We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visually 'Amazing' , but Perhaps Challenging !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visually 'Amazing' , but Perhaps Challenging !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I had read much about La Mamounia and its refurbishment and on this my second visit to Marrakech decided to stay there . The location is of course very good. The interior of the building is opulent , but very dark to the point of being oppressive and the lighting in my room was very poor. Breakfast at the pool was , however , a pleasure with excellent and attentive , service , but no pressure to vacate the table . However on Sundays the poolside becomes the venue for a vast and vastly expensive lunch experience and the other dining option at lunchtime is to be tucked away in the French restaurant which has no view and is very quiet . The Italian restaurant serves perhaps the best food and the bars are buzzy in the evening , but beware the Churchill Bar if you dislike heavy cigarette smoke . The smoke -laden atmosphere was like a 1940s film , but I did not see Humphrey Bogart or any spies ( at least as far as I was aware ! ) Would I stay there again ? Probably . Its a short flight from London and in May the weather is very good, but as a hotel it might usefully review its dining options , particularly on a Sunday . It is not , by the way, a hotel for people who dislike staying at hotels where the public come in to take a look . People treck through the lobbies as sight seers .

Room Tip: Try to find one which can be adequately lit , this applies also to the bathroom . Lack of adequate l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    193
    87
    54
    52
See reviews for
173
529
27
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

After drinks in the infamous Churchill Bar we had dinner in a private room and were entertained by musicians and a cake for my
Mother's birthday after a sumptuous dinner. Not cheap but a special experience. The gardens looked so pretty lit up like a fairyland as we left. Magical.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Emma,

We would like to thank you for choosing La Mamounia to celebrate the very special occasion of your mother’s birthday.

We are very pleased to read that we made your experience a “magical” one.

We thank you as well for the compliments on our gardens. Our gardeners contribute largely to preserve the beauty and the myth of La Mamounia gardens, they will be very delighted to receive your encouraging rewards.

We appreciate your time in writing this review and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

A very opulent hotel, beautifully presented. We only visited for cocktails, hoping for jazz in the Churchill Bar but that was closed as out of season. We sat, instead, on the charming terrace. Delightful service, all very grand but so empty. I have to say I preferred our beautiful charming riad in the medina!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Everything is awesome at Mamounia: Pool, room, service, gardens, service. A must do: walk in the garden and a have an ice cream at the cabana. Amazing.

The best place in Marrakech. The original style... The others are copycats

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Rosa,

It is always such a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding our guests’ experience. Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

It is such a reward for us to be considered as the best place in Marrakech. We are glad you enjoyed most of the facilities, especially The Menzeh, located at the other end of the gardens beyond the olive trees. This separate building from the main one is very special as is it the oldest building of La Mamounia history. Further, it is a place where one can enjoy drinking a tea and some exclusive delights proposed by our Pastry Chef.

We thank you again for your support and we already look forward to welcoming you again to your favorite place in Marrakech.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A Rolex watch of high economic and emotional value. In the center of the Mamounia. 17 September 2011. Security officials were very kind, but I does not have my Rolex anymore.
Do not leave your belongings unattended. The hotel will not be responsible for thefts in the structure. I did not like to feel insecure in such a beautiful place. My birthday them was not very happy. :(

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here during Easter this year and I just realised I hadn't written a review about it. It's a beautiful hotel with real old fashion glamour from the exotic rooms to the Churchill Bar I only wished I had packed more shoes and dresses as it's one of those places where you wouldn't feel overdressed for supper. It's a perfect place for a long weekend, very romantic but equally good with a family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing La Mamounia Marrakech for your recent stay during Easter holidays.

What a pleasure to read that you found the rooms “exotic” and that you enjoyed spending some moment at the Churchill bar.

We are most grateful that you took the time to post such a nice review about your stay and we truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Sincerely yours,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I could not fault this place if I tried, from the moment I stepped through the gates of the grand entrance I fell in love, the hotel is immaculately maintained and you are greeted at the door with such a warm and friendly welcome that you instantly feel relaxed and you trust that your stay will be all you imagined. I absolutely love the décor throughout the hotel right down to the smallest of detail. The staff are so helpful and welcoming and I loved spending the sunny evenings in the Italian bar working my way through the extensive cocktail menu, we ate at both the Moroccon restaurant and Italian restaurant and the food was faultless, they even made me a dish specially as they had asked what I like to usually order at home! The gardens and facilities in the hotel are beautiful and so well maintained, they even have their own herb and vegetable garden on the grounds! I would highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Lisa Marie,

We thank you for your taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at La Mamounia.

Our mission is to make every guest coming into the hotel feel comfortable and receive a warm welcome, we are glad that we succeeded in making your first impression memorable.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the hotel design and of the “helpful and welcoming” staff. We are so proud to read that our food & beverage teams were very attentive to your needs and even exceeded your expectations; we aim to look after each guest in a personalized way.

We are very thankful for your willingness in recommending La Mamounia to every visitor and hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy another “stunning” experience with us.

Sincerely yours,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#57 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#86 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#103 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#112 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.