We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical and dreamy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Magical and dreamy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time at this hotel service was excellent up to EU standards restaurants excellent especially the Moroccan that has live music one location is excellent close to everything the have a great out side pool the hotel is suitable for family's and friends as well they have excellent hair dresser the only negative things that I can say is the I had a garden room with balcony it was a bit dark needs stronger lights the other was the spa not all threapist are professional I had 3 treatments the first one was good but kept talking about her personal problems I think because I am Saudi and I ended up tearing up she thought i had an allergy i gave her a big tip to help but then changed threapist the other 2 treatments were not as good as her but kept silent .they sell excellent Aragon products at the spa .But still a miner issue hotel is great every ells was great
the the other point I would recommend not going on Islamic holidays a lot of shops are closed & liqueur not served to Muslims by
law -if you care-

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

First of all, we are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

However, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced in our Spa, and for the embarrassing situation.

Please rest assured that we have carefully read your comments and are taking the appropriate measures to address such problems.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    172
    75
    51
    46
See reviews for
145
469
24
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited La Mamounia just for a lunch and walk around the hotel and gardens. Food was great and hotel (for what we have seen) is beautiful, so stylish. In general I don't like big hotels but this hotel has a charm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are pleased to read your comments, and we will be glad to receive you at La Mamounia, as one of our guests, during your next visit to Marrakech.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, MI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a Deluxe park room. The hotel grounds, lobby, pool, restaurants, and lounges are spectacular, especially considering the location within the walls of the old city of Marrakech. Our room was dark and the light switches were so complicated we never did figure them out. The bathroom was on one side as you entered and the toilet on the other. This was fine, but the shower was clearly an afterthought in the remodel and was tiny with no door, creating quite a wet bathroom.
We enjoyed dinner sitting outside in the traditional Moroccan restaurant and had the best pastilla of our whole trip there.
If we hadn't had issues with our room I would give this hotel a stronger recommendation. Perhaps there are rooms that are nicer than ours, as they should be for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at La Mamounia. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback.

We are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

Regarding the lighting system, we understand that it can seem a little confusing, but we do believe that it has been installed to accommodate our guests rather than inconvenient them, and we do apologize for that.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to La Mamounia very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I would like to say a big thank you to staff at Le Mamounia for looking after me. My husband and I visited for cocktails as it was our wedding anniversary. After a wander around admiring the gardens and pool we settled in the Churchill Bar for our celebratory gin & tonic. Within minutes of it being served and the waitress kindly taking our photo, I began to feel hot & faint (I'd felt below par all day). The waitress led me out to the foyer and sat me down. Water was brought and other staff including the manager offered to fetch a doctor. I felt this was not necessary and after a cool towel began to feel much better. A taxi was organised and we headed back to our riad. If non guests are treated this well I can only imagine how fabulous it must be for those lucky enough to be staying! Maybe one day I can return and finish my gin!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for your kind comments, and for choosing La Mamounia to celebrate this special event.

we hope that your travel plans will include Marrakesh in the future, and that you will be one of our residents guests.

With best regards.



Cordialement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed several places in Marrakech but this was absolutely my favorite (although also twice as expensive). It was amazing in every way. The gardens were gorgeous, the interiors were very chic, the food was good...on and on. The hotel is unbelievable. Everything was awesome.

It's definitely a splurge - but even if it's just for a night it was so worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

We are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Astonishing, unique, exquisite, utterly romantic and I could go on like this for the entire review.
Do not bother to look for an alternative in Marrakesh because there isn't. I have visited all the other contenders as Royal Mansour, Four Seasons,Taj, Namakasar (why someone is building hotels in the middle of nowhere ?) or Delano and others. Although some of them can look impressive (especially in the pictures) they do not have the soul and the spirit of La Mamounia.
Covering the basics : Top Location ( walking distance all around Medina, souks etc, Unique Design ( remodeled with Jacques Garcia this hotel is a showcase of the Moroccan architecture and design, Impressive services in all the outlets and facilities, Magnificent Garden in the Medina, Transcendent history, The Flavors and Sounds of Marrocco.
It really worth to do the trip just to stay at La Mamounia once in your lifetime. Be part of her history and do not look at the bill.
Just be there!

Room Tip: Just check the elaborate website of the hotel. Rooms with terrace in the interior garden are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on La Mamounia and for your nice comments, it’s always gratifying to learn that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to La Mamounia very soon.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It is Saturday 12 October, 1 pm, and we are in Marrakech as I write having been in Morocco for a week. Whilst in the city we have had the pleasure of being welcomed with open arms at Riads Maison Arrabe and Kniza, both stunning in every aspect. We are keen to come back to Marrakech sooner rather than later and decided to pop over to La Mamounia to have coffee and cake, we'd heard about the patisserie milhojas and wanted to try it, as well as making a reservation for our next trip as we like to try different places. At the entrance we were refused entry because we wearing shorts!!!! Hotel La Mamounia is way down the list of hotels on Trip Advisor, hovering somewhere around #144. The Riads we frequented are in the top ten. It's obvious why. I will never stay at La Mamounia now, there is no point going somewhere where you not welcome. If you are ever in Marrakech stay at Riad Kniza. It is exquisite. It is where I will be returning.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#122 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LHW, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith and Tingo so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.