We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snobby Staff Alert!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Snobby Staff Alert!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had heard so much about this hotel, and was excited to explore its grounds and have a cocktail in their bar. But upon entry, I felt like the entire staff from the doormen to the managers had their noses in the air. I saw several famous American celebrities in the short amount of time I was there, so maybe that explains some of the behavior while I was there. However, I had one drink at the bar and waited a long time to receive the check. Once I did, they said their machines were down and they would only accept cash. They suggested I walk out to the ATM and get money. Preposterous. Not my problem their machines were down. They asked if I would wait and I said I would, not even offering to buy me a round while I waited ON THEM. I waited for quite some time and told them I had to leave to make another dinner reservation. The bar manager should have offered to buy the ONE drink I had. A hotel of this caliber should have known better and it was a real mark against them in my book. As this was going on, a couple overhead everything and the same thing had happened to them at check in and they had been waiting the whole day. One was a travel agent who said she was absolutely not sending her clients here because of the snobbery and inability to service. I couldnt agree more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mrs Cassie,

First of all, please let me thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor further to your recent visit at La Mamounia. It is always disappointing to learn when our guests leave the hotel with an unsatisfying experience, especially when a staff member does not alert us in order to make amends.

I am sorry to hear that you had an unfortunate experience while visiting us, knowing that you were particularly excited to enjoy a moment. One of the characteristics of Moroccan hospitality is the conviviality and the warm welcome we are know for. It is most disappointing to learn that you had the impression that our staff members are snobby and this is definitely not the feeling we want to create for our guests when being at La Mamounia.

We do understand your frustration while waiting for a long time to receive your check. We are sorry that you had to endure our system breakdown to proceed with the payment at that time and that you were given only one alternative.

Needless to say I have met personally with the bar manager in addition to his direct reports, so that all take to heart the importance of daily coaching our employees with respect to handling such sensitive issues, in addition how he himself should have managed the situation.

Our sincere apologies for this less than satisfactory guest experience, and we hope we may have the pleasure to try making amends and giving us the chance to organize your next visit.

Sincerely yours,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    188
    85
    53
    51
See reviews for
167
517
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited for cocktails & was hoping to enjoy the Churchill bar. However, this was closed & we were offered the terrace instead. Whilst the hotel is beautiful & located in stunning grounds, I would not be impressed by the funfair that was in full flow across the road - it spoilt the tranquil & calm setting. The service was rather slow & as expected the overpriced drinks were average.

I would recommend going to see this hotel as it is stunning. However, 1 drink is enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited just to enjoy cocktails before dinner. The hotel was beautiful, huge and EMPTY! This was during Ramadam so perhaps this accounts for the lack of guests. Or perhaps it always feels empty. Either way we enjoyed some first class cocktails in very lovely surroundings with excellent service. A 'must-see' in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your impressions on TripAdvisor following your recent visit at La Mamounia.

We are thrilled to read that our cocktails are “First Class”, served in addition with an “excellent service. Your reward is an appreciation of the continuous efforts we strive in order to maintain the quality of service we are known for.

Your compliments are greatly appreciated and we hope you will have the opportunity to come back to enjoy all the facilities the hotel has to offer.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

if you do nothing else in Marrakesh you must go to la Mamounia , even if only for a light lunch. Coming in from 40° heat you are first hit by the welcoming concierge as he ushers you into the dark, cool interior, and then out into the famous gardens where smiling staff glide and serve. Of course, the food was ridiculously expensive, a £25 cheeseburger and a £30 Caesar salad, etc , but worth every penny for the comfort, and exoticism of the 2 hours we spent there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

You could not have pleased us more with your comments on TripAdvisor that our hotel is not to be missed when being in Marrakech.

La Mamounia is indeed offering to every visitor an access to a gate separating two worlds, leaving behind you the heat of the desert to enter an oasis of peace, nature and serenity.

Your comments regarding our welcoming and smiling employees are so much appreciated, that makes our pride for the entire staff even higher when reading such compliments.

We appreciate your time in writing the review, and look forward to having you with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Elegant, exotic, french. Amazing. While we were there so were Kate Hudson and kids, bruce willis, hugh jackman. The food was the best we had in Morocco. Expensive but worth it. I cant wait to return!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having stayed with us shortly and for having shared your experience on TripAdvisor.

You could not have pleased us more with your comments on the quality of food that you classified as being number one in Morocco! Further, it is the utmost compliment that you consider our hotel “one of the best you have ever stayed at”.

We also are looking forward to seeing you very soon and thank you for your time sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Had drinks last night on the patio because the Churchill Bar is closed and in walked Kate Hudson, Brian Grazer, Tom Freston and company! They're filming "Rock the Kasbah" in Marrekech so where else would Hollywood billionaires go but to the Mammonia for drinks and dinner? It's a stunning, historic hotel with gorgeous gardens and pool. However, the drinks are outrageously expensive! The cheapest cocktails were $24 and the cheapest bottle of wine was over 500 dirhams. ($70). They do offer nice nibbles of olives and nuts but you're really paying for the privilege to sit in a gorgeous setting with millionaires and jet setters. Go for the people watching and enjoy the ambiance because it's grossly overpriced but the enchanting, luxurious environment is exquisite.

Room Tip: Ask for additional nibbles because they're free. They'll even serve you bread and butter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your recent visit at La Mamounia.

It is with great enthusiasm that we received your nice description of the hotel.

La Mamounia is indeed a property dating from the 18th century and is known for its history and myth, that attracted throughout decades many well know personalities. Lately, Marrakech became an attractive destination for the film industry and entertainment, and we have the chance to see more often international famous actors.

In regards with your feedback expressed on the high prices, we are aware that they may not be affordable for everyone; however they are in total keeping with our standard and level of luxurious Palace.

We appreciate your time in writing this review and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Not a place to go for business or by yourself. This would be a shame.

This is as romantic as it gets.

Beautiful rooms, fountains, lush gardens, waking up with the birds chirping in the trees and absolutely fantastic service and food.

Get a suite with a garden view if you can. Wak up only when you want and get pampered.

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, General Manager at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your impressions on Tripadvisor following your recent visit at La Mamounia.

It is with great enthusiasm that we receive your compliments, especially your recommendation for our Palace as a romantic destination. Most of our spaces have very intimate areas, from the lobby, the rooms, the restaurants. We tried to create for our guests, in search of tranquility and intimacy, privileged spaces where they can feel being apart from the world while receiving a first class service.

We are glad your stay was in keeping with your expectations and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a too not distant future.

Sincerely,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.