We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reassuringly Luxurious and Expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Reassuringly Luxurious and Expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

When arriving at the imposing gates to the hotel, you know you are somewhere special. No waiting at check-in, we were taken to the lounge and provided with dates and almond milk, while completing the check-in process. Our suite was stunning, with views across the immaculate gardens. We ate at three of the hotel's restaurants. On the first night we enjoyed a relaxed and delicious meal at Le Marocain, complete with wandering musicians. On the second night we tried the French restaurant, which was somewhat lacking in atmosphere. The meal was reasonable, but not outstanding, the exception being the calorific and magnificent chocolate soufflé. On our last night we had a memorable evening in the Italian restaurant, simply perfect. The gym was perfectly situated in the centre of the gardens and made working out a visual treat. The staff in the hotel are charming, helpful but not at all overbearing, from the waiters to the pool staff and the housekeepers. We loved the hotel's cachet, its location and will definitely return as soon as my wallet has recovered. Unforgettable

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    149
    67
    46
    44
See reviews for
131
411
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Mamounia is excellent - as everyone will tell you. It is a stunning property close to the main square giving it the best location. It has beautiful gardens, huge swimming pool and a comfortable heated swimming pool too. When you enter the Mamounia you feel the grandeur and pomp immediately. The staff and the guests - all walk around in style. The experience is unique and special and makes you feel very grand. The reason why I have stated it as average is given below.

For one, the price they charge is too much for what they offer. Even though we wrote to them months in advance and stated that we were a honeymoon couple, they made no concessions and offered us no incentives or anything special for the honeymoon couple. Further, their very high price did not even include breakfast. Breakfast came at a very high additional price of 350 MAD - though the food was good it was not worth the price. At the price they charge, breakfast should have been included - it is a mere basic. Of all the hotels we stayed at during our Honeymoon, the Mamounia was the only one that offered us nothing additional for being a honeymoon couple which was very disappointing for us.

Another small problem we faced was that the person who came to clean our room, he would throw away things that belonged to us. For example, my almost over face cream packet and nutella jar. Both had a little left at the bottom - however, the staff self-decided that he should discard this and he did! It was very annoying and nothing was done about it when we complained.

Food in the restaurants and the room service was excellent. The tagines we had at the Mamounia were by far the best. Their spa was simply fantastic and we went there twice during the 4 days we stayed there. The spa staff was super nice and friendly and the spa treatments were fantastic.

We only wish the Mamounia had surprised us with better deals for our honeymoon!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floors, facing the garden/swimming pool or a room facing the Hassan Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The most amazing and relaxing and beautiful hotel ever!!! The gardens are just magnificent and service is superb, really 5 star!! Bedrooms are incredible and the whole ambience just calm and serene! We were on a business trip so didnt pay for extras but I know how expensive it is! Sitting by the pool in the sunshine was heavenly. Great location!

Room Tip: Get a room high up in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Very good on the eye but price wise is too expensive. Beautiful rooms, amazing pool, beautiful gardens, average restaurant, very poor food and ridiculously overpriced at the bars. Staff nice but not 5 stars efficient: overall very prices price not justified.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I can not wait to be back to Marrakech so I can experience the most amazing stay of our travels.
We have not travel the whole world yet, however I am certain that La Mamounia is the one of the best hotel ever. We have booked suit because our daughter was with us as well , it was stunningly done , decorated huge apartment. From the gardens to the swimming pool, spa to the shops everything is extra ordinary quality. Not one but two Michelin starred restaurants french and Italian. Our favored was the Italian one " Don Alfonso". Live Jazz at the bar also at highest quality, in fact the piano player was one of the best I have ever heard. The traditional Moroccan musicians around the various places of the hotel followed the same quality. The gym at the heart of the gardens is world class. And the pastry shop is a must to drop in at least to see!!
Yes it is pricy but all worth it. If you can effort it do not hesitate.

My only disappointment is that the hotel has a literature festival they sponsor and organize and I had requested details for next one but never received it.!! ??

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited the hotel with a view to staying. We had a look about. One can see it is a plush hotel, in a slightly dated way but it was very dark in all the lounges and restaurants. We had a light lunch outside on the terrace, 2 small bottles of water and one mozzarella panini, total 430dhs (£35) which we thought was a lot. It was nice, but I think you are being charged for where you are. Compared to The Four Seasons , Marrakech which is the same level of 5 star hotel, I would rather stay there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed just one night at La Mamounia, and had a wonderful experience. We were in room 344, which was lovely, views out over the garden and to the Atlas Mountains in the distance. We are LHW members, and were upgraded to this room when we arrived, and we were delighted to find a chilled bottle of champagne in the room when we were taken in. The room was very comfortable, more or less an L shape with the long part being a lounge and the short bit the bedroom, opening into an opulent (and huge) bathroom wall to wall marble, deep clawfoot tub, huge walk in shower and separate toilet and bidet. The room was opulent, the service attentive and the attention to detail ensured we had a great experience. We had a room service dinner, which was very good, and enjoyed a drink at the Italian Bar. The only glitch was that the internet service was very poor, and attention to addressing the problem was not great, as I had to report the problem a second time before anyone came to have a look. Eventually the problem was blamed on Maroc Telecom, which for all I know may have been true. All in all, La Mamounia was a nice treat after a week in a rather more rustic setting.

Room Tip: Aim for a view to the Atlas Mountains, it's a wonderful vista to look out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#58 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LHW, Venere, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.