We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5☆ hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5☆ hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a great place to stay! Absolutely gorgeous then in 1987. They have renovated since and don't know why. Expensive but worth every dollar.la creme DE LA creme! Was a little art deco then, especially the pool. Was working on a photo shoot and we're treated like royalty. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    175
    76
    51
    48
See reviews for
154
482
24
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had been recommended to have lunch on the terrace at La Mamounia and with the history of the hotel were really looked forward to the visit.Unfortunately the experience was very underwhelming the recent refit means the history has gone and replaced with very dark lighting.So dark when my wife visited the restroom she met a number of ladies all complaining they could not see to fix their makeup etc!!
We hoped things would improve with lunch but unfortunately not.The attitude and service of the staff was appalling and the Club sandwiches we ordered were very average and over priced even allowing for the venue.
We were smartly attired for the occasion so if it means the hotel does not want casual lunch guests perhaps it should be honest and say so. A very marked contrast to our lunch at Richard Branson's KasbahTamandot where the welcome was warm and the food excellent.
La Mamounia needs to address its staff training as it offered the worst service of all the high class restaurants and hotels we visited during our stay in Morocco. What a shame!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment you enter the establishment at the gate you are welcomed by a lady without any manners or communication skills, savage behaviour
I strongly recommend other better places to stay in Marrakech which are worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This has to be one of the most 'iconic' hotels in the world. It simply oozes class from the moment you walk through the front gates. Every detail is exceptional but not exaggerated.
We've been four times now for cocktails on the terrace and then drinks in The Churchill Bar and I think it is probably the best setting I have ever had to enjoy a relaxing drink....no wonder Sir Winston fell in love with it.
My title of this review says it all...I have had the cocktails and the also the dreams of being able to come back and stay one day.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the most wonderful time in this truly exquisite hotel.
The refurb has been done immaculately - beautiful, classy, but never ever verging on bling!
The whole hotel is simply divine and deserves its reputation as one of the great hotels in the world. We have travelled extensively over the last few years and this is up there with the very, very best.
Room was beautiful,small and pricey! Deluxe park view - gorgeous.
The Morrocan restaurant was out of this world - so much so that we are there twice.
Staff throughout the hotel are delightful and always helpful.
Couldn't fault anything - can't wait to return.....

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What an amazing experience, from the moment you are welcomed to the moment you leave, you feel all the details are thoroughly looked after and everything works better that it should.

All is just great at the Mamounia

If you can afford it, it's a must do experience.

Room Tip: View on the gardens and Atlas mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were only staying in Marrakech for four nights. The first two days were miserable - torrential rain, cold... found solace at the Kozy Bar as it had a fabulous roaring fire, but that's another story. Anyhow, day three and the sun came out. Huzzah! To celebrate, we walked to La Mamounia and ordered champagne. At 10.30am. We weren't the only ones either! Such a pleasure to relax on the terrace in the beautiful gardens. A delightful way to spend a couple of hours before lunch, watching the birds and people-watching.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, LHW, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith and Despegar.com so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.