We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thank you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I would like to say a big thank you to staff at Le Mamounia for looking after me. My husband and I visited for cocktails as it was our wedding anniversary. After a wander around admiring the gardens and pool we settled in the Churchill Bar for our celebratory gin & tonic. Within minutes of it being served and the waitress kindly taking our photo, I began to feel hot & faint (I'd felt below par all day). The waitress led me out to the foyer and sat me down. Water was brought and other staff including the manager offered to fetch a doctor. I felt this was not necessary and after a cool towel began to feel much better. A taxi was organised and we headed back to our riad. If non guests are treated this well I can only imagine how fabulous it must be for those lucky enough to be staying! Maybe one day I can return and finish my gin!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for your kind comments, and for choosing La Mamounia to celebrate this special event.

we hope that your travel plans will include Marrakesh in the future, and that you will be one of our residents guests.

With best regards.



Cordialement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    196
    88
    54
    54
See reviews for
177
534
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed several places in Marrakech but this was absolutely my favorite (although also twice as expensive). It was amazing in every way. The gardens were gorgeous, the interiors were very chic, the food was good...on and on. The hotel is unbelievable. Everything was awesome.

It's definitely a splurge - but even if it's just for a night it was so worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

We are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Astonishing, unique, exquisite, utterly romantic and I could go on like this for the entire review.
Do not bother to look for an alternative in Marrakesh because there isn't. I have visited all the other contenders as Royal Mansour, Four Seasons,Taj, Namakasar (why someone is building hotels in the middle of nowhere ?) or Delano and others. Although some of them can look impressive (especially in the pictures) they do not have the soul and the spirit of La Mamounia.
Covering the basics : Top Location ( walking distance all around Medina, souks etc, Unique Design ( remodeled with Jacques Garcia this hotel is a showcase of the Moroccan architecture and design, Impressive services in all the outlets and facilities, Magnificent Garden in the Medina, Transcendent history, The Flavors and Sounds of Marrocco.
It really worth to do the trip just to stay at La Mamounia once in your lifetime. Be part of her history and do not look at the bill.
Just be there!

Room Tip: Just check the elaborate website of the hotel. Rooms with terrace in the interior garden are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on La Mamounia and for your nice comments, it’s always gratifying to learn that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to La Mamounia very soon.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It is Saturday 12 October, 1 pm, and we are in Marrakech as I write having been in Morocco for a week. Whilst in the city we have had the pleasure of being welcomed with open arms at Riads Maison Arrabe and Kniza, both stunning in every aspect. We are keen to come back to Marrakech sooner rather than later and decided to pop over to La Mamounia to have coffee and cake, we'd heard about the patisserie milhojas and wanted to try it, as well as making a reservation for our next trip as we like to try different places. At the entrance we were refused entry because we wearing shorts!!!! Hotel La Mamounia is way down the list of hotels on Trip Advisor, hovering somewhere around #144. The Riads we frequented are in the top ten. It's obvious why. I will never stay at La Mamounia now, there is no point going somewhere where you not welcome. If you are ever in Marrakech stay at Riad Kniza. It is exquisite. It is where I will be returning.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the La Mamounia on the occasion of my daughter's wedding on the 14th September 2013. The whole experience from start to finish was absolutely faultless. The hotel is stunning and in a class of it's own. It is very expensive but you can see why when you enter the hotel. The rooms are immaculate and every need is catered for from complimentary Haviana flip flops for the pool to slippers at night when your bed is turned down.
The grounds are beautiful and provided the perfect backdrop for a wedding. The staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble for them, they are approachable and friendly whilst remaining professional at all times.
The outside pool is wonderful and uncrowded with attentive pool attendants providing soft fluffy towels. The indoor spa is also very relaxing with your needs catered for.
The Winston Churchill bar was the perfect place to finish off a fantastic wedding, it was atmospheric and very luxurious.
I would like to thank the staff & management of La mamounia for making my daughter's wedding a wonderful special day for her to treasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing La Mamounia to celebrate this special event, and we are truly happy to learn that your experience with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staff is great service minded and attentive
Gardens are wonderful
Pool area is amazing
Spa is amazing, very satisfied with my treatment
Breakfast is big and at lot to choose from, very very good
Room is nice, nice bathroom
Ate at the Italian restaurant, which was amazing. This is a world class Michelin restaurant
I would recommend anyone to stay here. Even if you don't have the money, then save up...
Food (lunch) by the pool was a bit disappointing AND expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we thank you for your nice comments and words, that we will certainly share with our team.

Concerning the price of the buffet by the pool, we always try to be one of the best and obviously that comes with a cost.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My first time in Marrakech, and I was surprised by how awesome that hotel is.
First of all, we were very well received in the airport by the hotel staff, that drove us to the Hotel in a Jaguar.
When we got there, tons of staff, willing to help and 99% of the time smiling, and doing their greatest effort to give us a good time.
The hotel is HUGE and very beautiful.
My room was good, but not great, specially compared to my friend's... the funny fact was that I payed a little more than they did... minor problem
The swimming pool was very good, and staff was always helpful.
Breakfast was excellent, but not included - I think it was something aroun 40 euros.
Spare money for tips, specially in a Hotel with such ammount of people doing things for you.
The Hotel Casino was very nice, but be prepared to have your entrance denied if you wear jeans with minor distress....
A must go is the SPA... one of the best I've ever seen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We would like to thank you for your nice comment and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

Concerning the room rate, it depends on the conditions of the booking, certain programs allow you an upgrade upon check in. For your next visit I suggest, one of our deluxe rooms with a nice view of the pool and the garden.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#63 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#84 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
8.0 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#102 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#110 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.