We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent hotel, but I was robbed in wellness.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Bari, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A magnificent hotel, but I was robbed in wellness.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A Rolex watch of high economic and emotional value. In the center of the Mamounia. 17 September 2011. Security officials were very kind, but I does not have my Rolex anymore.
Do not leave your belongings unattended. The hotel will not be responsible for thefts in the structure. I did not like to feel insecure in such a beautiful place. My birthday them was not very happy. :(

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    137
    64
    44
    42
See reviews for
125
392
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here during Easter this year and I just realised I hadn't written a review about it. It's a beautiful hotel with real old fashion glamour from the exotic rooms to the Churchill Bar I only wished I had packed more shoes and dresses as it's one of those places where you wouldn't feel overdressed for supper. It's a perfect place for a long weekend, very romantic but equally good with a family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing La Mamounia Marrakech for your recent stay during Easter holidays.

What a pleasure to read that you found the rooms “exotic” and that you enjoyed spending some moment at the Churchill bar.

We are most grateful that you took the time to post such a nice review about your stay and we truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Sincerely yours,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I could not fault this place if I tried, from the moment I stepped through the gates of the grand entrance I fell in love, the hotel is immaculately maintained and you are greeted at the door with such a warm and friendly welcome that you instantly feel relaxed and you trust that your stay will be all you imagined. I absolutely love the décor throughout the hotel right down to the smallest of detail. The staff are so helpful and welcoming and I loved spending the sunny evenings in the Italian bar working my way through the extensive cocktail menu, we ate at both the Moroccon restaurant and Italian restaurant and the food was faultless, they even made me a dish specially as they had asked what I like to usually order at home! The gardens and facilities in the hotel are beautiful and so well maintained, they even have their own herb and vegetable garden on the grounds! I would highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Lisa Marie,

We thank you for your taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at La Mamounia.

Our mission is to make every guest coming into the hotel feel comfortable and receive a warm welcome, we are glad that we succeeded in making your first impression memorable.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the hotel design and of the “helpful and welcoming” staff. We are so proud to read that our food & beverage teams were very attentive to your needs and even exceeded your expectations; we aim to look after each guest in a personalized way.

We are very thankful for your willingness in recommending La Mamounia to every visitor and hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy another “stunning” experience with us.

Sincerely yours,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

It is now some time since I was here with my wife and I should have reviewed it before - utterly superb in every single way from breakfast to afternoon tea although we did not have dinner here - eye wateringly expensive but you have to pay fo the very best I guess - just not a fan of Marrakesh I am afraid - a once in a lifetime as I do not feel it is a city to which I would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My friends and I stayed at the wonderful La Mamounia during our recent visit to Marrakech. Our wonderful experience began upon check in. We were greeted by the amazing musky signature scent of luxury. Our client services specialist welcomed us with a delicious milky treat and sweet dates. Our room was a one bedroom suite, impeccably decorated, every detail carefully thought out. Our welcome treat was a bottle of red and a wonderful selection of Moroccan sweets. The grounds are beautiful, and everywhere you go, whether it be celeb spotting at the outdoor terrace, enjoying the start to your day overlooking the beautiful pool, or having a dinner outdoors while listening to the bristle of the leaves coupled with the call to prayer, you can't help but be transported and immerse yourself. After two days of sightseeing, we treated ourselves to the royal hammam experience which consisted of a scrub down followed by a full body massage. Pure heaven. The breakfast spread provides both Moroccan and Western delights, the french restaurant has a significant wine selection and the drinks are best enjoyed while relaxing by the terrace. As if this hotel couldn't surprise you anymore, its service is the true standout. Any call we made was immediately addressed by the always amicable staff. When I needed to wrap my mirror for my travel back home, they immediately sent a team member to wrap for me. They even opened one of the boutique stores for us so we can do some last minute shopping. Highly recommend La Mamounia if you want to experience the treasures of the good life.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your nice words on your recent visit at La Mamounia.

We are glad that your first impression was marked by our signature scent, which has been created by the very delicate Olivia Giacobetti. She was inspired by the scents that identify the city of Marrakech, dates, orange blossom and cedar wood, and created a very unique perfume that reflects La Mamounia identity. This scent is reproduced through some products that you may find in our “La Mamounia Boutique”, such as candles, perfume diffuser and we even offer the possibility for our guests to purchase it from abroad.

We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with your bedroom and the service provided by our housekeeping team, who makes sure every guest receives a special attention.

We are glad you enjoyed our wine selection at the French restaurant; our Chef Sommelier makes sure every guest culinary experience remains memorable.

Your poetic and glowing description of your experience is very much appreciated. It is very important for us to provide our guests with the very high standard of service quality.

We are spoiled to receive this wonderful comment on the service and particularly the concierges, who went above and beyond your expectations.

It is a real accomplishment to read about your experience and that you recommend La Mamounia for those who are looking for “treasures of good life”.

Sincerely yours,

Pierre Jochem
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The ultimate grand hotel..now updated to world status...You can understand why Churchill said it was the best place on earth..he wrote and painted here...but now it is the updated elegant "place to be"......combine a stay here with a desert stay...Tres magnificent

Room Tip: always ask for a pool garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Raenette,

How delightful it is to read your comment! Thank you very much for taking the time to publish this review on Tripadvisor!

It is such a great reward when our visitors are informed about La Mamounia history, we are proud to be the guardians of this historical monument and share its magic with every visitor.

Indeed, Sir Winston Churchill considered La Mamounia and Marrakech the most unforgettable place on earth. The world-famous balcony that bathed his creative sensitivity in glorious light and perfumed gardens, was a temporary home to Churchill five times, including a 1943 visit he made with President Roosevelt after a conference in Casablanca. We recently organized an Art exhibition of Sir Winston Churchill paints, in memory of his passion for the culture and landscapes of La Mamounia and the city of Marrakech.

Thank you so much for being such a great ambassador of La Mamounia, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in your “Grand Old Elegant” place.

Sincerely yours,

Pierre Jochem
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

All good. Food great, quality surroundings, presented in 5 start standards. Calmness amongst the chaos inside the Medina walls. Clean, stylish and cool, (literally!).
Multi lingual staff, with great customer service ethics.
Rooms/spa/bars/restaurants/grounds/facilities ALL 5 star.
One or two of the pool boys had a bit of an edge at times, (high summer, with extreme temperatures), and the odd transgression can be forgiven in that respect; combined with the fact that these individuals recovered by being great 95% of the time!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Steven,

It is always such a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding our guests experience. Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

You couldn’t have pleased us more with your compliments on our “great food” and ”great customer ethics”. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every facility of the hotel and that the services provided are “5 star”.

Nevertheless, we are deeply sorry to learn that the service by the pool was not up to your expectations, but still we highly appreciate your encouragements for the staff members working by the pool.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in your Moroccan home.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.