We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #241 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 5 nights - went there for my 60th and it was fantastic. Amina at reception was excellent - she dealt with a mistake made by BA who I booked with. She upgraded us to the Executive Suite x 1 with two big bedrooms and a lovely sitting room and then we changed to Junior Suite x 2 - one for my daughter and one for my hubby and I on the same floor.. They cleaned our rooms twice a day and changed our towels, etc., twice a day and made our beds ready for sleeping by removing the cushions, etc., from the beds. We had nice balconies with pool view and across the open land are olive tree plantations view. A small bottle of still water and a small bottle of fizzy water are placed in your room everyday for free and free coffee machine in room but they allow you six free coffee capsules and after six they will charge you. My daughter and I felt as we were in Cleopatra's palace. The Spa section is amazing, treatments are expensive, but worth it when one is celebrating her 60th - the Spa indoor pool and relaxing area soooo lovely. The breakfast at Le Jardin was amazing and you do not need lunch after eating all the delicious food in the morning - two to three waiters attended to our table each morning with coffee, tea, juices, etc.,.....Hicham, Roch, Rabie, Abdelilah and Ibrahim were excellent waiters - the boys came to my table with the head waiter on the morning of my birthday to sing 'Happy Birthday' to me in english and french and they presented me with a delicious french patisserie cake including ONE candle with a bouquet of fresh flowers. The Sofitel has two swimming pools and a Jacuzzi and plenty of different type of sun lounges with umbrellas - the staff are always attending to your need by the pools. Don't feel like you are in the main city of Marrakech - felt like in a garden surrounded by beautiful plants - oranges, palm trees, pomegranate, etc.,. The Hivernage area is very nice and clean, but not far from the Medina Square - about 15 mins walked. We could have stayed longer!!! When leaving Sofitel, Amina came over to the front door to say goodbye to me and she gave me a kiss! The Morrocan tea boy is always in the lobby making mint tea for everyone - again free of charge. The only complain I have is the cost of drinks by the pool - juices are very very expensive and eating in the hotel restaurant is also costly, In fact eating in the area of Hivernage is expensive - so go to the Medina Square and they have many good restaurants. We looked at the review on tripadvisor before booking this trip - and my daughter wanted to stay at Sofitel and I wanted to stay at the Hivernage across the road. Though it was my birthday, I allowed her to decide between the two hotels and I must say she made the right choice for all of us. The people are soooo nice and always openning doors for you at the lobby. The decor inside and outside this Hotel are just incredible - Ancient Egyptian, Moorish and Islamic!!! I will go back to stay at the Sofitel Hotel again when visiting Marrakech - hopefully soon!! C Jaulim (HH)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    502
    161
    85
    53
See reviews for
302
738
47
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at this beautiful property but management sucks.
Got to the hotel on our honeymoon and everything went sour.
We were told that our room was still occupied and that the people are staying 2 more nights longer. They gave us a different room 6 hours later.
Talked to Mr Amine ( I guess the assistant Manager) and told us that he is sorry for any inconvenience and he sent us 2 free Drinks ( didn't t get our point at all).
It s a shame that in Morocco there is no customer service at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has a "wow" factor as a first impression....but after just a couple a hours you can notice sub standard service in ALL respects. After 2 days I am ready to leave and never come back. Nothing positive to say regarding this hotel, except maybe that they try hard. Comunicating with the reception will require patience, 20 tries over the phone which no one answers and finally a personal trip there! Otherwise forget it! Other examples of the poor service include no towels in the room after "cleaning service", no cups for tea or coffee in the room, no pillows for the extra bed (which took ages to be delivered to the room)....and so one. Bottom line, avoid this hotel!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We only stayed 2 nights in the Sofitel Marrakech and it was not enough time. The hotel was great & our guide explained the Moroccans don't rush so a 15 minute check-in, drinks service etc are not unusual! So it's a case of sitting back & waiting. Your bags are taken from you as you walk in & delivered to your room ( there's no option on this so have your tip ready). The rooms are great - with nice balconies, nice bathrooms, mini bar, free water & coffee machine. Wifi is available throughout the hotel. The food in this hotel was good - nice pool food & also the fare by night was excellent. You could happily sit & relax by the pool and then wonder the medina during the day or night. As with most places be careful of the taxi drivers outside. 20 dirham will get you a good few miles - we had a taxi driver as for 150 for what should have been 20!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A 5* luxury hotel, located centrally for convenience. The rooms are modern with all amenities and full room service; allowing you to relax and enjoy the experience.

There are several pools with bar service and on site restaurants and bars.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here with my sister in June 2013 after a disastrous stay at Sofitel in Agadir. Pleased to say that this Sofitel was much better than the one in Agadir.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool area isn't that big but we managed to get sun loungers or cabannas to sit in for the day. There was free wifi throughout the hotel which was great.

We went to So Bar which was good fun. Lots of good cocktails and a good atmosphere too.

The location is good and you can walk to most places or get a taxi which is very cheap in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

By contrast to the Maison Arabe (see separate review) the Sofitel is everything I dislike in hotels. Stayed just one night in transit and that was enough. The large public areas are quite pleasant with well-chosen soft furnishings but like everything else it was superficial. Check-in took 30 minutes with a less than happy receptionist. The bags took a further 1 hour to arrive at the room. Calls to reception and and the porter's desk went unanswered (four calls in all).

The hotel was full of footballers (or that what's is said on their shirts - although not all of them could have been Rooney or Messi) and their WAGS. The price of food and drinks outrageous.

On the plus side the room was functional, clean and the beds very comfortable; the buffet breakfast extensive, so I was going to be generous and award an average score if it wasn't for the snack meal we had by the pool. Chicken kebabs were undercooked. When pointed out they were taken away for 10 minutes and returned in the same state - but now with the accompanying chips cold! A hotel that cares so little for potential health issues and disregard for customer service is one to avoid.

The tone for the Sofitel was set by the red Ferrari and yellow McClaren sports cars parked ostentatiously outside the main entrance. Bling but no substance.

In retrospect, hotels like this do actually serve a purpose - as long as their multiple rooms are fully occupied there's a chance that really good hotels have some space for me!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#161 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.