We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Opulence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pure Opulence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A beautiful hotel, favoured by Churchill amongst others, and set just at the edge town. Classic Moroccan tiled pools, arches and a gorgeous terrace. Expensive drinks, but come with a huge plate of the most delicious nuts ever. A meal in itself and well worth the price. A must see on any visit to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

It is always gratifying to learn that our guests have enjoyed their experience with us. We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    152
    69
    46
    44
See reviews for
134
418
22
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time at this hotel service was excellent up to EU standards restaurants excellent especially the Moroccan that has live music one location is excellent close to everything the have a great out side pool the hotel is suitable for family's and friends as well they have excellent hair dresser the only negative things that I can say is the I had a garden room with balcony it was a bit dark needs stronger lights the other was the spa not all threapist are professional I had 3 treatments the first one was good but kept talking about her personal problems I think because I am Saudi and I ended up tearing up she thought i had an allergy i gave her a big tip to help but then changed threapist the other 2 treatments were not as good as her but kept silent .they sell excellent Aragon products at the spa .But still a miner issue hotel is great every ells was great
the the other point I would recommend not going on Islamic holidays a lot of shops are closed & liqueur not served to Muslims by
law -if you care-

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

First of all, we are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

However, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced in our Spa, and for the embarrassing situation.

Please rest assured that we have carefully read your comments and are taking the appropriate measures to address such problems.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited La Mamounia just for a lunch and walk around the hotel and gardens. Food was great and hotel (for what we have seen) is beautiful, so stylish. In general I don't like big hotels but this hotel has a charm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are pleased to read your comments, and we will be glad to receive you at La Mamounia, as one of our guests, during your next visit to Marrakech.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, MI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a Deluxe park room. The hotel grounds, lobby, pool, restaurants, and lounges are spectacular, especially considering the location within the walls of the old city of Marrakech. Our room was dark and the light switches were so complicated we never did figure them out. The bathroom was on one side as you entered and the toilet on the other. This was fine, but the shower was clearly an afterthought in the remodel and was tiny with no door, creating quite a wet bathroom.
We enjoyed dinner sitting outside in the traditional Moroccan restaurant and had the best pastilla of our whole trip there.
If we hadn't had issues with our room I would give this hotel a stronger recommendation. Perhaps there are rooms that are nicer than ours, as they should be for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at La Mamounia. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback.

We are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

Regarding the lighting system, we understand that it can seem a little confusing, but we do believe that it has been installed to accommodate our guests rather than inconvenient them, and we do apologize for that.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to La Mamounia very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I would like to say a big thank you to staff at Le Mamounia for looking after me. My husband and I visited for cocktails as it was our wedding anniversary. After a wander around admiring the gardens and pool we settled in the Churchill Bar for our celebratory gin & tonic. Within minutes of it being served and the waitress kindly taking our photo, I began to feel hot & faint (I'd felt below par all day). The waitress led me out to the foyer and sat me down. Water was brought and other staff including the manager offered to fetch a doctor. I felt this was not necessary and after a cool towel began to feel much better. A taxi was organised and we headed back to our riad. If non guests are treated this well I can only imagine how fabulous it must be for those lucky enough to be staying! Maybe one day I can return and finish my gin!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for your kind comments, and for choosing La Mamounia to celebrate this special event.

we hope that your travel plans will include Marrakesh in the future, and that you will be one of our residents guests.

With best regards.



Cordialement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed several places in Marrakech but this was absolutely my favorite (although also twice as expensive). It was amazing in every way. The gardens were gorgeous, the interiors were very chic, the food was good...on and on. The hotel is unbelievable. Everything was awesome.

It's definitely a splurge - but even if it's just for a night it was so worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

We are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Astonishing, unique, exquisite, utterly romantic and I could go on like this for the entire review.
Do not bother to look for an alternative in Marrakesh because there isn't. I have visited all the other contenders as Royal Mansour, Four Seasons,Taj, Namakasar (why someone is building hotels in the middle of nowhere ?) or Delano and others. Although some of them can look impressive (especially in the pictures) they do not have the soul and the spirit of La Mamounia.
Covering the basics : Top Location ( walking distance all around Medina, souks etc, Unique Design ( remodeled with Jacques Garcia this hotel is a showcase of the Moroccan architecture and design, Impressive services in all the outlets and facilities, Magnificent Garden in the Medina, Transcendent history, The Flavors and Sounds of Marrocco.
It really worth to do the trip just to stay at La Mamounia once in your lifetime. Be part of her history and do not look at the bill.
Just be there!

Room Tip: Just check the elaborate website of the hotel. Rooms with terrace in the interior garden are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on La Mamounia and for your nice comments, it’s always gratifying to learn that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to La Mamounia very soon.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LHW, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.