We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* PRICES 3* SERVICE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“5* PRICES 3* SERVICE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I have never felt the need to review a hotel before -as long as the good points out-way the bad points then I figure 'lets move on'
On arrival we had to wait 4 hours for our room -we were told they had a large group arriving and they had to take priority.
Allocated a 'quiet' room overlooking a noisy construction site within the hotel -next day I invited the manager to visit our room to share our experience -he was unavailable so we had a visit by the room allocations manager.(see photo) When asked why rooms overlooking a construction site were not closed down to paying customers and the time used to clean the carpets and curtains and repair the broken items in the bathroom he replied (with some embarrassment) that it was not Sofitel policy to close rooms during construction.
He re-allocated us another 'quiet 'room overlooking a main road into the city!!(see photo)
Pool area was very nice and staff very pleasant and helpful -again pool furniture was very badly stained and dirty.
Breakfast was adequate and service OK as long as there was not a large delegation in the hotel --then service was poor.
Overall the week we spent there was not a good experience and the manager could not be bothered to find us to offer an explanation or apology.
This hotel charges for 5*goods and services and offers some customers 3* experience
Beware ---you have been warned!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Mister,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Marrakech Imperial Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations especially in term of the long time wating to have a room uppon arrival and also the noisy room near the construction wich you did not apreciated; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Benkirane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    531
    171
    90
    57
See reviews for
334
782
55
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

For a bit of luxury, this is a top hotel compared with the chaos and bustle in the Medina - it's nice to get away to at the end of a busy sightseeing day.
The check-in was unusually long and overly done - you are asked to sit down and wait in reception and then someone goes through paperwork and familiarises you with the hotel. I guess they think it's a personal touch but is actually a bit laboured and annoying! A quick and easy check-in is all that's needed.
The rooms are are OK although could do with more lighting - was always pretty dark! Beds are very large and comfortable. There are no tea / coffee making facilities or iron / ironing boards in the rooms. You can get one from housekeeping but the irons have seen their day and don't work very well!
Wifi at the entire hotel is totally useless - worst I have ever experienced and is so bad they may as well not have it - not sure if it is just a Moroccan problem or the service is inadequate for the number of guests they have - at least it's free.
The pool is amazing and service pretty good from the staff there. The breakfast service was not particularly good - a lot of staff milling around ignoring customers. You had to almost beg to get coffee / juice and the same for refills.
Meals at the restaurant are good but are around twice the price of going into the Medina. Drinks are prohibitively expensive and DO NOT go for the waiter's recommendation of a glass of champagne or mojito before your meal - unbelievably expensive!!
All in all, would recommend but would be great if the hotel could sort out its breakfast time staff and the awful wifi!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing towards the airport (think this is the West side of the hotel) - there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Mr BAZANDHAB,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Marrakech Imperial Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

However, I am sorry that such services did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Benkirane,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

First off, it should be noted that the pool area of the hotel is great. I would actually go back just to enjoy lounging there, all the sun beds are modern and the gardens are very well kept. There is sufficient pool staff to assist you.

However, despite the good facilities of this hotel we still had a disappointing stay. There were numerous issues:
- the bed: was surprisingly uncomfortable. My husband and I both lay down and then sat back up and looked at each other thinking something must be wrong with our bed. We look it over entirely and couldn't understand the sheets and mattresses layout (very odd) and didn't have a comfortable sleep.
- the check-in: the check-in process was quite long
- the housekeeping staff: it took three phone calls to housekeeping to get an ironing board
- the room service: our order came and was incorrect
So these issues and several other small ones led to a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Mr LAURA,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Marrakech Imperial Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Benkirane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I was there for two nights for an important business event. The hotel is very upscale, well kept and has all the "ingredients" of old Morrocan charm in addition to the modern infrastructure for a relaxing stay: pool, gardens, entertainment etc....

It is a 20 minute walk from the old town, souks etc... I felt safe in the area walking late at night.

Speed of service and responsiveness of staff could be improved ... they could be faster and quicker to react, but overall no problems.

I stayed in a ground floor suite , which was very convenient for accessing the gardens and pool area.. so cannot comment on the regular rooms.

