We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the hotel and four porters opened the double doors we knew this place was going to be fabulous. Our guest relations representative Salah was a delight, we had booked a gourmet package over three days and had to arrange an itinerary to fit it all in. Our package included two evening meals one in the moroccan restaurant the other in the Italian. A Moroccan tea ritual where we were taught how to make mint tea with green tea. A hammam and a massage. A guided tour of Marrakech with a guide who has shown prime ministers and presidents around ( and apparently Brad Pitt). But the best bit was a two hour cookery lesson with the Michelin starred French chef and then we ate lunch at the restaurant and ate the food he showed us how to cook.
The hotel itself was beautiful. The gardens are fabulous and very relaxing and quiet considering the hotel is so near all the hustle and bustle. The level of service is fantastic. Our room was sumptuous and felt very authentic with tiled Walls. The music in the Italian bar and the Churchill bar was great. The ambience in the hotel at all times was just right. The spa and indoor pool is absolutely fabulous. The outside pool is vast. We were never "spa people" but as this package came with the hammam and massage we went with the flow. I can honestly say that both myself and my husband are now converts.
This hotel is a true world class five star hotel. It's like the Dorchester but with better service.
This is an expensive hotel but I've stayed in hotels which are similar in cost and not had as good an experience as here. So if you're looking for a hotel in an interesting location with fabulous food excellent service and great facilities. This is the place.

It's an expensive hotel

Room Tip: The rooms facing the gardens and pool look out to the atlas mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    175
    76
    51
    48
See reviews for
154
482
24
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Lovely hotel, worth every penny.
Hotel car pick up from airport can be a bit tricky, so make sure you inform flight details & terminal you arrive very very clearly. Ended up waiting 1 hour & 45 minutes for the car, and after a 5 hour flight, not so pleasant. Had to call the hotel 3 times to sort it out for the driver to find me.
The italian restaurant is amazing & the chef made me a zabaione that wasn't on the menu. Very much appreciated.
Don't reply on the concierge restaurant recommendations though, do your homework before hand.
Breakfast is out of this world, anyone from anywhere in the world would be happy
Hotel spa is lovely ...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is heaven in earth, I wish the prices were lower so evereyone can enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

