We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having just returned from La Mamounia I feel compelled to write this review. This was my first trip to the hotel and sadly my last. The standard of food and service are not that of a five star hotel. Our room (Aqbal Delux) was pleasant, however we were unable to open our terrace doors as the carpet was in the way and the lighting was poor. Considering the hotel has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment, I was rather surprised. Our dinner in Le Morrocan restaurant was very disappointing. We were sat opposite a serving station, food very average and ridiculously expensive. One glass of Champagne £30.00. Snacks by the pool were a disgrace, a sandwich served on burn't toast with one key ingrediant missing. It was sent back twice, cost £23.00 (approx) and no apology given. The Spa was average and the staff offhand.
Having said all this, the hotel is well located, breakfast was good and the gardens are lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the swimming pool are quiet and have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    151
    69
    46
    44
See reviews for
132
416
22
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed elsewhere.....but walked in for afternoon tea one day when we were walking from the new city to the old city. It is a grand hotel - not really my style - a bit stuffy - but it's a must see. We walked to the outdoor area in the gardens to have a snack and drink and it was truly beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very Expensive but a real 5***** Deluxe according to Int'l norms, with real value, excellent service with entertainment, excellent quality of food, rooms, location, view. For Travelers seeking the taste of excellence, i have been to this hotel several times, my friends just came back from their trip. Recommended

Room Tip: Expensive but 5***** Deluxe according to Int'l norms, all rooms are high quality , location, vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel was beyond my pocket to stay, but still well worth visiting just for afternoon tea or drinks on the garden terrace. Unsurpassed luxury. Beautiful large lush walled gardens, so peaceful, Go reasonably dressed and you will be welcomed, The hotel has standards (no need for a tie, but no scruffs in jeans and tea shirts!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed with my husband for a couple of nights and loved it. Set in the lushest green garden the hotel is a cool mix of old-fashioned splendour and luxury. I was in love with our room, which had the most divine view of the palmeraie. Service matched the prices and was superiour. We only ate at the hotel one evening and had a delicious meal and wine at Le Italien - what a treat. But having stayed here years ago I must agree with others that it's lost some of it's draw.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I visited Marrakech last weekend and stayed at a nice Riad in the Medina, but we soon tired of the filth and madness of the Medina. Having visited the Jardins Majorelle (disappointing) and walked for miles trying to find somewhere nice for lunch, I snapped, bundled hubby into a cab and high-tailed it to La Mamounia!
How pleased I am that we did! We decided to forgoe the Sunday brunch at £100 per head and opted for a meal on the terrace. We had a blissful beer and gin and tonic (nectar!) and a lovely cheeseburger in a beautiful, peaceful garden setting with smiling and attentive staff. It was such a change from what we had experienced in the rest of Marrakech that we stayed all afternoon! £75 well spent.
If we are ever mad enough to visit Marrakech again, this is where we will stay!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is spectacular! The service at the restaurant and the spa were really great. The massage was not the best, but the experience in the spa was great. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. I recommend trying the huge dates in the lobby. They are sweeter than all other dates that we had in Morocco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LHW, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.