Marrakesh is a place to see ... some people fall in love or become addicted, others look at it as one of the places you ought to visit once in your life. I would personally not consider it a vacation destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Google Translation
Monsieur Sherif,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Continuez à suivre toutes les actualités du Sofitel Marrakech en cliquant sur « j’aime » de nos pages Facebook :

Hôtel Lounge & Spa:
SofitelMarrakechLoungeSPA






Hôtel Lounge & Spa:
SofitelMarrakechLoungeSPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

For our first visit to Morocco, we were recommended to go to the Sofitel in Marrakech. I found out that it was an excellent advice. The front desk staff and the concierge were very helpful and pleasant. We enjoyed the Spa treatments and the hammam very much. At the breakfast restaurant, we especialy enjoyed the great and friendly service by the waitresses and waiters, Fatima, Rachida, Chaffira, Mourad and Hicham. All of them provide outstanding service, allways available, and allways with a great smile.
Thank you , Sofitel Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Google Translation
Monsieur UZI,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Continuez à suivre toutes les actualités du Sofitel Marrakech en cliquant sur « j’aime » de nos pages Facebook :
Hôtel Lounge & Spa:
SofitelMarrakechLoungeSPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was my 5th visit to the Sofitel Marrakech , each trip gets better & better !
The hotel has a high standard of consistent excellence throughout all service areas.
The pool lounging area is superbly well maintained & run .
The pool team are exceptionally helpful to make your stay enjoyable . Zakaria stood out to be very accommodating & extremely helpful at all times making every day at the pool a pleasurable experience .
Would highly recommend this hotel & the all round fantastic team

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Google Translation
Madame Michelle,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Madame, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Continuez à suivre toutes les actualités du Sofitel Marrakech en cliquant sur « j’aime » de nos pages Facebook :
Hôtel Lounge & Spa:
SofitelMarrakechLoungeSPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. When we walked through the doors, we were greeted straight away, taken to the reception and checked in. A lovely fellow kindly walked us to our room, and on the way said that we had been upgraded from the room we booked, which was the Junior Suite with view of the Atlas Mountains, to the Suite overlooking that Atlas Mountains and the Pool. All I can say is WOW. As you walk in to the hotel, you have SO much space and cupboard space. You have a dining room, a living room, a double balcony with sun bed and table and chairs, an extra large bedroom with massive king sized bed and more drawers, then you have the Bathroom, with more cupboards, a bath, shower over the bath plus your sink, you then walk through to the second bathroom which has a separate shower, toilet and sink. There were 4 towels, HERMES shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and body wash, exfoliator, scales (if you want to weigh yourself on holidays....) and two amazing robes and slippers. There is a Nespresso Machine in the room and you get the first 6 pods free, plus you get 3 bottles of water and 1 sparkling water per day for free. There were also a dozen red roses in the room. The bed is one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in!

The view overlooking the pool was amazing, so relaxing. The hotel itself is massive, there are several restaurants and the breakfast range is like I have never seen before. They have everything you can think of and I think it is worth every cent (although it seems expensive).

We ordered room service for the first night (and second night) and when it arrived, it came with a handwritten note and a birthday cake wishing my husband a happy birthday - I didn't order this! We had a note on the booking, but didn't remind them or ask for it. It was amazing and so generous of them.

The pool area is awesome. There are two outdoor pools and many many poolside beds. You do need to get in early if you want one by the pool or in the sun! They fill up so quickly. We had ordered a fruit platter and some drinks by the pool - very good service and the fruit is delicious, fresh and nice and cold.

We also had spa treatments in the hotel. We got the traditional Hamman, a body wrap and a massage. The spa area is beautiful, you get a robe and slippers and you can also use the facilities such as the steam room and indoor heated pool. The staff are very helpful and the services were really great as well.

I couldn't fault the hotel or the staff, I found everything to be of excellent service and quality. I know you pay a lot of money to stay there, but you do get value for money and I would recommend it, even if it is for just two nights of your stay in Marrakech - just perfect.

Room Tip: Room 203 is a Junior Suite with Pool View & Atlas Mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Google Translation
Madame Jenna,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Madame, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Continuez à suivre toutes les actualités du Sofitel Marrakech en cliquant sur « j’aime » de nos pages Facebook :
Hôtel Lounge & Spa:
SofitelMarrakechLoungeSPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#122 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#194 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.