We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time is too valuable in Marrakech to waste it going to La Mamounia” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 474 Hotels in Marrakech
Altea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Time is too valuable in Marrakech to waste it going to La Mamounia”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It is Saturday 12 October, 1 pm, and we are in Marrakech as I write having been in Morocco for a week. Whilst in the city we have had the pleasure of being welcomed with open arms at Riads Maison Arrabe and Kniza, both stunning in every aspect. We are keen to come back to Marrakech sooner rather than later and decided to pop over to La Mamounia to have coffee and cake, we'd heard about the patisserie milhojas and wanted to try it, as well as making a reservation for our next trip as we like to try different places. At the entrance we were refused entry because we wearing shorts!!!! Hotel La Mamounia is way down the list of hotels on Trip Advisor, hovering somewhere around #144. The Riads we frequented are in the top ten. It's obvious why. I will never stay at La Mamounia now, there is no point going somewhere where you not welcome. If you are ever in Marrakech stay at Riad Kniza. It is exquisite. It is where I will be returning.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    184
    83
    52
    50
See reviews for
163
505
24
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the La Mamounia on the occasion of my daughter's wedding on the 14th September 2013. The whole experience from start to finish was absolutely faultless. The hotel is stunning and in a class of it's own. It is very expensive but you can see why when you enter the hotel. The rooms are immaculate and every need is catered for from complimentary Haviana flip flops for the pool to slippers at night when your bed is turned down.
The grounds are beautiful and provided the perfect backdrop for a wedding. The staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble for them, they are approachable and friendly whilst remaining professional at all times.
The outside pool is wonderful and uncrowded with attentive pool attendants providing soft fluffy towels. The indoor spa is also very relaxing with your needs catered for.
The Winston Churchill bar was the perfect place to finish off a fantastic wedding, it was atmospheric and very luxurious.
I would like to thank the staff & management of La mamounia for making my daughter's wedding a wonderful special day for her to treasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing La Mamounia to celebrate this special event, and we are truly happy to learn that your experience with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staff is great service minded and attentive
Gardens are wonderful
Pool area is amazing
Spa is amazing, very satisfied with my treatment
Breakfast is big and at lot to choose from, very very good
Room is nice, nice bathroom
Ate at the Italian restaurant, which was amazing. This is a world class Michelin restaurant
I would recommend anyone to stay here. Even if you don't have the money, then save up...
Food (lunch) by the pool was a bit disappointing AND expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we thank you for your nice comments and words, that we will certainly share with our team.

Concerning the price of the buffet by the pool, we always try to be one of the best and obviously that comes with a cost.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My first time in Marrakech, and I was surprised by how awesome that hotel is.
First of all, we were very well received in the airport by the hotel staff, that drove us to the Hotel in a Jaguar.
When we got there, tons of staff, willing to help and 99% of the time smiling, and doing their greatest effort to give us a good time.
The hotel is HUGE and very beautiful.
My room was good, but not great, specially compared to my friend's... the funny fact was that I payed a little more than they did... minor problem
The swimming pool was very good, and staff was always helpful.
Breakfast was excellent, but not included - I think it was something aroun 40 euros.
Spare money for tips, specially in a Hotel with such ammount of people doing things for you.
The Hotel Casino was very nice, but be prepared to have your entrance denied if you wear jeans with minor distress....
A must go is the SPA... one of the best I've ever seen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We would like to thank you for your nice comment and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

Concerning the room rate, it depends on the conditions of the booking, certain programs allow you an upgrade upon check in. For your next visit I suggest, one of our deluxe rooms with a nice view of the pool and the garden.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here but took advantage of the day pass which cost 1500 dirhams. This was great value as it gave us full access to the pools, gym, gardens etc, a four course lunch and spa treatment.

If you're leaving late on your last day, spend it here. We even finished the holiday in style by paying 300 dirhams for a lovely Mercedes to take us to the airport.

It is a little oasis of calm amidst the hustle of Marrakech and an absolute pleasure. The only thing to be aware of are the price of drinks once there - a bottle of water was about 50 dirhams!

Even if you don't stay here or use the day pass, come for a drink and enjoy the luxury.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After reading several negative reviews on trip advisor, I wasn't expecting to be so impressed with La Mamounia, boy was I surprised! It is truly a fabulous property! We spent 4 nights there and loved every minute of it! Its simply sumptuous. The pools, the gardens, the rooms and the staff are all wonderful. Worth every penny we spent. I opted out of one of our touring days to lounge by the pools, use the fitness rooms, & to enjoy a facial. It was all great.One night we had dinner in the French restaurant, and that was delicious too! A nice respite from all the traditoinal tagines we had already eaten, in Morocco. The staff is friendly and attentive, always available for anything. I highly recommend La Mamounia.

Room Tip: Our rooms looked over the pool. We loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

We will certainly share your kudos with the employees. It is always gratifying to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a wonderful world ... but not a perfect world! we enjoyed our stay in this must stay place in Marrakesh... sure it's full of myths, sure it's awesome design by J. Garcia... but it's a place to enjoy quiet and peaceful time with your family. Breakfast is OK... but food experience is definitely an afterthought .. Maybe during the law season they changed the menus ... but after 2 tries... we preferred to have our meals outside... the pool restaurant and service was really bad and people rude!
we definitely recommend the place and return to our favorite Moroccan Palace!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

We are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

We were a bit surprised to read your comments about the food, since most of our guests appreciate the level of attention of our service and the quality of the food at our three restaurants and the buffet by the pool, but please rest assured that we have carefully read your remarks, as it is through communication with our guests that we can strive to meet their needs.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LHW, Travelocity, Hotels.com and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.