We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed there under a week. We have travelled quite a bit and no where we have found such a beautiful and stunning place. The hotel is so amazing! Salons and small and big rooms everywhere in this palace on different levels arranged in such good taste, beautifully tiled. We had a room with a large balcony views of the park, the bathroom was so nicely decorated in a Moroccan style, marble everywhere. The park has scents of jasmine during the day and at night a gentle smell of wood burning. The outside pool in Nov has a light fog on its surface in the morning because it is heated and the great breakfast (we particularly loved the fresh pomegranate) is being served around it, it is like a dream. Restaurants are growing their own vegetables and fruit at the back of the park, the French restaurant is so delicious. There are also another pool and Jacuzzi inside the hotel, a gym inside and outside the hotel too. Don't forget to pop in to the antic shop Khalid…lots of lovely old boxes, we bought a fantastic antic mirror. We are planning on going back as soon as possible, the weather was superb too. Staff were attentive and discret. We had the best time, thank you Ali for assisting us so well in out stay, we'll be back very soon.

Room Tip: Garden view is the best, higher floors for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing La Mamounia as your Residence in Marrakech.
We are very pleased by your comments towards our Restaurants, Garden and Service.
We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and we certainly hope to welcome you again for another experience at La Mamounia.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    133
    63
    44
    42
See reviews for
119
381
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A must visit. If you do not stay here, come and have a drink and explore the bar and grounds of the hotel before you move on to something else for the night - it is truly stunning and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for visiting La Mamounia ,
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time with us.
Looking forward to welcome you again for another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

La Mamounia is a Moroccan legend. It Is simply the best and the most luxurious hotel in Morocco and the best inside the Medina. The contrast between the old city and the impeccable beauty of this place is amazing. Everything is perfect, the decor, the service, the food. Nothing bad you can say about this hotel. Certainly one of the best hotels I've ever stayed. La Mamounia is huge. There are an outdoor pool, a beautiful indoor heated pool, two tennis court, a great gym and a beautiful garden. I celebrated my birthday at La Mamounia and they made me feel very special with a complimentary champagne, cake and delicious macarrons. I just love it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

We will certainly share your kudos with the employees. It is always gratifying to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This place is too good to be true.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The garden is beautiful, and if you appreciate architecture you will love everything about the hotel. The outside swimming pool is enjoyable and warm. The breakfast is feast! however the food in their Moroccan restaurant was somehow disappointing.
It's nice to have a small walk in the garden in the evening when the trees and plantations have a special fragrance.
The main thing the hotel should take care of is to improve their internet connection.

Room Tip: I suggest you stay at least on the second floor to have a nice view on the Atlas mountain; actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting La Mamounia and taking the time to share your experience.

Please be aware that your comments are valuable to us, we take them into consideration to improve our guest needs and expectations.

We did experienced issues with the Wi-Fi signal; but please know that we took care of this problem.

We are looking forward to your next visit for another experience at La Mamounia.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Entrance to the hotel is grand. It has a nice garden and the staff are all welcoming.
The building is an old structure, however it has been renovated.

I did not like the carpet at the entrance.

However, as customer service the staff were great.

The best thing at the hotel, is the big garden they have. It is like a park. It is nice to have a walk during the morning or before sunset.

they grow there own vegetables and fruits in the garden.

The rooms were has the moorish architecture and you feel as you have gone back to the 1700s.

The only thing is that my room was near the road, and early morning you here the traffic of the cars.

Location wise, its the best I dont think you will get a better location then this.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting La Mamounia and taking the time to share your experience.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the walk in our garden. In fact we have different types of vegetables and fruits that you cannot find in the Moroccan market, which we use in our Restaurants.

Concerning the noise I suggest to you for your next stay, one of our deluxe rooms with Park or Agdal view, they are more calm and quiet.

We are looking forward to your next visit for another experience at La Mamounia.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I last stayed at La Mamounia over 20 years ago. Back then it was always considered as one of the best and nothing has changed since despite the recent 3-year renovation by J Garcia. It isn't like any other hotel in the world and is successful in keeping its styling roots firmly in the arts and crafts of Morocco and reflecting the spirit of one of its first designers, Jacques Majorelle, who helped in many aspects of the original 1920s construction.
The gardens of the hotel are just astonishing, lush and full with many types of palms, fruit trees, The pool area is huge as is quality and service of the pool restaurant.
The rooms were just about perfect- top quality bedding, garden views, bath facilities- one point here is to be cautious with the very slippery smooth marble floors in the shower/bath area, and if you like to read on anything other than a e-book/iPad in the bathroom, bring your own flashlight as the room is dark.
All the personnel were welcoming and the basic services as in-room dining were efficient.
La Mamounia is a must visit hotel {er.. palace? I'm told it is owned by the King and he puts his guests there}.

Room Tip: Garden views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank You for visiting La Mamounia, we are very happy to hear that you felt the hotel spirit is still the same even after it renovation, it is very important for us to keep the initial story of this Icone.

We thank you for appreciating the Arts and the Moroccan hand craft that Mr. Jacques Garcia used with good taste to redecorate La Mamounia for three years.

We shall hope to welcome you again for another experience at La Mamounia.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited this hotel on a recent trip to Marrakech. I guess we wanted to see why it was so special. We are still asking that question..... Marrakech is a city with many beautiful Riads with stunning gardens and lovely swimming pools, personal service, friendly helpful staff and representing good value for money. La Mamounia really lacked charm, the gardens reminded us of a municipal park and were not memorable. The food was good but soooo expensive for what it was. The staff were quite snooty which is funny bearing in mind we the guests are paying their salaries ! So suggest you save your hard earned money and stay somewhere that really is special

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We thank you for visiting La Mamounia,

La Mamounia is the oldest hotel in Marrakesh, it has history behind it walls that’s is why it is considered as a historical patrimonial.

Please if you have the occasion to visit us another time, ask for a visit with a guest relation agent, maybe you will find out what is the history of those gardens and why they arouses the interest of many visitors.

Please accept our apologies if you felt that our employees were not professional enough, we will share your comments with all our managers to make sure that the staff have the appropriate behavior.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.