We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lunch at La Mamounia was over rated very expensive £27 for a Cesar salad that was wet and the salad should have been binned not served
Very disappointing . Glad we did not stay there.
The hotel to look at is magnificent but it lacks warmth it is austere and cold

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write your opinion on La Mamounia. We appreciate your remarks, and it is always a pleasure to receive our guests feedback, as it’s very important to us and helps us improve.

Regarding Rates, please note that we aim to provide a service beyond what others do, and it has a cost.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    137
    64
    44
    42
See reviews for
124
392
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We were there on a business trip an we wre told it's the best and most expensive in te region. The place is nice and clean but is way too expensive for what it has to offer. The wifi connection was too weak in our room that we had to go to the lobby to connect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

We will certainly share your nice words with the team. It is always a pleasure to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the best hotel I have ever visited. The sunbeds are like lying in a huge king size bed. The staff are fantastic and the service was 5* plus. Food was to a very high standard. We were eight girls on a 40th birthday and they made us feel like princesses.

Room Tip: We did not sleep at the hotel so I can't comment on this but going on the hotel I would say the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

We will certainly share your nice words with the team. It is always a pleasure to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

WOW ! WOW ! WOW !

La Mamounia is a legendary hotel. But since it reopened (after a 3 year renovation), it managed to take luxury experience to a new level.
The rooms are magnificent (garden view suites are perfect with kids), the pool is out of this world, the gardens extraordinary, the restaurants and bar all great (love the Churchill bar), the spa certainly one of the very best in the world...and the staff, well, makes you feel at home, really. Even if you are a first comer and not a A-lister (and they are plenty there !), and even if your 6 year old daughter is a noisy at times...!
The pick up at the airport in Range Rover is really nice (a 15' drive, so much better than the 1+ hour to the Palmeraie hotels), the Souk and the Medina are just a short walk away...it does not get better than that !
And yes it comes with a price, but as Mr Gucci used to say : 'once you tasted the quality, you forget about the price' ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at La Mamounia.

First of all, we are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and we thank you for your nice comments that we will certainly share with the employees. It is always gratifying to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

Regarding the prices, please note that we strive to provide service beyond what others do, and as you mentioned, this has a cost.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izmir
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

it is a great hotel i can say one of the few best hotel in Africa. Great room, Great service Great Breakfast, Kind people and great location. everything is very close to this location. i would definatelly recommend this hotel.

BUT the lift it is marked 8 person and 630 Kg we were 6 people and less then 500 kg. then we got stuck in that lift more then 20 minutes. the management seems rookie on those kind of problems.

Later that day they were warning people not to get in lift more then 3 person.

Well apart from this accident everything was perfect.

Room Tip: i stayed at room 104 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

First of all, we are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

We sincerely apologize about the incident of the lift, and you can be assured that we have carefully read your comments and are taking the appropriate measures to address such problem and to prevent any future occurrences. At La Mamounia, the honest feedback of our guests is key to our success.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

La Mamounia is at the Medina, so it's location is perfect for touring the old town of Marrakech as well as the Soukhs. The service is impeccable, the quality of food in the hotel is excellent, the gardens are magnificent and the fitness center has all facilities required.

We arranged excursions through the hotel, with SenhajiZaher (email address: senhajizaher@yahoo.fr) and he was terrific. He explained history, culture and showed us a variety of sites for a period of two days. He has a marvelous sense of humor and incorporated local stories with the history. We recommend him highly.

While the hotel is pricey, this was a one of a kind trip, and worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Unfortunately we stayed here for seven nights....much too long. A 3 day break would be perfect as there is nothing to do in the evenings except drink in the overpriced bars and eat in the very mediocre, highly priced restaurants. In its favour, the poolside buffet restaurant for lunch was very good, but at £100 per head for Sunday lunch, it should be. !!

Room Tip: Choose from the de luxe selection as the standard rooms are quite small. For the price, all rooms sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Greetings from Marrakech!

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at La Mamounia.
We thank you for letting us know your disappointment as it is only through constructive feedback that we can strive to meet our guests’ needs, and we are pleased to learn that our Sunday brunch met your expectations.
However, we would like to apologize if you felt disappointed by our restaurants and the prices in our bars, and we can assure you that most of our guests are very happy with the service and the food. We would love to be able to change your impression by welcoming you once again at La Mamounia on your next visit to Marrakech.

Thank you again for sharing your experience,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.