We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How it is done” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How it is done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is easily one of the best hotels in the world. Every detail is catered for. I am back in Marrakech next week and I can't wait to stay here again. It is a real five star hotel. The gardens and pool are really nice and the food both to our room and in the hotel was exceptional. The fact you could just walk across the road to the markets made it even better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    162
    69
    48
    44
See reviews for
139
440
23
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wonderful-Certainly one of the best hotels in the world!!
Staff and the Service we had was discreet but excellent
Bars and Restaurants were top Class
Mood Lighting everywhere was not to our liking though.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Atlas mountains amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The service here was second to none, the food in the restaurants wasn`t great but it wash`t bad either, i expected a little more.

They make you feel comfortable and important. They were so attentive, the minute I took out a cigarette they were there with an ashtray and lighter. They even carried over a heater for us outside when sat in the garden area. This place is truly exquisite and you should`t leave Marrakech without a visit here. I also had one of the best nights of my life in the Churchill bar, the gin and tonics flowed and the music had a personal touch of vegas meet vintage. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You are dazzled the minute you enter their doors, the service is attentive, detailed and personal. Every wish catered for, whether room service, restaurant or housekeeping. Our family enjoyed the most unforgettable period over the new year and hope to go back soon. Although the suit decoration is perfect and beautiful, I did find the red tube lights (and the amount of it!) over the top and not fitting in such elegant surroundings.

Room Tip: Rooms towards garden definite must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After much agonizing over hotel choices in Marrakech, we spent our first 3 days at La Sultana (see my review there) and ended our trip with 3 days at La Mamounia. If you decide to stay here, your expectations are no doubt going to be incredibly high, as were ours, given the reputation of this storied hotel. Were they met? Not entirely......

The approach to the hotel is gorgeous, especially walking in from the street, but once you get inside, the lobby is completely underwhelming, and it was made worse by the most hideous Christmas decorations I have ever seen in a hotel. Hopefully, once those are packed away a more elegant atmosphere will be restored, but it will be nothing like the evocative atmosphere that greets you at La Sultana.

You are checked in from the comfort of cushy seating in the lobby area, and then shown to your room by the desk clerk, all very welcoming and professional. We reserved an Agdal Deluxe room, since having one of those balconies pictured on the website was critical for me, so this was a room several levels up from the bottom, or cheapest room. Even though we had requested a high floor, we were given a room on the 2nd floor, so the view was disappointing. The room was fairly small, with only one remarkably uncomfortable chair, but thankfully there were those chairs on the balcony. The bathroom is also on the small side, with only one sink, but it is saved by the fact that the toilet/bidet is across the hall in a separate space. The tub is fabulous, the most comfortable I've had in a long time, and the separate rain shower is wonderful. The wifi was inconsistent and a bit flaky, but at least it was free. Nice touches in the room were the electric exterior blinds that provide a complete black out of both sound and light, and the daily delivery of an afternoon treat (different each day) and bottled water.

For the money you are spending here, you will no doubt be disappointed in the overall size of the room, but it has to be said that you don't check in to this hotel for the quality of the room (unless you can afford a suite - maybe then you really get something special). You check in for the ambiance of the grounds and the overall public areas of the hotel, and (once you leave the lobby proper) they are truly magnificent. The gardens are park-like, and beautifully maintained and manicured. The area around the huge swimming pool is very comfortably set up with many lounges; you never have to worry about finding an available one even when the hotel is at full capacity as it was during our visit. You feel completely insulated once inside the walls of the hotel, yet you are only a very easy walk from the main square. I think the location really is great, probably the best in Marrakech.

Exploring the hotel is fun, and the hallways are decorated with vintage/period photos of Morocco and definitely worth the stroll to enjoy. The breakfast buffet is absolutely incredible, probably the best I have ever seen, but also the most expensive. However, it would be a mistake to miss out on it. We didn't eat at any of the restaurants, but did have a drink (expensive, but cheaper than the Royal Mansour!) at the bar, the atmosphere of which, it has to be said, is ruined by terrible lighting design (red sculptural tubes).

So why 4 stars? The overall facility is certainly 5 stars, and that is where you get your money's worth. So make sure you REALLY enjoy every square inch of the property, and that is probably not difficult, since your room will not entice you to spend a lot of time in it. So it's the room that brings it down, especially if you are paying anything near high season rates, as we were. If the room had been $500, my review would have been different, but to pay nearly twice that and get a fairly unremarkable (albeit elegant and beautifully appointed) room, I can't award it 5 stars. Especially when compared to our earlier stay at La Sultana.

Between those 2 properties, believe it or not, La Mamounia feels a bit institutional and impersonal and cold; it is, after all, a really big hotel, and many people will be very happy in this more familiar environment. By contrast, the experience at La Sultana felt more authentically Moroccan, decidedly more unique, and its overall atmosphere was more evocative and breathtaking, although without the outside grounds. We're happy we stayed at La Mamounia, but if we went back, having seen it, not sure we would spend the money again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for Xmas ..though it was little chilled compared to Easter yet the time spent in these delightful surroundings was restorative. Elegant, attentive staff, a sense of style ... exquisite taste ..and that tell tale fragrance...

Room Tip: seek a room overlloking the gardens or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is out of this world.

We could not afford to stay here but we really enjoyed visiting for an afternoon tea in the gardens.
We had a selection of pastries and a pot of tea, attentive service and an extremely enjoyable afternoon.

It is luxurious with in-hotel designer shopping, quiet discrete coffee areas in the most beautiful setting.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LHW, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.