We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 466 Hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Grand Old Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The ultimate grand hotel..now updated to world status...You can understand why Churchill said it was the best place on earth..he wrote and painted here...but now it is the updated elegant "place to be"......combine a stay here with a desert stay...Tres magnificent

Room Tip: always ask for a pool garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Raenette,

How delightful it is to read your comment! Thank you very much for taking the time to publish this review on Tripadvisor!

It is such a great reward when our visitors are informed about La Mamounia history, we are proud to be the guardians of this historical monument and share its magic with every visitor.

Indeed, Sir Winston Churchill considered La Mamounia and Marrakech the most unforgettable place on earth. The world-famous balcony that bathed his creative sensitivity in glorious light and perfumed gardens, was a temporary home to Churchill five times, including a 1943 visit he made with President Roosevelt after a conference in Casablanca. We recently organized an Art exhibition of Sir Winston Churchill paints, in memory of his passion for the culture and landscapes of La Mamounia and the city of Marrakech.

Thank you so much for being such a great ambassador of La Mamounia, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in your “Grand Old Elegant” place.

Sincerely yours,

Pierre Jochem
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    168
    73
    49
    46
See reviews for
142
453
23
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kazan, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

All good. Food great, quality surroundings, presented in 5 start standards. Calmness amongst the chaos inside the Medina walls. Clean, stylish and cool, (literally!).
Multi lingual staff, with great customer service ethics.
Rooms/spa/bars/restaurants/grounds/facilities ALL 5 star.
One or two of the pool boys had a bit of an edge at times, (high summer, with extreme temperatures), and the odd transgression can be forgiven in that respect; combined with the fact that these individuals recovered by being great 95% of the time!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Steven,

It is always such a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding our guests experience. Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

You couldn’t have pleased us more with your compliments on our “great food” and ”great customer ethics”. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every facility of the hotel and that the services provided are “5 star”.

Nevertheless, we are deeply sorry to learn that the service by the pool was not up to your expectations, but still we highly appreciate your encouragements for the staff members working by the pool.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in your Moroccan home.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had heard so much about this hotel, and was excited to explore its grounds and have a cocktail in their bar. But upon entry, I felt like the entire staff from the doormen to the managers had their noses in the air. I saw several famous American celebrities in the short amount of time I was there, so maybe that explains some of the behavior while I was there. However, I had one drink at the bar and waited a long time to receive the check. Once I did, they said their machines were down and they would only accept cash. They suggested I walk out to the ATM and get money. Preposterous. Not my problem their machines were down. They asked if I would wait and I said I would, not even offering to buy me a round while I waited ON THEM. I waited for quite some time and told them I had to leave to make another dinner reservation. The bar manager should have offered to buy the ONE drink I had. A hotel of this caliber should have known better and it was a real mark against them in my book. As this was going on, a couple overhead everything and the same thing had happened to them at check in and they had been waiting the whole day. One was a travel agent who said she was absolutely not sending her clients here because of the snobbery and inability to service. I couldnt agree more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mrs Cassie,

First of all, please let me thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor further to your recent visit at La Mamounia. It is always disappointing to learn when our guests leave the hotel with an unsatisfying experience, especially when a staff member does not alert us in order to make amends.

I am sorry to hear that you had an unfortunate experience while visiting us, knowing that you were particularly excited to enjoy a moment. One of the characteristics of Moroccan hospitality is the conviviality and the warm welcome we are know for. It is most disappointing to learn that you had the impression that our staff members are snobby and this is definitely not the feeling we want to create for our guests when being at La Mamounia.

We do understand your frustration while waiting for a long time to receive your check. We are sorry that you had to endure our system breakdown to proceed with the payment at that time and that you were given only one alternative.

Needless to say I have met personally with the bar manager in addition to his direct reports, so that all take to heart the importance of daily coaching our employees with respect to handling such sensitive issues, in addition how he himself should have managed the situation.

Our sincere apologies for this less than satisfactory guest experience, and we hope we may have the pleasure to try making amends and giving us the chance to organize your next visit.

Sincerely yours,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited for cocktails & was hoping to enjoy the Churchill bar. However, this was closed & we were offered the terrace instead. Whilst the hotel is beautiful & located in stunning grounds, I would not be impressed by the funfair that was in full flow across the road - it spoilt the tranquil & calm setting. The service was rather slow & as expected the overpriced drinks were average.

I would recommend going to see this hotel as it is stunning. However, 1 drink is enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited just to enjoy cocktails before dinner. The hotel was beautiful, huge and EMPTY! This was during Ramadam so perhaps this accounts for the lack of guests. Or perhaps it always feels empty. Either way we enjoyed some first class cocktails in very lovely surroundings with excellent service. A 'must-see' in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your impressions on TripAdvisor following your recent visit at La Mamounia.

We are thrilled to read that our cocktails are “First Class”, served in addition with an “excellent service. Your reward is an appreciation of the continuous efforts we strive in order to maintain the quality of service we are known for.

Your compliments are greatly appreciated and we hope you will have the opportunity to come back to enjoy all the facilities the hotel has to offer.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

if you do nothing else in Marrakesh you must go to la Mamounia , even if only for a light lunch. Coming in from 40° heat you are first hit by the welcoming concierge as he ushers you into the dark, cool interior, and then out into the famous gardens where smiling staff glide and serve. Of course, the food was ridiculously expensive, a £25 cheeseburger and a £30 Caesar salad, etc , but worth every penny for the comfort, and exoticism of the 2 hours we spent there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

You could not have pleased us more with your comments on TripAdvisor that our hotel is not to be missed when being in Marrakech.

La Mamounia is indeed offering to every visitor an access to a gate separating two worlds, leaving behind you the heat of the desert to enter an oasis of peace, nature and serenity.

Your comments regarding our welcoming and smiling employees are so much appreciated, that makes our pride for the entire staff even higher when reading such compliments.

We appreciate your time in writing the review, and look forward to having you with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Elegant, exotic, french. Amazing. While we were there so were Kate Hudson and kids, bruce willis, hugh jackman. The food was the best we had in Morocco. Expensive but worth it. I cant wait to return!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having stayed with us shortly and for having shared your experience on TripAdvisor.

You could not have pleased us more with your comments on the quality of food that you classified as being number one in Morocco! Further, it is the utmost compliment that you consider our hotel “one of the best you have ever stayed at”.

We also are looking forward to seeing you very soon and thank you for your time sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.