We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful looking hotel - shame about the guests and smoking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful looking hotel - shame about the guests and smoking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed elsewhere in Marrakech (La Maison Arabe - highly recommended) but chose to visit the famous Churchill Bar for a drink. It wasn't long however before we decided to push the boat out and stay for dinner at their Italian restaurant. Be prepare to be fleeced - an extremely expensive evening but no regrets as it was a fun evening - mostly - and we enjoyed our visit. It's a stunning looking hotel - we especially loved the interiors. A tad dark perhaps for some but we thought decadent and exotic - plush velvet in deep aubergine contrasted with rich gold lighting - loved it. The Churchill Bar is extraordinary. It opened at 7pm (not sure if this was later or normal time as it was Ramadan) and we were the only people there for at least half an hour. The interior boasted leopard skin prints with scarlet and black...a winning combination for a sultry jazz bar. Lovely background music (we were early so live music later on I assume) and we received excellent service despite staff observing Ramadan until 7.45pm - for which we were grateful although were sensitive to. Nevertheless, we did enjoy fabulous cocktails served with delicious nibbles although possibly the most expensive drinks ever (£80 for 4). But they were beautifully presented and for the experience, it was worth it. On to dinner - marred by two things: 1. Marrakech still allows people to smoke in restaurants - disappointing for those of us who would prefer food and wine without inhaling others' smoke. 2. Two revolting whining spoilt women who were spectacularly rude to the staff and overly loud. In fact, have never seen such rudeness to staff who were (literally) bending over backwards to please them. Frankly, it was embarrassing - while the women treated them as little more than dirt on their shoes while they proceeded to stare into their iPhones. They might have had money but they certainly lacked manners. Anyway....the service in the Italian restaurant was excellent - in fact, superb and the food, very good. Delicious wine but at a minimum of £100 per bottle, it had to be really. The desserts were stunning. Could have returned for more of those alone. The exterior is worth a visit although the gardens aren't as "knock-out" as we thought they would be. Beautiful swimming pool mind you, really special. Wouldn't have minded a dip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadGirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in July and had an amazing visit. The location, facilities, staff and food were all unbelievable. Our room was the basic level facing the city but had so many unique features it was perfect. The employees were always kind and willing to help with any request. We had a guide one morning and room a day trip into the Atlas Mountains arranged by the hotel and it was all so easy and seamless. The location is ideal within walking distance to the Souks and also the "newer" parts of town. I would love to stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie-RGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We did not stay here but I was very glad to have made it to the hotel for pre dinner drinks! This is a spectaculor property, old world elegance! Wuld difinitely splurge and stay when I do return. The door persons were friendly. The Managers were true to their status and did not smile:( The local team though were very good and chatty!

The lobby lounge has the old world charm!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hTlcOnfidential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have been to the hotel many times, mostly before the substantial renovation from 2006 to 2009. The decor and the layout have changed significantly (e.g., the former Le Marocain restaurant is now the indoor pool) and I find the lobby and reception area slightly dark. Not surprisingly the interior designer is Jacques Garcia - who is behind the Hôtel Costes in Paris for example. BUT the suites and riyads are stunning with beautiful and intricate moroccan details and the hotel gardens are as wonderful as they always were. Most importantly the soul of this place and the service is unchanged. I will return again and again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful location, fabulous garden, fantastic pool, exceptional buffet for breakfast and lunch, delicious restaurant for moroccan food, charming spa and helpful, friendly staff. The rooms were not totally my taste but it had everything you need & certainly more.. Probably one of the most luxurious, charming and delightful place in the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierReykjavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
176 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent location just 10-15 mins walk to the square. All of the/ staff were fantastic. The lobby is grand and spacious as is the pool area. What a wonderful pool and very prompt pool service. We had a koutoubia view room - adequate size, love,y bed and good sized balcony to ave an early evening drink. We ate in the French restaurant which was very nice. I had the lamb which was very good. The Churchill bar is gorgeous, moody lighting red padded walls with black and white photos of all the greats like Nat King Cole.
Cons - well the sunbeds were a little tricky to put up and down with a stiff metal lever and they were positioned rather close together so bit tricky to put your bag beside.
Other than that - yes the prices are bit crazy, we knew that they would be and they were the lunch buffet £55-£60 per head for lunch buffet which was salads, selection of roast meats, a tagging, couscous, salmon and some sweets, local Cadablanca beer just under £9 and a burger was £25, french meal - 1 starter, 2 ,mains, 2 glasses of champagne and bottle of wine, a coffee and mint tea - £225 just to give you a flavour. We ate out the other 3 evenings as there's plenty of choice. We would've had the half bottle of chamagne to have on our balcony but at £85 thought just bit too steep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaychicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I initially booked for 3 nights in May but were enjoying our time so much we stayed an extra night and spent most our time actually within the confines of this oasis knowing we had several more days to experience the sights and sounds of Marrakech.Having never been to Marrakech we booked to stay at 3 different places with La Mamounia our first stop. The check in was very civilised and easy(thankfully as we had flown from Melbourne to Paris with a connecting flight thru to Marrakech.I have repressed the memory of how many hours that was) sitting in the majestic lobby on comfortable sofa eating the most luscious dates whilst sipping on cool almond milk and then being shown to our room and given an overview of what La Mamounia had to offer.Most people would find La Mamounia expensive but you are getting a unique and amazing overall experience not just a hotel room. On that basis ,despite the cost it still represents good bang for your buck.
Our room was beautiful,the public spaces as exotic as we had hoped and the gardens stunning and varied to walk around especially in the cool of the morning and at sunset(with a prior stop for an icecream at Bar Menzeh, the little building located midpoint).The vegetable gardens at the very back which supply the hotel restaurants were good to see.
Staff were generally excellent and very attentive but getting a drink from the poolside staff was slower than it should be for a hotel of this standard.
The breakfast buffet was excellent with a great variety of breakfast staples as well as Moroccan favourites.We enjoyed a very leisurely start to each morning and didn't worry too much about lunch.
We had dinner each night at their Moroccan restaurant aptly named Le Marocain, reasoning that we hadn't travelled this far to eat French or Italian despite whatever local twists may have been added to those cuisines.We dined under the stars at Le Marocain each night and tried different dishes.The food was superb and the ambiance enhanced by the live band playing traditional Moroccan tunes.
The gym, which is housed in a large building next to the tennis courts(didn't see anyone actually playing) was well fitted out and the 2 times we went we were the only people there.
My wife and I both tried the Hamaam(a first for both of us) and whilst the treatment rooms were beautifully decorated and clean the actual treatment wasn't as traditional as we had hoped and the massage afterwards was just ok. Nevertheles i would recommend the Hammam as a good introduction (if slightly sanitised) to the experience but wouldn't do the same for the massage.Both were expensive but not more than you would expect them to be in a hotel of this standard.
Bar Churchill is visually stunning but despite the live music on offer, unfortunately wasn't busy on the nights we were there.Bar Italien was always a bit livelier but still fairly quiet and we enjoyed a cocktail or two on the terrace both pre and post dinner.
Would love to return to La Mamounia someday and that is the best recommendation you can give.Don't forget the obligatory photo with the impressively attired doormen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawksforflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#63 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#77 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing