We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Marocain Restaurant: The Best Moroccan Food, Ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“La Marocain Restaurant: The Best Moroccan Food, Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We couldn't find many reviews of La Marocain, the Moroccan restaurant at La Mamounia. But I checked with a Moroccan friend of mine and she said it has the most amazing food.. and amazing it was!!

The hotel itself has some impressive public spaces and a fitting aperitif before dinner should be taken at the Italian bar where there is superb live jazz. After a professionally mixed cosmopolitan, we walked into the gardens, turned left and soon arrived at the separate building that houses La Marocain. Hostesses greeted us warmly and led us to a comfortable ground floor table. The tables are in clusters of pairs in separate alcoves, which makes it all very relaxed.

The restaurant decor is divine. Traditional tiles on the floors, beautiful arches, high ceiling with 2 floors for dining, and great traditional music from a local trio (the come and play to you in your table too). Service is also good with adequate amounts of attention, and detailed explanation of the dishes.

But the food.. the food is just superb. I have eaten in many Norther African restaurants around the world, but here it's in a different league.. or on the highest stratosphere! The menu is extensive with traditional dishes (much more than the ubiquitous couscous and tagine!) and also new interpretations of old favorites. We ordered the mix starters and we tasted nearly 30 little dishes from lamb brains (sounds bizarre but is amazingly creamy), to lamb liver (tender and well spiced) to pickled raw vegetables. For the main courses, we have a poussin/baby chicken tagine that was expertly deboned and tender beyond belief, and a strange giant ravioli stuffed with lentils and chicken (think: giant dim sum dumpling but tastier!!). Portions were so large that 4 could have feasted on our meal for 2!

Prices are high high high in this restaurant but you get what you pay for: QUALITY! The wine list is peppered with delicious local wines (we drank a lovely local red that is reminiscent of a top end Pinor Noir from California). And service, music, and ambience are of the highest standards.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

this hotel is just divine.the food is to die for and staff are friendly,its set behind high walls with the rustic red colour of marrakech before you enter the enchanted gardens that lead you round the hotel.iv been to marrakech a few times and anyone who stay here will not be disappointed.its a elegant and beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: this hotel will not fail to impress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Arriving at this hotel getting out of a taxi on the street is a bit under-whelming. Once through the gate you see the hotel entrance proper and get a feel for what the rest of the hotel will be like. Check-in was efficient with dates and milk offered while the paper work was done. The public areas are rather dark but that does not seem out of keeping with the style of the hotel which seems intended to be like an arabian place.

I was upgraded to deluxe Katoubia view room that was located near the end of one of the first floor corridors. First impressions of the room were very good. Although not particularly spacious, it had clearly been recently renovated in a style that gave it a character lacking in many hotels. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. A small verandah is equipped with a table and chairs giving a view of the Katoubia mosque. This side of the hotel only gets direct sun in the morning. The only downside of the room was the shower that is located in a small alcove near the bath. Spray from the shower will soak anything in the bathroom so keep stuff you want to stay dry in the bedroom.

Food and beverage wise, drinks ($20 for a gin and tonic, $10 for a beer) are available on the smallish outside terrace and the main bar that is located next to it. Service can sometimes be a bit slow. The restaurants all have a good choice of high quality dishes - with prices to match. Wine starts at $50 a bottle. Probably the best experience was breakfast. This is served by the pool with choice from a very extensive buffet of hot and cold dishes ($45).

The highlight of the hotel is the immaculately kept and extensive grounds including orange groves and a kitchen garden. It is possible to escape some of the noise near the pool by using the sun-loungers in one of the orange groves.

This 'grande dame' of Marrakech lives up to its reputation. As is the case with other 5 star properties, you will need fairly deep pockets but it is certainly worth experincing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ma02202014c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

La Mamounia is probably the most iconic hotel of Marrakech, up there with the Negresco in Nice, the Imperial in Delhi or the Mount Nelson in Cape Town, to name just a few. The hotel lies in the Medina, the old heart of Marrakech, with its expansive garden bordered by one of the city walls. The Koutoubia and Place Jemaa el Fnaa are just a 10 minute walk away, as well as the modern city outside the walls. Great location, in short.
Once inside, you'll find lobby and reception with all food options and the spa left and right of this central area. The decoration is plush, with lots of very cozy seats, cushions and thick carpets. There is not much lighting, so some people might find it a bit dark.
Behind the building is an immense, manicured garden with the pool, the breakfast restaurant, tennis courts, fitness centre and a 'potager' where all herbs and vegetables for use in the hotel's kitchen are grown.
Rooms are located in both wings, from the ground floor up to the fourth. Rooms on the ground floor are even a bit 'underground', lower than the garden level, and have a patio with access to that garden. Rooms on the higher floors have quite a large balcony ... and the higher you go, the better the view over the garden and the snow capped peaks of the Atlas mountains.
Room decoration is very Morrocan, with marble floors and bathrooms, carpets and walls adorned with colourful glazed tiles. A really wonderful bed, with a large choice of pillows, a deep tub (so deep you can't really lie down ... you're practically sitting up, which is less relaxing), a large rain shower, flatscreen, control over all lights from the bedside table (and no overload of buttons), perfect cleaning (even twice a day, I had the impression) with evening turndown, ...
So where are the "flaws", you probably wonder ? Here they are :
Check-in is from 3 PM, and due to the autumn holidays and the hotel being full, I really had to wait until 3. You know, so that's not an issue ... but it then took four calls to reception and a full hour to get my luggage, just five minutes before I had a meeting outside the hotel.
WiFi is dramatic. There was no network available from the work desk, only from the middle of the bed, or in the sitting area, far away from the plugs. When I managed to get a connection, it soon dropped to 1 mbps, about the speed of an ancient dial-up, before breaking up altogether. Don't forget a network cable, it's absolutely necessary ! Maybe it was because I was on the fourth floor...
On my departure day, the first knock on the door came at 8 am (cleaning). Right out of the shower, I told the lady I'd be leaving at 10 am... but in the space of 2 hours, three other people came in to start cleaning. Finally at 9.55, another lady came in, and I finished packing while she already started cleaning. I really think they wanted me out of room.
Recommended for people who want a luxury hotel with an authentic feel, a refined ambiance and a large range of facilities.

Room Tip: the higher up, the better, so you can enjoy that view over the gardens, right to the mighty Atlas in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gondwanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Outstanding, world class hotel. Sumptuous suites, fabulous decor, fine dining( formal and informal) magnificent grounds, garden and pool. Best Jaz bar in Africa. My wife and I stayed for a week in June. This hotel is up there with the Ritz Paris,the Lanesborough and Claridges London, cobblers cove Barbados and the Saratoga Havana. Expensive but worth every penny.

Room Tip: The suites are worth that little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Expections were high after recent refurbishment, but they were surpassed by large and far; one of top10 hotels in the world, in my (not very) humble opinion. Service, food and locations are top notch. Spa is simply fantastic. An island of peace, tranquillity and civilization in a very overwhelming city, especially if you are travelling with the kids. Even if hotel was fully booked, service was very good. Moroccan restaurant was simply exceptional, and even the poolside buffet restaurant ( for lunch and breakfast) was consistently delivering very good food, although not at a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenguzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

As one other person has written, we were , despite having previously stayed there, yesterday refused entry for an evening drink. Evidently the gate woman didn't like the look of my wifes sandals!
It is a shame that a once gracious place is now so up itself!
We won't try again. Richard davey. --

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#78 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#61 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, MrandMrsSmith and Hotwire so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing