We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here with my sister in June 2013 after a disastrous stay at Sofitel in Agadir. Pleased to say that this Sofitel was much better than the one in Agadir.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool area isn't that big but we managed to get sun loungers or cabannas to sit in for the day. There was free wifi throughout the hotel which was great.

We went to So Bar which was good fun. Lots of good cocktails and a good atmosphere too.

The location is good and you can walk to most places or get a taxi which is very cheap in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    856
    442
    137
    77
    47
See reviews for
252
644
43
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

By contrast to the Maison Arabe (see separate review) the Sofitel is everything I dislike in hotels. Stayed just one night in transit and that was enough. The large public areas are quite pleasant with well-chosen soft furnishings but like everything else it was superficial. Check-in took 30 minutes with a less than happy receptionist. The bags took a further 1 hour to arrive at the room. Calls to reception and and the porter's desk went unanswered (four calls in all).

The hotel was full of footballers (or that what's is said on their shirts - although not all of them could have been Rooney or Messi) and their WAGS. The price of food and drinks outrageous.

On the plus side the room was functional, clean and the beds very comfortable; the buffet breakfast extensive, so I was going to be generous and award an average score if it wasn't for the snack meal we had by the pool. Chicken kebabs were undercooked. When pointed out they were taken away for 10 minutes and returned in the same state - but now with the accompanying chips cold! A hotel that cares so little for potential health issues and disregard for customer service is one to avoid.

The tone for the Sofitel was set by the red Ferrari and yellow McClaren sports cars parked ostentatiously outside the main entrance. Bling but no substance.

In retrospect, hotels like this do actually serve a purpose - as long as their multiple rooms are fully occupied there's a chance that really good hotels have some space for me!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Sofitel Marrakech is in a great location, just outside of the old Medina (10-15 min walk into the market and souks) The Hotel itself is beautiful, and is pretty clean and well kept with really nice room and a great swimming pool.
The food and drinks inside of the hotel and at the pool bar are so expensive that it basically means you cannot enjoy a day of sitting around the pool with a few drinks. A small bottle of Heineken was £5, a cocktail was about £12, single JD, Baileys etc was £10 and a can of coke was £4! these prices are far too high - the hotel isn't nice enough to charge those kind of prices!
The staff were all friendly and polite, but completely useless! I found you had to ask on average 2 members of staff each time you wanted something as the first one would inevitably forget, or take an age to come back to you.
Staff never acknowledge the customers, this may be a cultural thing, but just comes across as very rude. They will chat amongst themselves, or just walk off, even with customers clearly waiting and wanting to talk to them. If you say "excuse me" then they will be courteous and friendly, but they should acknowledge the customers - and don't!
The buffet Breakfast is the best I've had at any hotel!
Reduce the bar/resturant prices a bit so they're realistic, train the stuff in some customer service, and this place would be amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly. The food was as expected, nice to try different food and very nice not to have to see chips! The decor was lovely and our room was very nicely done. All the staff were very kind and very helpful.
A must is the market and learning all about herbs and how they help any ailments!
Only downside was seeing all the baby cats running for lives over the roads everyday but that doesn't affect the hotel itself. Would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Sofitel is nothing short of fantastic in many ways.
Ive stayed here with my wife and one year daughter and had a blast of a family holiday, the hotel is a heaven sanctuary away from the old town madness and is perfectly located for Marrakech exploring merely 10-15 mins to major sites.
The Sofitel covered all our needs when we wanted to stay in with it fantastic pool, gardens and facilities ( Inc a state of arts spa& gym).
Most of all, this review is not complete without a special mention to the brilliant staff who work there. A special mention has to go to Fatima Elzahra whom we a great bond with. Fatima looked after us during breakfasts and I have to say she provided the best and utmost care and attention I’ve ever experienced in my travels, to add to her personal touch and care of our little one who took no time to developed a great personal affinity with Fatima. A million thanks to Fatima for great hospitality and unravelled care and attention to us. Also to her lovely and well trained colleagues : Aziza, Hossni, Hicham Ruchuidam Jawad & Qwan Ji.

If you are reading this review with a view of visiting the Sofitel Spa and Lounge Marrakech, one thing I’d say : GO FOR IT !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's a great luxury hotel with very kind and helpful staff.
the swimming pool was one of the best,great surroundings and pure luxury. Included the cosy lounge area!
Overall I was very pleased with the hotel. The hotel is beautiful and the main rooms are very impressive. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Loved the Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

First impression: the reception for checking in is badly run and not very efficient. There are two desks. I went to the large one and was told to take a seat and someone would come and see to me. Half an hour later after having seen no one, I went up to the big desk again and asked another lady who told me I had to go to the other (small desk) to check in!

So I went to the other desk – lots of people milling around. Eventually a young man attended to me and asked me to take a seat. I was brought a cup of warm Moroccan tea and all the paperwork to fill in (register, passport, credit card etc) to be told after half an hour that I was too early to check in (which I knew but sometimes rooms are ready early)! I waited but had to remind the young man to let me know when my room was ready, which he eventually did.

The bedroom was lovely and large with a big sunny terrace which had a sun bed but unfortunately the cushions were covered in bird droppings.

The bed was so very comfortable and the pillows too. The bathroom was very large with nice Lanvin products, and there were two hair dryers. The room had a Bose radio with an iPod attachment but I couldn’t get my iPod to function.

I had to leave early at 6.00am the next day and had to wait for someone to come on duty so I could pay the bill. There was a tray of coffee and orange juice on the side which was a nice idea, but I didn’t have time to have any.

The drinks prices were steep but there is a lovely garden by the pool.

Overall I was very pleased with the hotel. The hotel is beautiful and the main rooms are very impressive. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#155 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#180 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.