We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Marrakech Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional Marrakech Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel with exceptional food and service. Check in could not have been smoother. It took a while to figure out the high tech switches in the room - but the finished and design could not have been better. Wonderful balcony overlooking the garden made it a true treat. Room service and food at the hotel was exceptional. Location is also wonderful and within walking distance of the market and souks.

Room Tip: Get a balcony on the central garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    137
    64
    45
    42
See reviews for
126
394
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Was told this was the only hotel to stay in when visiting Marrakech and I wasn't disappointed.Upon arrival while waiting to check in I was presented with a silver platter of dates and milk before being taken to my room (A Deluxe) which was delivered in traditional Moroccan styling with views of the park and grounds which again were fantastic.
If I was being picky I could say that the bathrooms were quite dark as the lighting was minimal but sitting on the balcony with a drink at sunset soon made me forget such a minor detail.
The hotel itself is located perfectly next to a beautiful park and only a 10 minute walk to the huge bustling markets however English speaking drivers are available at all hours of the day to take you wherever you need to go should it be further afield.
Good sized indoor and outdoor pool and the spa had a nice selection of treatments too.
Visited the Churchill bar one evening where they had a jazz singer who was excellent and even when I got too drunk and ended up naked in the hotel pool the staff were still friendly and polite to me even though clearly it wasn't the kind of place for that behaviour!
All things considered I would definitely recommend this hotel however it is on the upper end of the price scale but for me delivered well and for a few days a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

When arriving at the imposing gates to the hotel, you know you are somewhere special. No waiting at check-in, we were taken to the lounge and provided with dates and almond milk, while completing the check-in process. Our suite was stunning, with views across the immaculate gardens. We ate at three of the hotel's restaurants. On the first night we enjoyed a relaxed and delicious meal at Le Marocain, complete with wandering musicians. On the second night we tried the French restaurant, which was somewhat lacking in atmosphere. The meal was reasonable, but not outstanding, the exception being the calorific and magnificent chocolate soufflé. On our last night we had a memorable evening in the Italian restaurant, simply perfect. The gym was perfectly situated in the centre of the gardens and made working out a visual treat. The staff in the hotel are charming, helpful but not at all overbearing, from the waiters to the pool staff and the housekeepers. We loved the hotel's cachet, its location and will definitely return as soon as my wallet has recovered. Unforgettable

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Mamounia is excellent - as everyone will tell you. It is a stunning property close to the main square giving it the best location. It has beautiful gardens, huge swimming pool and a comfortable heated swimming pool too. When you enter the Mamounia you feel the grandeur and pomp immediately. The staff and the guests - all walk around in style. The experience is unique and special and makes you feel very grand. The reason why I have stated it as average is given below.

For one, the price they charge is too much for what they offer. Even though we wrote to them months in advance and stated that we were a honeymoon couple, they made no concessions and offered us no incentives or anything special for the honeymoon couple. Further, their very high price did not even include breakfast. Breakfast came at a very high additional price of 350 MAD - though the food was good it was not worth the price. At the price they charge, breakfast should have been included - it is a mere basic. Of all the hotels we stayed at during our Honeymoon, the Mamounia was the only one that offered us nothing additional for being a honeymoon couple which was very disappointing for us.

Another small problem we faced was that the person who came to clean our room, he would throw away things that belonged to us. For example, my almost over face cream packet and nutella jar. Both had a little left at the bottom - however, the staff self-decided that he should discard this and he did! It was very annoying and nothing was done about it when we complained.

Food in the restaurants and the room service was excellent. The tagines we had at the Mamounia were by far the best. Their spa was simply fantastic and we went there twice during the 4 days we stayed there. The spa staff was super nice and friendly and the spa treatments were fantastic.

We only wish the Mamounia had surprised us with better deals for our honeymoon!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floors, facing the garden/swimming pool or a room facing the Hassan Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The most amazing and relaxing and beautiful hotel ever!!! The gardens are just magnificent and service is superb, really 5 star!! Bedrooms are incredible and the whole ambience just calm and serene! We were on a business trip so didnt pay for extras but I know how expensive it is! Sitting by the pool in the sunshine was heavenly. Great location!

Room Tip: Get a room high up in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Very good on the eye but price wise is too expensive. Beautiful rooms, amazing pool, beautiful gardens, average restaurant, very poor food and ridiculously overpriced at the bars. Staff nice but not 5 stars efficient: overall very prices price not justified.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I can not wait to be back to Marrakech so I can experience the most amazing stay of our travels.
We have not travel the whole world yet, however I am certain that La Mamounia is the one of the best hotel ever. We have booked suit because our daughter was with us as well , it was stunningly done , decorated huge apartment. From the gardens to the swimming pool, spa to the shops everything is extra ordinary quality. Not one but two Michelin starred restaurants french and Italian. Our favored was the Italian one " Don Alfonso". Live Jazz at the bar also at highest quality, in fact the piano player was one of the best I have ever heard. The traditional Moroccan musicians around the various places of the hotel followed the same quality. The gym at the heart of the gardens is world class. And the pastry shop is a must to drop in at least to see!!
Yes it is pricy but all worth it. If you can effort it do not hesitate.

My only disappointment is that the hotel has a literature festival they sponsor and organize and I had requested details for next one but never received it.!! ??

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.