We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, relaxing, and an oasis in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Stylish, relaxing, and an oasis in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a truly stunning hotel; the location, the ambience, service and facilities, nothing to fault. The gardens are lovely, for long walks and with numerous areas to sit, have a drink or food; and the hotel has an extensive range of bars, restaurants and activities.

The rooms are spacious, and the features are all traditional Moroccan, with a modern stylish twist. The bed in our room was large, and very comfortable, with no 'bounce'. We stayed in a balcony room overlooking the gardens (this was the deluxe style room), and it seems that the higher you are the better the views from the balcony. The other front wing looks over the pool, which is fine as its not noisy. The 'odd' numbered rooms which are 'classic' style, appear to overlook the Spa area. The aircon works well, and there are shutters to keep the heat out. The rooms are serviced twice daily, with plenty of fresh towels and drinking water delivered. The only omission we found was no coffee/ tea making facility in the room, so this needs to be via room service. A Nespresso maker or the like would have been nice.

You should plan on taking a leisurely breakfast, served by the pool, as the choice is staggering. Moroccan, continental, fresh fruit, a massive range of baked products and hot food, including eggs any way you like. The waiters are also ultra-attentive, offering a full range of hot drinks - but not decaffeinated tea for some reason. We chose to eat out most of the time, however the Italian restaurant was first class, and the lounge bar and terrace was very nice for a lunch. We were also told that the French restaurant was good for a light lunch. You can also have light lunches by the pool, with BBQ food etc.

We didn't try the Spa or treatments, tennis courts, boules area, or the large gym, but it all looked excellent. There is also table tennis in the gym, and a chill out 'hamman' area. There are some shops in the hotel, with a newspaper kiosk at the entrance which also sells medications, sun lotion and giftware etc.

The gardens are large (very large) and filled with trees and flowers. The lawns are well kept, and you can have sun beds positioned on the lawns in tranquillity. A walk in the evening is very relaxing, and this is when the fragrances are at the best.

The location is convenient for the main square, mosque and souk - all 15 minutes from the hotel. Just watch out for people "just happening to be walking your way" and "hotel workers completing their shift" with both types wanting a fee as a guide to the square. The concierge will organise transport if you want to go further, or a real guide to show you to, around, and out of the souk, plus other attractions in town.

Overall, the hotel it extremely stylish, with sumptuous public areas, and very relaxing. The staff are very friendly and very numerous, and we witnessed no cases of staff being rude, as quoted in some reviews. We would have no problem returning, or even calling in for dinner or afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms offer the best view, Classic rooms may be quieter as they are not facing the local Mosq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    193
    87
    53
    52
See reviews for
172
528
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

have been to many hotels around the world, but this hotel, by far, is the most luxurious and beautiful hotel I have stayed at thus far. Not only is the service impeccable, the restaurants (we went to the Italian Restaurant twice) excellent, the breakfast buffet more than you can ever ask for in a tasteful appearance,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Originally we went for drinks in the Winston Churchill bar with a Jazz singer with friends who were staying there, however on discovering the outside terrace we went out there. Very romantic and exotic but strangely sterile after the beautiful old hotel. The renovation costs millions and its well done, but has removed the authentic character, the same story as Raffles Singapore. Having motivated ourselves to get there - usual Marrakesh taxi overpricing nightmare ;-( we were up for a sophisticated cocktail.. after initial shock of the price around £30 a glass.... YIP twice London prices.! After all we are on a romantic evening with friends so we go ahead. Waitress fine, very attentive, we order nibbles, that all went well, after two hours we got hungry and thats when problems started. So in a 5 star hotel there shouldn't be problems with getting a table in an empty restaurant at 10pm. ? to cut a long story short, the Manager was called, he was rude, and after an argument we finally got dinner. For this is appalling treatment for a guest and member of LHW or and after an initial bar bill of £120... shan't be returning - dont know how much dinner was but imagine it was about 500£ for 4.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We didnt stay at this hotel but after Sex & The City wanted to go and have a look.
They offer a day spa package that allows you to use the pool and spa facilities all day for £90.

Its well worth it beautiful pool/ spa gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed in luxury hotels all over the world and never had a more beautiful guest room. This entire hotel is magnificent and so are the grounds. I tried all of the restaurants too and all were fantastic. This is one of the great hotel and hotel experience in the world. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

La Mamounia is both a Marrakech icon and a display case for the talents of the wonderful Jacques Garcia. It is also, incidentally, the home of what I believe to be the world's largest tray of dates. The decor is a little more subdued than Jacques Garcia's other Marrakech work at the Selman, but still gorgeous. And the hotel has an amazing pool and possibly the world's most beautiful spa. It more than earns its place on neilsonparc's hotel lust list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Whilst staying in Marrakech, a trip to La Mamounia for cocktails is a must! The hotel is stunning, the staff are attentive and the bar's luxurious. I'd done a bit of research before the holiday and I had heard incredible things about the Winston Churchill bar. Mood lighting, leopard print and black fringing, it is reminiscent of a brooding gentlemen's club. The cocktails are expensive (4 cocktails between us & a taxi ride home was about £70) but for the experience whilst in the city, it is a must. We had a couple of amazing mojitos in the bar and wanting to explore further, we were led (by recommendation of the staff) to the Italian Bar. Vastly different from the Churchill Bar, we were transported to high ceilings, intimate lighting & cosy booths. After a perfectly made Cosmopolitan, the staff called our taxi for us & we made our way back to our riad after a glamorous Moroccan evening!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#57 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#87 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#103 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#112 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.