...how much are you prepared to pay for a night or two? There is no doubt that this is a spectacular hotel...the restaurants are top of the line...the pool area fantastic and the buffet they set up beside it at lunch, just blows of away...spectacular also the garden and the fitness area (I was told). The room was nice and cosy with just the right amount of oriental atmosphere...when we entered there was an arangement of fresh fruit and i picked a pear. It was the best pear I have ever had in my life...it was like tasting a totally new fruit. I also visited Sir Winston Churchill's room who usually spent some days here in the winter months..the rooms still smells of his cigar...which I found was a well done little gimmick. So back to the initial question. If you can afford it, by all means....but if you are somewhat tight and in need of your back-up credit card....don't, cause it is no fun if you have to sit by the pool drinking water from the bottle you brought along while next to you they are having GinTonics, olives and salted peanuts. There is however still one more alternative: Do it like we did and find someone very nice and generous that invites you!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I had heard La Mamounia's reputation as a must see destination. and whilst staying in Marrakech we chose to pay a visit. It really is a stylish and exclusive hotel so I an intrigued by some of the comments here. I wouldnt have dreamed of asking to be shown around, rather we were welcomed into the lobbly bar, bought our cocktails and then the waiter kindly carried our drinks to the Churchill bar . On the way he pointed out all of the architecture of the hotel and the boutiques. It was a delightful experience and he treated us very well. As we left I told the wonderful doorman that I would love to come back " You will come back , this is your home " he said with a flourish. Fabulous!! I like to think that I can appreciate and value the finer things in life, though sadly I can't really afford them. High prices are designed to keep out people like me I guess. If I was uber wealthy I wouldnt want people like me prowling around either :O) I would think thats why they charge £150 for lunch, otherwise we'd all be in there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We were here for 4 nights on a winter weekend break away from London. While the nights can be cool, it was never cold and the warm sunny days only 3 hours flight away from London make this place the perfect getaway even if you are not interested in all the sights and charms of Marrakech itself. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the center of the Jma el Fina square - a world heritage site.The hotel is a destination unto itself and is as exquisite as the hype suggests. It oozes luxury from the moment you pass through the well-guarded gates into the cosseted grounds of the walled estate and Moorish-styled with a splash of art-deco hotel beyond. The service is impeccable. Hotel employees are obviously handpicked for their good looks as much as their ability to converse fluently in English, Arabic and French. The hotel is set in beautiful private gardens and the 40 foot walls of the ancient medina that border the hotel effectively keep the paparazzi, general busy-bodies and sightseers and tourist rif raf out while ensuring exclusivity and privacy within. The Moroccan restaurant in its own building on the hotel’s estate is beautiful with great fresh local food and service to match. The gym, also in its own separate building next to several tennis courts, is huge and better equipped than most gyms you would probably belong to back home. The hotel’s spa is by far the most beautiful and luxurious I have ever seen, and that’s saying something! It’s worth staying here just for the spa! The pool is huge and you will always find a sun bed amongst the verdant tropical greenery tucked away from the tall, slim, chain smoking bikini-clad French ladies-who-lunch, who each look like they have stepped out of French Vogue with matching perfectly styled children and husband in tow. The rooms are large, dark, comfortable and well accessorised in the luxury amenities you would expect in a hotel of this standard. Sleeping in may not be possible though as the Imams call to prayer at sunrise can be heard as loud as if the guy was standing next to you in your room. Nevertheless, staying here truly makes you feel like you are a special guest of the royal family in a Moroccan palace. However, all of this comes at a price that makes one feel somewhat uneasy about committing to a return visit in a time of belt tightening and recession. Needless to say, it is eye-wateringly expensive. How those beautiful French guests can afford it, especially after an economic downgrade in their homeland, is beyond me! Breakfast at Euro 100 per person and lunch at around Euro 130 per person excluding tip is, frankly, a shock if not expecting it - considering the monthly wage of the average hotel worker (which I suspect is several multiples of workers outside the hotel gate). Bar cocktails start at Euro 18 each. As part of a party of 10 people in 5 rooms celebrating a birthday on this trip, we asked the hotel to book a minibus to take us to a pre-arranged dinner at a restaurant in town. The price was Pounds Sterling 50 each way for a 5-minute ride or a distance we could have walked in 15 minutes! To top it all off, our final night's experience in the hotel’s fine dining French restaurant was not a happy one. We attempted to make reservations for 8.30 pm but were told we had to come at 7pm as the restaurant was fully booked – In fact, the restaurant was mostly empty until after 9 pm, and even then it was hardly full. Then the female French restaurant manager said that they could not accommodate all of us at a single table and we would be split into 2 tables of six. When we said we would go elsewhere, all of a sudden it became possible for us to all sit together. Not quite the service expected or appreciated at the prices we were paying. However, this was the only sour note of an otherwise wholly enjoyable and pampered few days. My advice – avoid the French restaurant here… the food isn’t worth the prices anyway. To sum up, I share the sentiment of many of the earlier reviewers of this hotel. It is a big luxury to stay here and the prices ensure that it will remain the exclusive domain of the privileged few. Only come here if money is not an object as the beautiful hotel and the luxurious pampering and service is a wonderful treat. Don’t complain about the hotel’s apparent “nickel and dime-ing” and outrageous and apparent unjustifiable prices if that matters to you - you have been warned! This is definitely an experience of a lifetime for most of us in an exclusive domain of the rich and famous.

Room Tip: It's all good here. Be prepared to max out your credit card and if staying in a larger room ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

La Mamounia is either great fun, or simply overwhelming; you just need to approach it with a sense of humour and relax into it.

The service is amazing, the food is excellent, the rooms are beautiful and absolutely sparkling clean! On the other hand, it is far too expensive, the incredible service can be overbearing if you aren't used to it, and some of the other guests are a little snooty.

If you approach it as an experience and relax into it, it is immensely fun. All your needs and cares will be taken care of. It was the first time I've been completely relaxed and forgotten the stress of normal life within a day of arriving on holiday.

Do make friends with the representative from "Guest services" who welcomes you - they are incredibly helpful.

Room Tip: Go for something facing the gardens on the 1st floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#116 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LHW, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith and Despegar.com so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.