We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“when a dream becomes true...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Paris
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“when a dream becomes true...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I could write anything it could never describe well enough the beauty of this hotel.... It is just beyond good...
We booked a transfer from the airport and we were escorted from the security to the Jaguar of the Hotel - AMAZING
We arrived at the hotel that from outside looked AMAZING
We were welcomed with dates and milk to do the checking AMAZING
We arrived in our room with the view on the pool and the Atlas AMAZING
The whole room was AMAZING
Next day breakfast was AMAZING (the best breakfast I had so far in my life ever: huge choice you could eat for 3 hours and you would still not taste everything)
Location: AMAZING
We had dinner at the Moroccan restaurant: AMAZING

I am sorry to put so many "amazing" in my review but I cannot find any other terms to describe it...it's a legend, it's a dream coming true

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    137
    64
    45
    42
See reviews for
127
394
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a goergous place!!!! We stayed for a night, had a normal size room.. it was small but really pretty, super clean and the bed was soo comfortable!
Service was really good, location as well.. You can walk to go to the souks, and other popular places around.
Breakfast was SO good!!! Its pricy but its reallllly good! Big selection of fresh fruits, breads, pastry, cereals, nuts and seeds, fresh juices, etc.

They have 3 restaurants in the hotel. One french, one italien and one morrocan. We tried the Morrocan one and WOW, the best dinner of the week! It was really tasty and the food and ambiance was just perfect. The restaurant has a real morrocan style, its really nice.
They also have a nice lobby and bar, a BEAUTIFUL garden! Wow, I was really impress! Orange trees, beautiful flowers, a real garden where they grow their own salads, herbs and vegetables..

Their spa is really nice.. We had a hammam and a massage and it was really luxury and nice. Very clean as well..
They also have a nice interior gym, in the garden, and another one in the spa, where you also have an indoor pool and jacuzzi.

Its pricy yes, but it was such a beautiful and memorable experience. We will always remember. We stayed one night and it was just enough to experiment!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Four days at La Mamounia were absolutely delightful except it took forever to check in. A whole hour and a hald wasted waiting for the staff to get their act together. The rooms are lovely but the Deluxe rooms are small for two. They are beautifully done. The junior suites are much nicer especially on a higher floor overlooking the pool over to the Atlas mountains. Avoid the street side which is noisy. Service is patchy - at times great (at the pool restaurant) at times painfully slow (at the bar)- but all in all staff is very friendly if not always sure what they are doing. The Mamounia gardens are legendary and rightly so. Check out the tea pavillion and walk along the paths. The pool is exquisite and the pool restaurant for breakfast and lunch is truly exceptional. The guide provided by the hotel for the souks was not very helpful or necessary.
Marrakech is great and worth several visits.

Room Tip: Get a room toward the garden, upgrade to a junior suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently had to go to Morocco for business and I stayed at the La Mamounia Luxury Hotel. The service and hospitality were outstandingly good and the food was wonderfully delicious. The décor of the hotel is so amazing that it can be termed as out of this world. It is so beautiful that you have to see it to believe it. It was a business trip so I didn’t get to do much sightseeing but I’m so impressed with this place that I’m going to come back here soon for a vacation with my family and yes we will surely be staying at the La Mamounia Luxury Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezzo, Italy
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

To be honest I cannot fault anything in this amazing place. Great staff and service , fantastic well groomed gardens all quite too perfect, average guests age 60 years old , so at 46 we were by far the younger there, so webbed out and went in a small Riad in the medina!
I don't think u can really experience Marrakech unless you try the caos and madness of the old town

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just had four nights at la mamounia and felt very blessed to be able to stay there.
Thankfully we upgraded our room on arrival as the first one offered overlooked the very noisy road, to a room with a balcony and garden and atlas mountain view, definitely worth the extra spend.
Our first morning was spent taking breakfast by the lake sized swimming pool, and a very nice way to kick the day off. Breakfast didn't disappoint, with vast choices of fresh fruit, pastries, breads, cold meats, cheeses and of course eggs and bacon too. We then went on a half day tour of Marrakech with a la mamounia guide. This could have been so great, but sadly the only disappointing part of our stay. Our guide, Ben, was lovely but seemed more intent on taking us to his 'mates' shops who tried their hardest to sell us carpets and tables that we had zero interest in. All we wanted to do was see the sights! But sadly we spent most of our time inside shops feeling gulilty and embarrased that we were not buying. This is pretty standard practise in marakesh but I would have expected a guide from la mamounia to be a bit different.
On a more positive note we spent a fantastic few hours with one of the head chefs, who showed us not only how to cook but took us on a tour down under. Because at la mamounia all the activity is down below, with most of the 700 staff busily beavering away, cooking, doing laundry and so on. At la mamounia they make everything, their own bread, yoghurt, cakes, croissants, jams, ice cream, stocks etc.
I also really enjoyed the spa, had my first hamman ever which was an experience, and one of the best massages I've ever had.
On a final note, the staff and service is the best I've ever experienced, what a lovely lot they are.
Really hope to come back soon, maybe with our children next time.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking gardens and or the swimming pool. Pay the extra it's well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a place to stay! Awesome luxury,incredible facilities. We had great service, excellent food - there is a dress code but for residents it didn't seem to be enforced too severely - my point being that if I pay to stay there I want to be able to wear what I like rather than what they tell me; but standards are maintained so you won't get into the bars or restaurants in the evenings in shorts, but then you don't in any decent hotel these days.

Our room was great too, in the main ground floor corridor, no problems at all. The Churchill Bar was good, as was the normal bar and the Italian restaurant. Don't really understand why people moan about the prices - this is one of the foremost hotels in the world and our room tab for two nights including dinner and drinks was less than £400 which I thought was a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.