, the swimming pool, beautiful gardens ans the last but not the least the SPA with its various beauty cares.

Please be assured that we have taken note of all your remarks concerning the golf course, we are currently working on it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Palmeraie Golf Palace.

Best Regards.

Quality guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangladesh
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

A golf hotel and conference centre. Well laid out gardens and interesting shaped swimming pool with areas suitable for children. The staff are mainly older men, with women relegated to menial cleaning tasks. This results in young bikini clad women receiving better service around the pool!
The hotel is now rather 'frayed round the edges' from its heyday with poor quality televisions and a general lack of infrastructure maintenance.
The supposed wifi is low grade and impossible in the rooms. The lobby gives some cover for the internet but it drops.
The title of the piece is de to the crazy cost of laundry. Indefensible asking 3 Euro to wash a pair of socks.
There are much better choices in Marrakesh and better value for money closer to the centre.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. The service especially a lady at the Check in staff marred the whole experience upon checkout

Had earlier booked a single room at PGP with an email confirmation. Upon checking out, I was billed the rate for a double room. What happened during the clarification after was shocking.

The lady at the reception took out a housekeeping roster and indicated that the housekeeping staff advised that there were 2 staying in the room, hence I was billed the double room. This system is illogical since based on what observations is the housekeeping able to tell whether it was 1 or 2 persons in the room.

Even after explaining to them that I had came alone and showed the email confirmation where I specifically asked for a single room, the hotel staff was still adamant in charging the double room rate. There is no sense of service where the "customer is right" Instead, the hotel staff raised their voices and wanted to put the blame on me instead.

My advice to travellers would be to steer clear of this hotel as this whole system of tracking whether is a single or double room is totally arbitrary and can be the cause of major disputes.

As a final point, despite being a 5 star hotel and with Free Wifi reception provided, there was zero signal in most rooms. There was no option to even pay for reliable Wifi. On this alone, this hotel makes for a terrible conference venue.

And a note to the hotel management, you may wish to pay attention to the service level of the checkin / checkout staff as it is the worst I have ever came across.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGP_contact, Guest Relations Manager at Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at the Palmeraie Golf Palace.

We would like to apologize for the internet outage you had because of the bad weather.
This inconvinience was unfortunately beyond our control as it was in the whole district. But we have strengthened the wifi connection in other areas rather frequently visited by our resident guests during the conference, such as the lobby, the bar and our conference rooms.

We have raised each of the points with the concerned team members to ensure corrective action is taken in and to prevent similar situation from occurring again in the future.

We hope that your last experience will not mar your overall perception of Palmeraie Golf Palace as a whole and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights it was really great ..one of the best locations in Marrakech ..the service was over the top thank you to MR.mohamed from the f&b to professional ....I can see how the mangement is doing good job and punching the best they can to make there guest really satisfied.
thank you again and see you soon for sure I will try to bring my friends next time they have to visited this place.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 4 night break at the Palmeraie Golf. It is a lovely hotel, with great facilities, and what should have been great stay was average due to the service and lack of atmosphere.

Arrival - There was no one there to greet us and take our luggage and whilst we were waiting to be checked in there was no offer of a welcome drink. I made a specific request on the booking form for a kind size bed, and the first room we were shown to had twin beds, so we had to speak to the staff to arrange to be moved. No apology for the mix up. First impressions really count this was not a 5 star check in!!

Facilities - Outstanding, the spa is beautiful and we both had a massage which was first class. We also used the indoor pool and jacuzzi which was really beautiful, perfect for relaxing after the massage. The outdoor pool was lovely, amongst beautiful gardens, you could sit here and chill out all day. The beds are really comfortable. The gym is great, all the latest equipment and loads of machines so no waiting for anything.

Restaurants - Some lovely choice of restaurants. Geisha the japanese restaurant was good, food was delicous and stunning decor but it was so quiet with a real lack of atmosphere, service was friendly and efficient. Leroys Cafe, good food, beautiful decor but a really miserable waitress. The bar at the pool serves food, but that was really poor for a 5 star hotel, the food didn't even look that appetising, this was a shame as at the end of the trip we ate elsewhere which meant leaving the pool area.

Service - Overall service was poor. We forgot an iphone cable and phoned the reception to see if we could borrow one, at first they said there was not one available, then after pushing it further they said they might be able to find one. They don't seem to want to go that extra mile to keep you happy as most 5 stars do. At the pool you had to go find a waiter to request a drink rather than them coming round the pool. All staff seemed a bit miserable. Best service was the boys at the pool who were most friendly. All staff were a bit cheeky waiting for tips, one waiter at the bar evening reminded us that 'service was extra' he didn't get a tip. Check in was really poor, really poor first impression.

Information - There was a lack of information provided to you at check in about the facilities, and the resort. There was also lack of information in the rooms about what was on offer. We only discovered everything by walking around the resort and asking the concierge lots of questions.

Suggestions to Palmeraie Golf;

1. Improve check in by being more friendly, welcoming (smiling!!), offering free drink, having staff there to take bags and providing information about the hotel facilities. I woud also suggest when the hotel is so quiet offering free room upgrades.

2. Improve quality of food at pool bar and also getting waiters to walk round the pool and ask guests if they would like any drinks

3. Improve information in the rooms on hotel facilities e.g restaurants, nightclub, spa ect...

4. A litte bit of music in the grounds would improve atmosphere

5. Overall service needs to more friendly and willing to go that extra mile.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGP_contact, Guest Relations Manager at Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Palmeraie Golf Palace.

Please allow me, first and foremost, to profoundly apologize for our shortcomings in delivering the level of service you rightfully expect from us.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our SPA facilities, our Japanese restaurant and outdoor areas. Concerning the welcome Drink, I would like to inform you that a tea man is available at the reception lobby to offer a welcome drink with Moroccan pastries to our guests upon check in, we regret that you did not experience this service.


Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Please be assured that we have taken your feedback with our utmost importance and that we are committed to improving the quality of our services.


We will really appreciate to welcome you again to the Palmeraie Golf Palace, then you will appreciate all the efforts we are doing and you will enjoy the real experience we want to give to our guests.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace

Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie | BP1488, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#134 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#196 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmeraie Resort's beating heart and flagship, the famous Palmeraie Palace is a hotel featuring traditional Moroccan architecture. Rewarded as Africa's best golf course, the hotel's golf course has won the World Travel Awards for 5 consecutive years (from 2006 to 2010). In 2014, the Palmeraie Palace has received the award as Morocco's Best Golf Hotel by the World Golf Awards. Surrounded by landscaped gardens and swimming pools, within easy reach of many restaurants and other entertainments, Palmeraie Palace is a touristic destination on its own. Just a few minutes away from central Marrakech, this charming hidden oasis is a promise for a refreshing and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmeraie Golf Palace Hotel Marrakech
Palmeraie Golf Palace And Resort
Palmeraie Hotel Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.