We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the good hotels in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #289 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the good hotels in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A really nice hotel for Marrakech but can be maintained more.,The furniture, carpets and soft furnitshing looks tired and needs replacement. Alrhought it has some excellent features like the spa, restaurants, the limos and concierge services are next to none. Breakfast is amazing too!

I would like to thank all the staff that made our stay memorable and I will probably choose Sofitel again.

Nice and comfortable hotel however the food and drinks are over priced.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and have two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    818
    437
    132
    76
    45
See reviews for
235
623
41
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here twice in 14 days with a break to Agadir in the middle. A very classy looking establishment, clean and welcome after the journey.
First stay, 5 nights, was during Ramadan (not intended, just coincidence) - the standard of service and facilities was very good - breakfast good with great service (we had B&B board - worth the option), pool area fantastic with sunbeds sofas aplenty and staff attentive and prompt. From a facility point of view definitely almost a 5 star.
'Almost' as let down by minor things (shuttle from airport was requested via e-mail but didn't show; initially overcharged in the bar on the first night - corrected though - bathroom shower didn't stay in position; blown room bulb reported but not fixed) that you would expect better from a 5-star.
But overall a very good stay, even allowing us an extra hour in the room after checking out waiting for our car.
Then - returned for 3 nights after Ramadan and what a difference. More like Benidorm.
- Queues at breakfast each morning and service very slow (15 mins to get tea / coffee)
- All sunbeds / sofas "in use" (ie a newspaper or a pair of sunglasses reserving the beds) by 9:30 - although the hotel did put extra beds / mattresses on the grounds to cater.
- Staff attitude / helpfulness / promptness dropped considerably. As they were great in the first leg I can only assume this is a lack of staff to cope when busy.
- As we had an 11pm flight back I asked for a later checkout or even a day-room rate to be cut off with a "no", we're busy. Might be right but it may have been more convincing if hey had even asked which room I was in.In fact they were at pains to point out I needed to be out of the room by noon and then I spent 40 minutes queuing to check out.

Food-wise, room service and the pool restaurant are best value and have simple foods - the in-house restaurants are pretty limited in terms of choice and tend to specialise in French-Moroccan. Fair enough given its location but didn't suit our tastes every night.
Bar prices are unjustifiably high. A small beer (1/2 pt) - £8 in the So Lounge. 7x or 8x what you can buy it for in the local supermarket is beyond the normal "markup" that I understand hotels need to charge - basically making it a rip-off that I find annoying.

As shame - a nice facility that when quiet is a great place to stay but the better hotels show it when they are busy - maintaining standards and service - that this one just didn't. Probably just a staffing issue but it meant we finished the stay on a down-note. Might have been a different review if it had been the other way around.

As for location; pretty good - quite easy for a walk (15 mins) or taxi to the main market / square - worth a visit to see how your haggling is (ours isn't good!) and if you're into the local food very fresh and cheap food available there. The new town is a little further but really not worth the time - it's like any town and pretty soul-less. 5 minute walk to the supermarket where we stocked up on water and drinks to avoid a second-mortgage bar bill and a few restaurants within a few minutes walk to get out of the hotel environment.


There were some very good people there - Lobby assistance / baggage / taxis people were consistently very good with guys named Tauofiq and Said making every effort irrespective of how many people were there and the breakfast "crew" that adopted us of Fatima, Rachida, Brahim and Hicham are worthy of a mention but were just a bit overwhelmed when the hordes moved in.

Overall, 6-star prices; 5-star service (if quiet), 3 if not and 4-star facility.
Acid test - would we go back?. No, we'd try another similar style hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I could go on & on &on about this wonderful hotel.
Firstly we were 2 females travelling, a little bit weary, so we arranged transfers from the hotel to collect us from the airport cost £19 our flight was late by 1 hour and our chauffeur Tariq waited for our arrival he was very charming, he also took us to change our currency within the airport as it was Ramadam we had to wait for a further 1/2 hour he was very patient and really went out of his way despite being very hungry.
On arrival to the hotel it was in a exclusive location next to the Casino, Theatro nightclub and 2 min walk from Le Comptoir restaurant, it had everything we expected and more great service, brilliant lay out, we had a junior suite which had 2 Balcony's, spacious living room lovely big bed, bathroom and separate toilet room which also had a sink mirror etc.
The breakfast was delicious although rather expensive.
Pool area was amazing2 pools great waiter service to the sunbeds we were also given free complimentary foot massages and tea There is also varied beds doubles, singles, hammocks and canopy bed which can fit upto 6 people. There is also a pool side restaurant.
Sofitel has a Fab cocktail bar SO lounge, drinks were wonderful and they also have a fresh juice bar and a small well kitted out nightclub which was very quiet due to being Ramadam.
We had a Hammam at the SO Spa although the staff were rather rude (you will find female staff in general at sofitel to be rather stand offish and rude) it was a little costly £80 but worth the money as it was a lovely experience.
Here's a tip: 1. we met a lovely taxi driver Chakib he took us around marrakech to the medina, YSL gardens, the square, palaces, Jewish quarter, spice shops etc and waited for us for a whole morning it cost us 200 dirhams which is roughly £18 we felt really safe with him and he as a lovely guy I have taken his telephone number 0678445326 (taxi number 1699)
2. Don't be afraid you will see lots of arguing in Marrakech and some slapped heads within the local people but they do treat tourist like royalty and after a while it becomes hillarious
3. There are Camel rides at the back street of the hotel
4. Try to stay away from the main square if your lone females. (We learned the hard way)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed with my friend at the Sofitel Marrakech lounge and SPA during the last week of July with a very good deal flights/hotel (B&B only). Right away we were totally seduced by the beauty and attention to detail everywhere (each part of the hotel has its own fragrance). The breakfast buffet is anything you could hope for and more. The staff from the Orangerie restaurant is an absolute delight and will go to the other end of the hotel to get you your favourite blend of tea if they don't have it there. Special thank you to Rachida, Farah and the restaurant manager. Rooms were pristine, cleaned twice daily and luxury Hermes shower gel delivered daily. Our cleaner Ibtissam was a star!! Finally, they do not stop looking after you after checkout: I had forgotten my IPOD in the SPA and realised at the airport (duh!)!! The amazing concierge, Mister Icham, arranged to have it sent to my home address in England. Free of charge and in a perfect package (priority as well!)! Beyond anything I could have expected. I could not recommend Sofitel Lounge and SPA enough!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I love this Hotel ! Its my home away from home on frequent business trips to Africa. In particular the staff in the restaurant at breakfast are ALL so attentive and eager to serve -- Farah, Quefi, Rachida Hicham, Berd, Brahim and the MOST amazing of all, Fatimzahra, they are all totally plugged in and on top of it.

Room Tip: The views across the pool from the 3rd or 4th floor fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel is just as it looks. The staff were polite and welcoming. We had our room upgraded to a suite upon arrival, when we got to the suite it didn't disappoint, it was huge with a poolside balcony. We had a blissful few days by the pool. The restaurants were fantastic as was the food & staff. The pools were amazing and the choice of sunbeds, hammocks or loungers were fab and no fighting for a sunbed either.
All in all a fab hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

we've had a very nice holiday at the sofitel in Marrakech. It's a very good place. The pools and food are excellent. Fatima Zahia, Rachida, Abderahim, Hicham: great staff. Good for a very relaxed week. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#110 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#183 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.