We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal in every way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #243 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ideal in every way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Out of all the 5 star hotels we viewed in Marrakech, this was the most geared up for families. It was light and airy, unlike the other dark and mysterious 5 star hotels so we feel we made a great choice. There is a lot of walking to be done, none the least, from reception to our bedroom (at least 6 or 7 minutes). However, the bedroom had black out curtains and was silent, therefore we had fantastic deep long sleeps in very comfy beds.
The Sofitel is located just outside the main walls of the Medina, even so, a steady 15 minute walk to get to the main square which is the only place to congregate at night unless you have chosen to go to a restaurant elsewhere in the City. There was no service or area of the hotel that let itself down, we were very impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff at all levels. It was a great relief at breakfast to be attended to the instant you sit down and the hot drink of your choice bought within seconds. I usually hate buffet breakfasts in hotels, all that running around looking at various stations, searching for cups and spoons, bowls and eggs. The breakfasts are expensive with not the widest range but the foods available, were available in various different formats i.e. fruit came in fruit puree, fruit slices, fruit smoothie, fruit pressee, fruit yoghurt, fruit fool, etc. The eggs came in 10 different ways. On saying that, the eggs also came via crepes and pancakes. There were various cereals, some cold meats and cheeses and many varieties of yoghurts, breads and cakes.
There are two swimming pools in the grounds - one heated during the winter months. The exterior grounds were fantastic, palms and plants, hammocks, huge 4 poster sunbeds and loungers - it was beautiful plus pool towels on tap. There was a kids club should parents choose to use which had everything they could desire and well attentive carers who seemed fascinated by the children. They were having the best time. My only disappointment, if there has to be one was the bar area outside in the evening. There was a lack of service, along with a lack of atmosphere (although the weather was not too warm to be hanging around outside) and the extremely expensive cocktails that finally arrived after huge long waits did not seem worth it. They also came with a lot of sugar involved which is kind of strange but then they like to use a lot of sugar in most of their dishes (check their teeth in Morocco!). Thankgoodness for the gym, which is free to use and although not huge selection of equipment there to use, it was definitely a bonus. And lastly, outside in the hotel front gardens, they have electric go karts for the kids to use which was kind of cool. The stay at the sofitel really completed our holiday worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    493
    153
    85
    53
See reviews for
290
724
47
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

hotel staff were lovely did everything for you. the sofitel is luxury and comfort at its best , close 2 the main jemme al fna but such a contrast , madness outside with busy roads and hectic markets but haven inside i found. food is expensive in sofitel but cheap restaurants within 5 mins walk . rooms very comfortable beds are hard to get out of they're so snug. i loved it and will definately be going back....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I find it very strange that people can critisize anything about this hotel.

Everything was faultless from the time of arrival to departure - yes, the costs are quite high but then again you are in a 5* hotel.

If you work out that a pint of lager comes in at around £15 and a semi-decent bottle of red wine is over £70.

I would recommend this to anyone and would go back again without fail.

Staff cant do enough for you, are always polite, and even though English isnt in their top 3 or 4 languages they will still get someone to help any situation.

Only downside - if you are eating in the 'disco restaurant' - make sure you book a table - bcos all of the local money bags are there Fridays and Saturdays - unlike us who turned up and expected as a guest to have a table ! :-) ................. and ......... the staff still made room for us !


Lee, London UK

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

This hotel was our first stay being close to the airport,
The air is beautifully scented and the pool is amazing .The management staff is very french.
But it is a beautiful hotel.Breakfast is a wonderment make sure you sit outside and have breakfast overlooking the herb garden.
I only stayed one night as i was moving into a riad for the week.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

This hotel looks like the discarded leftovers of a W property. The bed was inattentively painted a tacky silver and the room was cramped and dull.

We called for a box to have some of our accumulated souvenirs sent home; after 3 or 4 separate phone calls to different staff members, each of whom assured us they'd send a box right over, we never got our box. On one of those calls the staff member mentioned that the hotel did not offer a mailing service but that he would be contacting a third party to come get our stuff and would call us back. He never did. We left early the next morning and had to find some temporary packing material at the airport to get our stuff safely on the plane. Fortunately, an airport baggage-wrapper attendant was far more helpful than the Sofitel, and, shockingly, our souvenirs survived 2 connections back to the United States.

The room service food was really poor, but the hotel wasn't all bad: the Sofitel luggage-handlers and doormen couldn't have been more gracious. Sofitel would be better off letting them run the hotel than such an uncaring and inept front desk.

There are many better hotels and riads at which to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

I chose this hotel on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed there in the summer. He raved about it so we decided it was worth a go, however it seemed we did not have the same experience. All in all its a very beautiful hotel with a stunning pool area which is well kept and offers plenty of large sun loungers which were very comfortable and more like outside beds. The gardens are lovely and there is also a relaxing terrace, however as we were there in December we only got to make use of the pool and gardens on the first day, after that it was too cold or too wet. The weather played a big part in our enjoyment at the hotel which is obviously not their fault.
The rooms were nice and the beds are extremely comfortable. Service is so so, check-in seemed to take forever and overall attitude was ok but better if you could speak French. We noticed a big difference in how they treated French speakers over others. Breakfast was ok, lots of lovely fresh fruit but some of the hot items were awful. One tip - avoid the lunch buffet, its very expensive and not worth the money.
The Location was not bad, a bit of a walk into the old town but not too far. There are also a small selection of very good restaurants a short walk from the hotel including Comptoir and La Villa which were both excellent.
The Spa was very nice, a little expensive, but this is to be expected.
Biggest complaint was the smoking! The reception was smokey and the bar was so bad we could only manage one overpriced drink. I guess in the summer more people are outside so its ok but as it was very cold everyone was indoors.
I was a little underwhelmed but all in all its a good hotel, maybe not a true 5* standard but if you are looking for a nice pool then this is the one. I hated Marrakech with a passion and will never go back but this hotel is a little oasis.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Very disappointed by this hotel.

I had the worst food ever, especially at pool restaurant. Every guest was disgusted by the food there.

Worst service ever, you can wait for room service hours and never show up !!!

You hear every heartbeat from your neighboors room !!

Never back there , not worth the 5 star price.

May better choices in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#161 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.