We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamounia Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Mamounia Marrakech to your Saves list
La Mamounia Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Opulance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

What a place , cool calm and tranquil. The recent refit is spectacular and the huge, huge gardens a delight. Visited on a company trip for a week and loved it . Our room on the 4th floor (top) was great ( albeit a bit low on lighting ) Our balconey looked staright at the palace and down the gardens with a long distance view of the snow capped atlas mountains. These are worth a visit. Fresh friut and water and sheets every day and excellent air con. (35 degrees last week )Have been to Marrakech 3x before but not too this hotel. Highly recommended but a tad expensive (£10 bottle beer by the pool). My partner had a two hour Royal Hammam in the world class spa and loved it .

Room Tip: Visited a small 1st floor suite - superb !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    151
    69
    46
    44
See reviews for
134
417
22
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel is trading on a very good name but on balance we feel it did not live up to our expectations.

After two nights, two room changes and a whole catalogue of annoyances, bad service and various things not working we asked to check out so that we could move to another hotel. They insisted they would charge us for the remaining two nights we had booked. It wasn't until we had kicked up a big fuss that the front office manager conceded not to charge us. We made peace and agreed to change rooms one more time to one where things worked. It was like night and day - for the remainder of our stay staff were polite, attentive and pleasant. We received excellent service and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

If you do decide to book, beware: The showers in the garden rooms are so tiny that your entire bathroom and hall gets flooded. Apart from room service, it is impossible to get a light meal in the evening. The Italian Bar only serves until 6pm. All the other restaurants are extremely pricey. Book on a B&B basis - breakfasts are ridiculously expensive. Ground floor garden rooms look out onto a wooden trellis, blocking the view to the garden. There is precious little privacy. A short knock and staff use their master keys to enter the room. We even had staff walking in unannounced.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The 3 years of renovation have truly paid out. The "Grande Dame" of Marrakech has never been more attractive!

Service was outstanding, rooms are wonderful, Moroccan craftsmanship is everywhere, even the in the shower... The breakfast buffet is a must! The choice is mind boggling.

Rooms are on the small side but very comfortable. But if you're used to space, get a suite.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

My husband and I are frequent travelers and love using AX Platinum's Fine Hotels and Resorts Program. We have heard about La Mamounia for years and thought it would be the highlight of our Morocco vacation. Wrong! The beautiful riads we stayed in were far better. This hotel is totally over-rated and over-priced. It is dark and has no charm. Looks like any other Deluxe hotel in New York City - does not feel like Morocco at all. Skip paying over $700 USD a night for a box-like room here and stay instead in a high end riad where you will be treated like a sultan and be able to enjoy Morocco to its fullest!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

La Mamounia is a tour de force of high Morrocan style and old world glamour. Anyone who says it is tired and outdated obviously has not visited since the renevotion. The hotel, along with the entire city of Marrakesh are experiencing a renaissance; the restaurants are at their finest, the service attentive, and the gardens/ public areas are meticulously cared for. Marrakesh and the hotel far exceeded my expectations.But, now onto the little things

PROS: - huge and expansive gardens and pool area; after a long day of sightseeing, the tranquil gardens and the smell of orange blossoms were the perfect anectdote to the hustle and bustle of the town.
- great rooms; very large and seem to live up to their steep price.
- services offered by the hotel; private cars, excursions, guides, all of these very nice
- amazing spa area with hammam and the works

CONS:
- good location but still a taxi ride to the main souqs and the square; walking only takes 5-10 min but it is on the edge of the medina
- low lighting throughout entire hotel; the light in the bathroom is equivalent to that of an iPhone and i found myself looking for things in the dark
- outrageous prices for lunch and breakfast( not even that good, only a buffet)
- jacuzzi is never hot; after requesting to have it warmer, it never changed
- a few things here and there with service; asked for adaptors that never were delivered, and constant visits from housekeeping

overall although my con list is longer that pros, we had an enjoyable and positive stay. The manager was very nice and the hotel very welcoming. Great concierge and reception and an amazing addition to a trip to morocco.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curitiba
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

we went there for our 10 year wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. we were treated like a king and queen. we joined the best hotels of the world as one of the other reviewers suggested so we had a room upgrade and had breakfast included. i loved the delicious breakfast. when it is warm, there is no need to go out of the hotel complex - they have everything you could possibly want. the dates at reception are to die for. we ate at the morrocan restaurant one night - it was ok - not any more special than what we had already eaten up until that point. for our actual anniversary night, we ate at the french restaurant which was superb.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I was happily situated in the medina at La Maison Arabe, in a gorgeous suite (Noor) with terraces, but of course wanted to check out La Mamounia. I can imagine it's a wonderful "resort-type" spot for couples or families who want to hang out by the pool all day, or do some shopping at boutiques like Christian Dior, Fendi and Louis Vuitton. And the Churchill Bar is wood paneled and wonderful, with great jazz pianists and perfect cocktails. Personally, this is not a hotel that feels indigenous - it's not why I went to Morocco. Jacques Garcia created his classic Napoleon III burgundy red velvet seating arrangements and dim fringed lighting, yet if feels like a luxury hotel one could find many places in the world.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mamounia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mamounia Marrakech

Address: Avenue Bab Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mamounia Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mamounia, a symbol of traditional Moroccan hospitality, is located in the heart of the imperial city, nestled in a 17 acre park, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa El Fna square, La Mamounia will remain the place for worldwide celebrities. DESCRIPTION The Moroccan legendary palace has been redesigned by an internationally acclaimed designer, Jacques Garcia, combining a true Moroccan style and ambiance with new technologies. With its luxurious decorations, fabulous gardens and its trendy 2500sq m SPA, la Mamounia guarantees the amazement of its guests. ACCOMODATION 136 rooms (30 to 45 Sq m) 71 Suites including 7 Signature suites (55 to 212 Sq m) 3 Riads each with 3 bedrooms, Moroccan salons, private swimming pool, terraces... (700 Sq m) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LHW, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Mamounia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mamounia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
La Mamounia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamounia Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.