We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 4 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

have been to many hotels around the world, but this hotel, by far, is the most luxurious and beautiful hotel I have stayed at thus far. Not only is the service impeccable, the restaurants (we went to the Italian Restaurant twice) excellent, the breakfast buffet more than you can ever ask for in a tasteful appearance,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    445
    122
    55
    41
    41
See reviews for
100
341
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Originally we went for drinks in the Winston Churchill bar with a Jazz singer with friends who were staying there, however on discovering the outside terrace we went out there. Very romantic and exotic but strangely sterile after the beautiful old hotel. The renovation costs millions and its well done, but has removed the authentic character, the same story as Raffles Singapore. Having motivated ourselves to get there - usual Marrakesh taxi overpricing nightmare ;-( we were up for a sophisticated cocktail.. after initial shock of the price around £30 a glass.... YIP twice London prices.! After all we are on a romantic evening with friends so we go ahead. Waitress fine, very attentive, we order nibbles, that all went well, after two hours we got hungry and thats when problems started. So in a 5 star hotel there shouldn't be problems with getting a table in an empty restaurant at 10pm. ? to cut a long story short, the Manager was called, he was rude, and after an argument we finally got dinner. For this is appalling treatment for a guest and member of LHW or and after an initial bar bill of £120... shan't be returning - dont know how much dinner was but imagine it was about 500£ for 4.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We didnt stay at this hotel but after Sex & The City wanted to go and have a look.
They offer a day spa package that allows you to use the pool and spa facilities all day for £90.

Its well worth it beautiful pool/ spa gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed in luxury hotels all over the world and never had a more beautiful guest room. This entire hotel is magnificent and so are the grounds. I tried all of the restaurants too and all were fantastic. This is one of the great hotel and hotel experience in the world. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

La Mamounia is both a Marrakech icon and a display case for the talents of the wonderful Jacques Garcia. It is also, incidentally, the home of what I believe to be the world's largest tray of dates. The decor is a little more subdued than Jacques Garcia's other Marrakech work at the Selman, but still gorgeous. And the hotel has an amazing pool and possibly the world's most beautiful spa. It more than earns its place on neilsonparc's hotel lust list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Whilst staying in Marrakech, a trip to La Mamounia for cocktails is a must! The hotel is stunning, the staff are attentive and the bar's luxurious. I'd done a bit of research before the holiday and I had heard incredible things about the Winston Churchill bar. Mood lighting, leopard print and black fringing, it is reminiscent of a brooding gentlemen's club. The cocktails are expensive (4 cocktails between us & a taxi ride home was about £70) but for the experience whilst in the city, it is a must. We had a couple of amazing mojitos in the bar and wanting to explore further, we were led (by recommendation of the staff) to the Italian Bar. Vastly different from the Churchill Bar, we were transported to high ceilings, intimate lighting & cosy booths. After a perfectly made Cosmopolitan, the staff called our taxi for us & we made our way back to our riad after a glamorous Moroccan evening!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Mamounia lives off its reputation but all is not well inside!

The Hotel is Dark, pretentious and over-priced considering the rooms are so small, dark and difficult to work the lights. We had requested adjacent rooms for our children through our travel agent. When the hotel did not provide this, they charged us 50 Euros per night for an upgrade we didn't want so we could have adjacent rooms, plus an additional 80 euros per night so our 6 year old could sleep in our room instead of next door as he wasn't well. When challenged by our travel agent, the hotel lied that we had requested this upgrade.

Very unhelpful and unaccommodating, we didn't get to our rooms until 10.30pm even though we arrived at 8pm. They refused us any food unless we went to the formal restaurants, we were only allowed room service. No thought for us and our unwell 6 year old, what a terrible start to our holiday!

The food was lovely and the restaurants had great service but VERY OVERPRICED. One lunch for 4 sandwiches, a bottle of water and one ice cream was £180. That is just ridiculous for a light lunch.
The pool was nice but nothing special. We will not be returning to this hotel. Luckily we went on to stay at the Taj Palace which was magnificent. Nothing was too much for them, a wonderful place with fabulous rooms and breathtaking views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia
Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, MrandMrsSmith and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.