We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A dream escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Excellent location a a start, close to airport and 5-7 minute walk to the Medina.
Entering into the hotel is like entering a movie; goregous colours, greenery, mosaics, waterfalls....Thousand and 1 nights.
Gorgeous gardens, the Moroccan restaurant is divine and in a dream setting.
Whne you wake up in the morning and open the doors to the gardens, birds singing, total peace and quiet.
Swimming pool are has great lounge chairs where one can actually SLEEP (very comfy) and not crowded, enough space to have a secluded area.
Did not have time to try the sap unfortunately, but will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Garden view is a must, so peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    188
    85
    53
    51
See reviews for
166
516
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We visited the Mamounia for a snack lunch, which we took on the terrace. Quite frankly, the meal was very poor and over-priced - around £20 for a club sandwich and some chips and £10 for a bottle of Budweiser - though we had no complaints about the service, which was good. That, however, is beside the point as our aim was to experience the ambience of the hotel and its superb garden, and in that respect it did not fail us. The kitchen garden was of particular interest to us as my wife is a keen gardener. But at those prices I am sure that the hotel can do better with its food.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Wow what a beautiful hotel, bedroom and view wonderful, just a little sun top up after Barbados. Stayed 3nights a surprise visit for some dear friends staying there.
Dined in the Moroccan and French restaurants not the Italian.
Their dry martini cocktails were great, you can always judge an establishment by the martinis! And I could smoke my cigar in the bar ashtrays everywhere whoopee.
Great place will be going back.

Room Tip: They are all great , Atlas Mountains the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
169 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We didn't stay here but decided to come and have cocktails with a view to having dinner here one night as we'd always wanted to stay here and would've considered it for our next trip. It is without doubt a beautiful hotel and wonderful gardens but it all felt a bit impersonal. As others have commented the service really wasn't that good, in fact we were stunned to have a patio heater moved from near us closer to a visibly wealthier couple. The ashtray on our table was covered but had clearly been well used and stank and the service was really slow and not very attentive. We had our cocktails and left. We didn't return for dinner and my life long desire to stay here has been sated! I wouldn't have swapped our riad and the 'real' Marrakech with here for all the world.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollerau
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just came back last week from La Mamounia and I would say that this hotel is really a piece of paradise. The suite we had was really very beautiful, overlooking the gardens full of orange trees bearing fruits and the room makes you feel like you are in a morroccan palace, from the living room to the bedroom and the bath. I love the Moroccan restaurant with its delicious food and music in such lovely exotic atmosphere but I was disappointed by the french one. The Churchill bar is one of the most beautiful bars I've seen but unfortunately they don't have cigars. So we asked them to get it outside, the staff was really helpful. Service was very good from the pick up with their Jaguar from the airport and also for small things like asking for their lovely pastries, they are always there to please and assist. Breakfast was excellent , many choices and fresh juices as well and the bar drinks were also lovely. Not to forget also the lovely facial massage I got from their spa specilaist.This was for me a special experience that I can't forget..I will surely go back again to this piece of paradise..

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden facing the atlas mountains are lovely and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We visited here for afternoon tea after a long day walking. The hotel itself is beautiful, grand and high end luxury. However, when we asked for tea we were seated in an area with no table and given a drinks menu. When the waitress arrived we asked if they did afternoon tea and she apologised and moved us to a proper table. Tea was slow, the Pettit Fours (only 2 of them) followed half hour later. We had to ask twice for a food menu and when we eventually got one, no-one came to take our order. Needless to say we have up! The staff are polite but for the price you pay for food and drinks you expect the service to be in keeping with the status of the hotel and it falls well short. Shame.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Had a birthday lunch there this past weekend. While the ambiance is unbeatable, I was sorry to have spent over 100 dollars on a lackluster panini, salad and a beer. Sadly the service was also left wanting and we felt like we were served by a "waitress in training". The lovely walk through the grounds afterwards did make us forget the lunch.

Room Tip: did not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Sir, Madam,

Thank you for visiting La Mamounia,

We do apology for all the inconvenience that you have experienced.
Kindly note that we take your comments very seriously to improve our service. We hope that we can welcome you again at La Mamounia and hopefully this time will be a memorable experience.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#108 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.