We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lunch at La Mamounia was over rated very expensive £27 for a Cesar salad that was wet and the salad should have been binned not served
Very disappointing . Glad we did not stay there.
The hotel to look at is magnificent but it lacks warmth it is austere and cold

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write your opinion on La Mamounia. We appreciate your remarks, and it is always a pleasure to receive our guests feedback, as it’s very important to us and helps us improve.

Regarding Rates, please note that we aim to provide a service beyond what others do, and it has a cost.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cairo
Level Contributor
199 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We were there on a business trip an we wre told it's the best and most expensive in te region. The place is nice and clean but is way too expensive for what it has to offer. The wifi connection was too weak in our room that we had to go to the lobby to connect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Egyptian_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

We will certainly share your nice words with the team. It is always a pleasure to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the best hotel I have ever visited. The sunbeds are like lying in a huge king size bed. The staff are fantastic and the service was 5* plus. Food was to a very high standard. We were eight girls on a 40th birthday and they made us feel like princesses.

Room Tip: We did not sleep at the hotel so I can't comment on this but going on the hotel I would say the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

WOW ! WOW ! WOW !

La Mamounia is a legendary hotel. But since it reopened (after a 3 year renovation), it managed to take luxury experience to a new level.
The rooms are magnificent (garden view suites are perfect with kids), the pool is out of this world, the gardens extraordinary, the restaurants and bar all great (love the Churchill bar), the spa certainly one of the very best in the world...and the staff, well, makes you feel at home, really. Even if you are a first comer and not a A-lister (and they are plenty there !), and even if your 6 year old daughter is a noisy at times...!
The pick up at the airport in Range Rover is really nice (a 15' drive, so much better than the 1+ hour to the Palmeraie hotels), the Souk and the Medina are just a short walk away...it does not get better than that !
And yes it comes with a price, but as Mr Gucci used to say : 'once you tasted the quality, you forget about the price' ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnaud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at La Mamounia.

First of all, we are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and we thank you for your nice comments that we will certainly share with the employees. It is always gratifying to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

Regarding the prices, please note that we strive to provide service beyond what others do, and as you mentioned, this has a cost.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izmir
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

it is a great hotel i can say one of the few best hotel in Africa. Great room, Great service Great Breakfast, Kind people and great location. everything is very close to this location. i would definatelly recommend this hotel.

BUT the lift it is marked 8 person and 630 Kg we were 6 people and less then 500 kg. then we got stuck in that lift more then 20 minutes. the management seems rookie on those kind of problems.

Later that day they were warning people not to get in lift more then 3 person.

Well apart from this accident everything was perfect.

Room Tip: i stayed at room 104 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience at La Mamounia.

First of all, we are pleased to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were satisfied with the overall level of service.

We sincerely apologize about the incident of the lift, and you can be assured that we have carefully read your comments and are taking the appropriate measures to address such problem and to prevent any future occurrences. At La Mamounia, the honest feedback of our guests is key to our success.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

La Mamounia is at the Medina, so it's location is perfect for touring the old town of Marrakech as well as the Soukhs. The service is impeccable, the quality of food in the hotel is excellent, the gardens are magnificent and the fitness center has all facilities required.

We arranged excursions through the hotel, with SenhajiZaher (email address: senhajizaher@yahoo.fr) and he was terrific. He explained history, culture and showed us a variety of sites for a period of two days. He has a marvelous sense of humor and incorporated local stories with the history. We recommend him highly.

While the hotel is pricey, this was a one of a kind trip, and worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardandMargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Unfortunately we stayed here for seven nights....much too long. A 3 day break would be perfect as there is nothing to do in the evenings except drink in the overpriced bars and eat in the very mediocre, highly priced restaurants. In its favour, the poolside buffet restaurant for lunch was very good, but at £100 per head for Sunday lunch, it should be. !!

Room Tip: Choose from the de luxe selection as the standard rooms are quite small. For the price, all rooms sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sash6650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mamounia_, Directeur général at La Mamounia Marrakech, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Greetings from Marrakech!

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at La Mamounia.
We thank you for letting us know your disappointment as it is only through constructive feedback that we can strive to meet our guests’ needs, and we are pleased to learn that our Sunday brunch met your expectations.
However, we would like to apologize if you felt disappointed by our restaurants and the prices in our bars, and we can assure you that most of our guests are very happy with the service and the food. We would love to be able to change your impression by welcoming you once again at La Mamounia on your next visit to Marrakech.

Thank you again for sharing your experience,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#77 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#61 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith and Hotwire so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing