We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must have experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A must have experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed in luxury hotels all over the world and never had a more beautiful guest room. This entire hotel is magnificent and so are the grounds. I tried all of the restaurants too and all were fantastic. This is one of the great hotel and hotel experience in the world. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    132
    63
    44
    42
See reviews for
118
379
18
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

La Mamounia is both a Marrakech icon and a display case for the talents of the wonderful Jacques Garcia. It is also, incidentally, the home of what I believe to be the world's largest tray of dates. The decor is a little more subdued than Jacques Garcia's other Marrakech work at the Selman, but still gorgeous. And the hotel has an amazing pool and possibly the world's most beautiful spa. It more than earns its place on neilsonparc's hotel lust list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Whilst staying in Marrakech, a trip to La Mamounia for cocktails is a must! The hotel is stunning, the staff are attentive and the bar's luxurious. I'd done a bit of research before the holiday and I had heard incredible things about the Winston Churchill bar. Mood lighting, leopard print and black fringing, it is reminiscent of a brooding gentlemen's club. The cocktails are expensive (4 cocktails between us & a taxi ride home was about £70) but for the experience whilst in the city, it is a must. We had a couple of amazing mojitos in the bar and wanting to explore further, we were led (by recommendation of the staff) to the Italian Bar. Vastly different from the Churchill Bar, we were transported to high ceilings, intimate lighting & cosy booths. After a perfectly made Cosmopolitan, the staff called our taxi for us & we made our way back to our riad after a glamorous Moroccan evening!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Mamounia lives off its reputation but all is not well inside!

The Hotel is Dark, pretentious and over-priced considering the rooms are so small, dark and difficult to work the lights. We had requested adjacent rooms for our children through our travel agent. When the hotel did not provide this, they charged us 50 Euros per night for an upgrade we didn't want so we could have adjacent rooms, plus an additional 80 euros per night so our 6 year old could sleep in our room instead of next door as he wasn't well. When challenged by our travel agent, the hotel lied that we had requested this upgrade.

Very unhelpful and unaccommodating, we didn't get to our rooms until 10.30pm even though we arrived at 8pm. They refused us any food unless we went to the formal restaurants, we were only allowed room service. No thought for us and our unwell 6 year old, what a terrible start to our holiday!

The food was lovely and the restaurants had great service but VERY OVERPRICED. One lunch for 4 sandwiches, a bottle of water and one ice cream was £180. That is just ridiculous for a light lunch.
The pool was nice but nothing special. We will not be returning to this hotel. Luckily we went on to stay at the Taj Palace which was magnificent. Nothing was too much for them, a wonderful place with fabulous rooms and breathtaking views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First of all, the hotel got an incomparable staff! They are always happy and ready to attend whatever you want!!! When you first arrive in the hotel, they go with you to one of the many sofas in the reception where you can do your checkin sit meanwhile you eat an Marrocos' date.
The pool, is really big, what make it looks its always empty, even if it's full. Some of the best restaurants of Marrakech are inside the hotel, and you don't have to leave unless you wanna eat some 'real Marrocos' food'. The rooms are big and comfortable, and they leaved everyday some different fruits in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel with exceptional food and service. Check in could not have been smoother. It took a while to figure out the high tech switches in the room - but the finished and design could not have been better. Wonderful balcony overlooking the garden made it a true treat. Room service and food at the hotel was exceptional. Location is also wonderful and within walking distance of the market and souks.

Room Tip: Get a balcony on the central garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Was told this was the only hotel to stay in when visiting Marrakech and I wasn't disappointed.Upon arrival while waiting to check in I was presented with a silver platter of dates and milk before being taken to my room (A Deluxe) which was delivered in traditional Moroccan styling with views of the park and grounds which again were fantastic.
If I was being picky I could say that the bathrooms were quite dark as the lighting was minimal but sitting on the balcony with a drink at sunset soon made me forget such a minor detail.
The hotel itself is located perfectly next to a beautiful park and only a 10 minute walk to the huge bustling markets however English speaking drivers are available at all hours of the day to take you wherever you need to go should it be further afield.
Good sized indoor and outdoor pool and the spa had a nice selection of treatments too.
Visited the Churchill bar one evening where they had a jazz singer who was excellent and even when I got too drunk and ended up naked in the hotel pool the staff were still friendly and polite to me even though clearly it wasn't the kind of place for that behaviour!
All things considered I would definitely recommend this hotel however it is on the upper end of the price scale but for me delivered well and for a few days a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#58 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.