We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice big hotel / a real 5 start” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A very nice big hotel / a real 5 start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our 4 day stay at la Mamounia made us loved Marrakech. Is impresive how a large hotel like this is really a 5 start. Well located , good service specially if you are good on tips. It is opulent but refine. The gardens are magnificient. We were there in August and enjoy every minute of our family stay. Do not miss their Morocan restaurant, it was a very pleasant experience.
If you go shopping do not take a guide from the Hotel .... otherwise the concierge service is very good.
Make sure you know there is a dimmer for the lights on the rooms before you think is too dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write your opinion on la Mamounia. The honest feedback of our guests is very important to us.

We hope to welcome you in the not too distant future.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    122
    55
    41
    41
See reviews for
100
340
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I booked in for a meal at the Moroccan restaurant here, and were dissappointed.

We had been at Royal Mansour and thought this would be similar - we had high expectations but were let down. Yes the reception area is lovely, but there are a lot of kids here and the standard of dress was not up to scratch I don't think. When you are paying that much to be in a beautiful hotel that has had a 20 million facelift, I would expect people to wear something a little more than crocs or dirty shoes to the Churchill Bar at night. There were also women in swimsuits running through the bar at 8pm dripping wet from the pool. I know that must sound like a petty thing to complain about to some people, but it actually annoyed me considering the money you are paying for drinks/dinner/ and hotel here.

The reception area is grand, and beautiful as are the garden. Yes sure, we had a lovely evening but the food standard was not as good as it should have been for the prices we paid. Deep fried food that seemed to come out too quickly! We hardly had time to have conversation in between or courses. The waiters were great, but the door staff at the restaurant were arguing with each other when we left and it was not professional in my view.

A must if you want to visit the Churchill bar, but it's just not up to the same standard as the Royal Mansour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for visiting La Mamounia and for taking the time to share your opinion; we are sorry to hear that your experience with us was disappointing.

Regarding the dress code we do have one which is smart and casual. We will definitely share your comment with our Food and Beverage Manager to make sure that this incident won’t happen again.

We were very surprised to hear that you did not enjoy the Moroccan restaurant as most of our clients have good feedback about the food and the service provided, but please rest assured that we have carefully read your comments and are taking the appropriate measures.

We are looking forward to your next visit, hopefully we would be able to change the first impression that you had.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Amazing location, great service and very nice rooms. We had high expectations and were very pleased with our visit. First room was a little bit dark but after talking to front desk they upgraded us to a better room with some kind of view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A beautiful hotel, favoured by Churchill amongst others, and set just at the edge town. Classic Moroccan tiled pools, arches and a gorgeous terrace. Expensive drinks, but come with a huge plate of the most delicious nuts ever. A meal in itself and well worth the price. A must see on any visit to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

It is always gratifying to learn that our guests have enjoyed their experience with us. We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time at this hotel service was excellent up to EU standards restaurants excellent especially the Moroccan that has live music one location is excellent close to everything the have a great out side pool the hotel is suitable for family's and friends as well they have excellent hair dresser the only negative things that I can say is the I had a garden room with balcony it was a bit dark needs stronger lights the other was the spa not all threapist are professional I had 3 treatments the first one was good but kept talking about her personal problems I think because I am Saudi and I ended up tearing up she thought i had an allergy i gave her a big tip to help but then changed threapist the other 2 treatments were not as good as her but kept silent .they sell excellent Aragon products at the spa .But still a miner issue hotel is great every ells was great
the the other point I would recommend not going on Islamic holidays a lot of shops are closed & liqueur not served to Muslims by
law -if you care-

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

First of all, we are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

However, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced in our Spa, and for the embarrassing situation.

Please rest assured that we have carefully read your comments and are taking the appropriate measures to address such problems.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited La Mamounia just for a lunch and walk around the hotel and gardens. Food was great and hotel (for what we have seen) is beautiful, so stylish. In general I don't like big hotels but this hotel has a charm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are pleased to read your comments, and we will be glad to receive you at La Mamounia, as one of our guests, during your next visit to Marrakech.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, MI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a Deluxe park room. The hotel grounds, lobby, pool, restaurants, and lounges are spectacular, especially considering the location within the walls of the old city of Marrakech. Our room was dark and the light switches were so complicated we never did figure them out. The bathroom was on one side as you entered and the toilet on the other. This was fine, but the shower was clearly an afterthought in the remodel and was tiny with no door, creating quite a wet bathroom.
We enjoyed dinner sitting outside in the traditional Moroccan restaurant and had the best pastilla of our whole trip there.
If we hadn't had issues with our room I would give this hotel a stronger recommendation. Perhaps there are rooms that are nicer than ours, as they should be for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at La Mamounia. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback.

We are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

Regarding the lighting system, we understand that it can seem a little confusing, but we do believe that it has been installed to accommodate our guests rather than inconvenient them, and we do apologize for that.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to La Mamounia very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#162 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.