We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best, class of its own” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“one of the best, class of its own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay in Marrakesh. And La Mamounia made this into the wonderful stay we experienced. From arrival to check out, this hotel knows how to please its guests. It is one of the best hotels we have ever been to, and my partner travels professionally to all parts of the world and is lucky enough to stay in some of the best.

At arrival, you are immediately taken to the lounge by a perfectly English speaking person, where you are welcomed with almond milk and a date, of course after receiving a lavender scented wet towel to whipe your hands. Scent is one of the pleasant experiences at the hotel. The house scent is something of ceder, woody, lovely. You get a tour around the hotel and gardens, and wow, those gardens are magnificent. And again, the smell is so good (orange blossom). The room we had was beautifully appointed, ammenties great, again with the house scent. Even the cupboards smell nice :)

Service is impeccable, even if you want your room made at night, it will not be a problem. Every day, you receive other fresh fruit in your room, a small pastry and complimentary water. As some reviewers noticed, at the gate you are asked if you stay at the hotel, but we have never found this unpleasant. Even when wearing sneakers, shorts and t-shirts, if you are a guest, you are always welcome. I think it is a good thing that they are a little strict. The hotel is so amazingly beautiful, that it would be run over by hoards of tourists if they would be more lenient. Part of the charm is that the atmosphere is serene, the lights are low, service is friendly, with an overall oriental look and feel.

The pool area is another great thing, the pool is huge, ozone cleaned so no chloride. Service again is fantastic. Last thing I will mention is The Spa, again beautifully appointed with great treatments. A must do when in the hotel.

Of course, you pay for it, but if you can afford it, it's worth it. I see in the reviews some exagerated statements. Breakfast is around 30 euro's (but the choice is amazing), cappucino is around six. A big plate of strawberries at the pool will do nine. The French restaurant is pricey indeed, but there are plenty options outside the hotel.

In short, La Mamounia is a class of its own on this planet, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a DeLuxe garden room or DeLuxe city facing room on a high floor (the last is more noisy, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    152
    69
    47
    44
See reviews for
135
420
22
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This has to be one of the most beautiful hotels I have stayed at. The service is top drawer but at this this price it should be.

Lots of reviews complain about being hassled at the door, or flat out refused entry. Yes being hassled at the front entry is a a bit of a nuisance but for security and added privacy I understand and I am happy they go the extra mile to keep lookie lous out. This property is spectacular and could easily be over run with non guests if not careful. Its a wonderful respite for the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

If you are guest you are made to feel like a KING!

One things is a bit of a problem is dinning at the hotel is very expensive. So unless money is no issue be prepared for paying for your meals. I think we paid 70.00 for breakfast for each person everyday. Lunch buffet was 100.00 per person and dinner was off the charts. A coke out of the mini bar was about 9.00. I feel ripped off when they are 3.00

My partner and I shared a sandwich by the pool with a bottle of water and a beer the price was over 50.00.

We saw people turned away at the gate some said they had dinner reservations. Not sure if this was true. One night after being asked if we were hotel guests at the gate they also wanted to see our room key at the elevator. We were told that the hotel had VIP clients that night. They would not confirm who but we did see Candice Bergen arrive at the same time we did.

The King also owns another Hotel very close by.

Also be aware that everyone seems to be dressed to the nines. Though we were never turned away for not having a jacket or tie, and might have been if we were not hotel guests. We were always made to feel welcomed.

Like so many five star hotels in Europe internet is free. The US should learn this.

Room Tip: I am not sure if any rooms are bad. We never heard the call to prayer, which at dawn can be a bumme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a lovely lunch but didn't quite think the 1250 dirham cost was quite what I expected.
Two mains, glass of white wine, bottle of water and a dessert.
That's minus service, which is faultless.

My fault for not looking at the menu, and in any case - my wife paid!

Walk through the lovely gardens and into the Bouledrome for ice-cream and cake.

The pool looks wonderful, so if you need to spend a few hours away from the bustle of the souks, then look no further.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Arrogant at the door, unhelpful staff at the front desk and in the spa. Extremely good waiters and very attentive floor staff though, so with very little change this has the potential to be brilliant.
Excellent gardens and pool - stunning hotel.
Tourist guide promoted this as a highlight and a top spa experience but as a non hotel guest you are NOT made welcome at all, which is perfectly OK if expectation is set up front! Disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Me and my friend visited the Mamounia after reading a recommendation in a guide book, we started off with cocktails in the Winston Churchill Bar which were devine then we had a lovely dinner in the Italian Restaurant we had two courses with wine, service was fantastic
The hotel & grounds are gorgeous, not a cheap place to visit but well worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited La Mamounia for the day in order to experience the pool, spa and gardens and would definitely recommend it. The setting is absolutely beautiful and very tranquil. The gardens were outstanding and were amazing to walk around. The pool area was glorious and reasonably well spaced out. We didn't spend much time in the spa so as to avoid missing the sunshine but did feel the staff to be overly-attentive which diminished the relaxing atmosphere a little. We chose to eat by the pool and it is very much an in for a penny in for a pound situation as even the water is pricey but the pool-side service was fantastic.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We saw the Mamounia recommended in our guide book as one of the Worlds great old hotels and that non guests are welcomed. We found the hotel, on the edge of the Medina ramparts behind La Koutoubia Mosque. There are flunkeys on the door but although the guide book advised long trousers and no t shirts, there were plenty of people in shorts and t shirts who had just come to look at the gardens.
The building is impressive with a library style quietness, dimly lit corridors and fountains - very colonial.
We had mint tea, water and a beer on the rear terrace which was expensive at around £17/18 but we also had olives and lots of salted almonds and enjoyed nearly 2 hours of luxurious peace pretending that we could afford to stay there.
As an oasis of peace after the madness of the rest of Marrakech it is much recommended but please have the courtesy to buy a drink.

Room Tip: Have lots of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LHW, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.