We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here but took advantage of the day pass which cost 1500 dirhams. This was great value as it gave us full access to the pools, gym, gardens etc, a four course lunch and spa treatment.

If you're leaving late on your last day, spend it here. We even finished the holiday in style by paying 300 dirhams for a lovely Mercedes to take us to the airport.

It is a little oasis of calm amidst the hustle of Marrakech and an absolute pleasure. The only thing to be aware of are the price of drinks once there - a bottle of water was about 50 dirhams!

Even if you don't stay here or use the day pass, come for a drink and enjoy the luxury.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    137
    64
    44
    42
See reviews for
124
392
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After reading several negative reviews on trip advisor, I wasn't expecting to be so impressed with La Mamounia, boy was I surprised! It is truly a fabulous property! We spent 4 nights there and loved every minute of it! Its simply sumptuous. The pools, the gardens, the rooms and the staff are all wonderful. Worth every penny we spent. I opted out of one of our touring days to lounge by the pools, use the fitness rooms, & to enjoy a facial. It was all great.One night we had dinner in the French restaurant, and that was delicious too! A nice respite from all the traditoinal tagines we had already eaten, in Morocco. The staff is friendly and attentive, always available for anything. I highly recommend La Mamounia.

Room Tip: Our rooms looked over the pool. We loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

We will certainly share your kudos with the employees. It is always gratifying to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a wonderful world ... but not a perfect world! we enjoyed our stay in this must stay place in Marrakesh... sure it's full of myths, sure it's awesome design by J. Garcia... but it's a place to enjoy quiet and peaceful time with your family. Breakfast is OK... but food experience is definitely an afterthought .. Maybe during the law season they changed the menus ... but after 2 tries... we preferred to have our meals outside... the pool restaurant and service was really bad and people rude!
we definitely recommend the place and return to our favorite Moroccan Palace!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

We are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

We were a bit surprised to read your comments about the food, since most of our guests appreciate the level of attention of our service and the quality of the food at our three restaurants and the buffet by the pool, but please rest assured that we have carefully read your remarks, as it is through communication with our guests that we can strive to meet their needs.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble from the moment we were meet at the airport until the morning we were deliver back there . The guy waiting until we had checked in and showed us to departures.
Thats service. The best hotel i have ever stayed in , and i have traveled all over the world . Friendly staff who could not do enough for us ,from keeping the sun of my wife throughout the day to arranging a trip with a private car to the Atlas mountains . All restaurant bookings inside and outside the hotel ,all travel to and from anywhere we went all arranged. This is NOT a budget hotel ,2 of the restaurants in the hotel have 2 Micheline stars each so you pay for top quality.
Every meal was £200 for 2 . Breakfast £78 for 2 . You get top quality food and service but you pay for it . Its now going to be a regular trip , finances allowing .

Room Tip: Delux room was superb overlooking the pool . Nice and quiet and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Google Translation
Nous tenons à vous remercier de votre commentaire et du temps que vous y avez consacré.

Nous apprécions sincèrement vos remarques et sommes ravis d’apprendre que votre séjour parmi nous s’est déroulé dans les meilleures conditions.

Dans l’attente du plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau à la Mamounia, nous vous prions de croire, en l’expression de nos salutations les plus sincères.

Bien à vous,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here as we were in Marrakech for a wedding. From the moment you enter, leaving the dusty streets behind you, you realise this place is special.

We checked into a park view room on the second floor. It has an amazing view over the gardens and although the balcony is large you dont feel exposed.

The room is very well appointed with everything you would expect from this level of hotel plus a very good light system. The only channels on TV however are news and some basic sports with no movie or entertainment options. The wireless internet connection is excellent, you can stream with no problems so bring options (ipad etc) with you if you like to watch a bit of somthing other than the BBC.

Food - breakfast buffet is perfect with everything you could want. There are three restaurants and a bar you can eat at during the day. The buffet lunch, is outstanding and i highly recommend it.

Now back to the title i gave this review. We had a huge number of friends staying at various hotels and riads inside and just outside Marrakech. We heard lots of horror stories, of places 40 mins away from the center, or food poisoning, flies and cockroaches. None of these probelms exsist at this hotel. The place is spotless and cleaned relentlessly by an army of staff. We had freinds that moved hotel to this one after coming to see it.

If your budget can handle it do not hestiate, it will change your experience of this city for the better. We will be coming back.

PS not for children.

PPS when you order a taxi ask the hotel staff how much you should pay AND MAKE SURE THE DRIVER KNOWS WHERE HE IS GOING. They will say "yes" at least three times before they admit they dont know where you are going.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. Providing experiences like the one you talk about in your message is the reason why most of us at La Mamounia chose this profession in the first place, so we are all truly happy to have helped you create an everlasting memory, and you can be assured that we will share your nice words with the employees.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I really cannot fault La Mamounia, it is made of beautiful architecture and luxurious furniture. The grounds are so peaceful and perfectly looked after which is a vast contrast to Marrakech centre. The hotel deserves the 5 stars.

The hotel provided us with a beautiful room with outstanding finishing touches fresh cakes everyday, fresh fruits and waters throughout our stay. The staff could not of been more welcoming and accommodating, the general cleanness of the hotel is worth noting. And we enjoyed a lovely breakfast by the pool on the mornings.

The only downside is the price of food and drinks in the hotel, having stayed at many 5 star deluxe hotels I am aware of the prices of a cocktail. It was £19 and the breakfast was £39 per person at La Mamounia although it is clear you are paying for the incredible surroundings and atmosphere.

It is worth noting the architecture although exquisite is made up of steps and un-even surfaces which we noticed therefore if steps are an issue this hotel probably isn't for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Many thanks for your description of La Mamounia, it’s always nice to learn that our guests enjoyed their experience with us.

Concerning the prices, we always try to be one of the best and obviously that comes with a cost.

PS. For your next visit at La Mamounia, the breakfast costs only 29 £ not 39 £.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

its a really good hotel , not perfect though , it lacks slight privacy. the riads and swimming pool are awsome, the staff at reception desk were seemingly rude , they refused talking a pic of us in the lobby , causing humilation to myself and family. meanwhile i see soo many pictures being taken and uploaded. regardless its not like its something special anyways. Royal mansour and amanjenna are far better options and complexes and they allow pictures taken anywhere anytime. the restaurants are cool though so is their gardens

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on La Mamounia.

The constructive and honest feedback of our guests is always welcome as it helps us to improve.

You can be sure that we have carefully read your comments and have taken the proper care, as our new policy is to allow all our guests and visitors to take pictures.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.