We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Save Saved
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Arriving at this hotel getting out of a taxi on the street is a bit under-whelming. Once through the gate you see the hotel entrance proper and get a feel for what the rest of the hotel will be like. Check-in was efficient with dates and milk offered while the paper work was done. The public areas are rather dark but that does not seem out of keeping with the style of the hotel which seems intended to be like an arabian place.

I was upgraded to deluxe Katoubia view room that was located near the end of one of the first floor corridors. First impressions of the room were very good. Although not particularly spacious, it had clearly been recently renovated in a style that gave it a character lacking in many hotels. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. A small verandah is equipped with a table and chairs giving a view of the Katoubia mosque. This side of the hotel only gets direct sun in the morning. The only downside of the room was the shower that is located in a small alcove near the bath. Spray from the shower will soak anything in the bathroom so keep stuff you want to stay dry in the bedroom.

Food and beverage wise, drinks ($20 for a gin and tonic, $10 for a beer) are available on the smallish outside terrace and the main bar that is located next to it. Service can sometimes be a bit slow. The restaurants all have a good choice of high quality dishes - with prices to match. Wine starts at $50 a bottle. Probably the best experience was breakfast. This is served by the pool with choice from a very extensive buffet of hot and cold dishes ($45).

The highlight of the hotel is the immaculately kept and extensive grounds including orange groves and a kitchen garden. It is possible to escape some of the noise near the pool by using the sun-loungers in one of the orange groves.

This 'grande dame' of Marrakech lives up to its reputation. As is the case with other 5 star properties, you will need fairly deep pockets but it is certainly worth experincing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    137
    64
    45
    42
See reviews for
126
394
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

La Mamounia is probably the most iconic hotel of Marrakech, up there with the Negresco in Nice, the Imperial in Delhi or the Mount Nelson in Cape Town, to name just a few. The hotel lies in the Medina, the old heart of Marrakech, with its expansive garden bordered by one of the city walls. The Koutoubia and Place Jemaa el Fnaa are just a 10 minute walk away, as well as the modern city outside the walls. Great location, in short.
Once inside, you'll find lobby and reception with all food options and the spa left and right of this central area. The decoration is plush, with lots of very cozy seats, cushions and thick carpets. There is not much lighting, so some people might find it a bit dark.
Behind the building is an immense, manicured garden with the pool, the breakfast restaurant, tennis courts, fitness centre and a 'potager' where all herbs and vegetables for use in the hotel's kitchen are grown.
Rooms are located in both wings, from the ground floor up to the fourth. Rooms on the ground floor are even a bit 'underground', lower than the garden level, and have a patio with access to that garden. Rooms on the higher floors have quite a large balcony ... and the higher you go, the better the view over the garden and the snow capped peaks of the Atlas mountains.
Room decoration is very Morrocan, with marble floors and bathrooms, carpets and walls adorned with colourful glazed tiles. A really wonderful bed, with a large choice of pillows, a deep tub (so deep you can't really lie down ... you're practically sitting up, which is less relaxing), a large rain shower, flatscreen, control over all lights from the bedside table (and no overload of buttons), perfect cleaning (even twice a day, I had the impression) with evening turndown, ...
So where are the "flaws", you probably wonder ? Here they are :
Check-in is from 3 PM, and due to the autumn holidays and the hotel being full, I really had to wait until 3. You know, so that's not an issue ... but it then took four calls to reception and a full hour to get my luggage, just five minutes before I had a meeting outside the hotel.
WiFi is dramatic. There was no network available from the work desk, only from the middle of the bed, or in the sitting area, far away from the plugs. When I managed to get a connection, it soon dropped to 1 mbps, about the speed of an ancient dial-up, before breaking up altogether. Don't forget a network cable, it's absolutely necessary ! Maybe it was because I was on the fourth floor...
On my departure day, the first knock on the door came at 8 am (cleaning). Right out of the shower, I told the lady I'd be leaving at 10 am... but in the space of 2 hours, three other people came in to start cleaning. Finally at 9.55, another lady came in, and I finished packing while she already started cleaning. I really think they wanted me out of room.
Recommended for people who want a luxury hotel with an authentic feel, a refined ambiance and a large range of facilities.

Room Tip: the higher up, the better, so you can enjoy that view over the gardens, right to the mighty Atlas in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Outstanding, world class hotel. Sumptuous suites, fabulous decor, fine dining( formal and informal) magnificent grounds, garden and pool. Best Jaz bar in Africa. My wife and I stayed for a week in June. This hotel is up there with the Ritz Paris,the Lanesborough and Claridges London, cobblers cove Barbados and the Saratoga Havana. Expensive but worth every penny.

Room Tip: The suites are worth that little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

Expections were high after recent refurbishment, but they were surpassed by large and far; one of top10 hotels in the world, in my (not very) humble opinion. Service, food and locations are top notch. Spa is simply fantastic. An island of peace, tranquillity and civilization in a very overwhelming city, especially if you are travelling with the kids. Even if hotel was fully booked, service was very good. Moroccan restaurant was simply exceptional, and even the poolside buffet restaurant ( for lunch and breakfast) was consistently delivering very good food, although not at a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

As one other person has written, we were , despite having previously stayed there, yesterday refused entry for an evening drink. Evidently the gate woman didn't like the look of my wifes sandals!
It is a shame that a once gracious place is now so up itself!
We won't try again. Richard davey. --

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I love La Mamounia, it is an amazing and peacfull place, a few hours away from Europe. When you take your breakfast in the garden, you have always little birds around waiting for some food. After lunch or dinner, you can have a walk around the garden, the pool is big enough to do a few laps if you want to exercise a little.
The hotel is considered like one of the mythical palaces in the world, no wonder why so many famous people came and still come there. I heard that Alfred Hitchcok got the idea of the movie The birds there because the birds rushed on his breakfast.
Hope to go there soon again to escape..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

We didn't stay but we did go for a fantastic meal at L'Italien inside La Mamounia. The service was fantastic, even so much as when they saw me pull out my camera in order to take some shots of us they instantly brought over a small side table to leave my camera on.

The food was very memorable and reason enough to want to go back to Marrakesh if nothing else.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.