We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here first week of July for 5 nights.
The Hotel is very good and a good location.
The food is acceptable but if you are looking for something special I would go to Bo-Zin or Jad Mahal.
The service was excellent especially from Yassine Lachheb one of the Managers.
The spa is gorgeous and tranquil.
My only negative comment is don't book a room in the Palais as the noisy frogs will keep you awake all night otherwise I will be back and defiantly recommend.

Room Tip: Stay in the Lounge part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    451
    138
    78
    49
See reviews for
259
657
44
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. While we loved the madness of the Medina, Souks etc....This was a lovely tranquil place to return to.....We have never stayed in a five star hotel before, so not used to having everything done for us ( Kids grown up and recently flown the nest ) but we really have had a lovely time and already planning to return. From Porter to Concierge to Poolside staff etc.....We have no negative comments about this hotel......Thank you to everyone for a wonderful stay x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel, after a lovely 2 week vacation in 4 other hotels in Spain and Portugal from 1 July to 4 July. Almost from the onset we experienced terrible service. The check was the longest we have ever endured and completely inefficient.

I had requested a rollaway bed which was not set up when I went out to dinner at 8pm. I reminded them. When I got back at 11pm it was still not set up. I called them again and was promised "within 10 minutes". A bed arrived at 12.30am!

Breakfast is terrible with the restaurant overcrowded, infested with large flies in an outdoor corner and poor food quality. Again, slow and bad service here. The omelette we ordered had a shell and strand of hair in it.

Poolside service is also slow...no one approaches you and there are weird timings which means you don't get full food & beverage service throughout the day.

Usually lapses in services are tolerated by most guests however in this place, we just continued to get bad service throughout our stay.

The only exception is probably the concierge who we found helpful.

And it's not just us. Family who were with us:
1. Were picked up from the airport more than an hour late.
2. Not given two adjacent rooms as promised.
3. Overcharged 700 euro without explanation.

Everyone should stay away from the awful place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed last week 1st July for 7 days.Arrived at 10am room not ready till 4 in afternoon ,was given room to change,after asking for it,but apart from that not even a coffee was offered for 6 hrs ,had lunch whilst waiting by pool ,which set standard for week,so choose to eat out every night.The room overlooking the pool was large but quite old shabby furniture and really dark could do with renovating and grubby carpets in fact the whole place needs a good deep clean,yes quite impressive facade and lobby as with most 5 star !! Hotels but dirty,the patio where breakfast is served was rotten surprising as the it is closed at night so would assume all the chairs etc would be moved and the area scrubbed but no,so ate inside,bit better, though old wooden stands for preserves and salt etc were filthy covered in old sugar and bits of food these should be cleaned or better still thrown away.The food was prepared by chefs not wearing disposable gloves when setting out meals,cheese ,meat,etc also pool food was all handled with out hygiene standards expected from rating.Pool ok water was not clear quite murky the beds where like large sofa beds comfy but did not see them being cleaned or cushion covers removed after people had lain on them all day.
Room service was slow so tip actually makes it quicker no surprise there then,as with pool service,beware of pod coffee machines in rooms if you can get it to work,assume it was complementary but you are charged for each pod on the mini bar bill as found out when checked out .All in all an average and expensive hotel ,which was not the problem just you wasn't getting what you paid for,will not be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fab hotel, excellent pool area, breakfast great good choice. Rooms excellent.
All staff great, although a little slow around the pool.
Will def stay again, excellent position, great restaurants just outside the door of the hotel.
Coming put of the hotel turn right and walk straight on you come to the medina.
Go straight on from the front of the hotel past the fountains and you come to Guilez.
No English channels on tv !!!!!
Predominantly french tourists not many English.
Got a guide from concierge to take us out, he was 250 dirham for as long as you wanted him, great value and very informative.

Room Tip: Get a guide from concierge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Disliked this hotel so much! After a 2 weeks of travelling and staying in Accord Hotels ranging from 3 star to 5 star - this is by far the worst stay I've had! Service was horrible - definitely not typical to service at any Accord hotel- let alone a 5 star. Upon checking in our shower flooded not once but twice despite having called the front desk. Little communication from staff and waited nearly 2 hours to get any response and having to march to the front desk in bathrobe and soapy hair after midnight to demand a new room. Our replacement room was awful - overpriced, old and hardly a moroccan decor. For an upgraded suite...this was a huge disappointment. Room service food was disgusting...ordered steak and got steak with a processed cheese slice on top...seriously, at a 5 star??? Our food cart remained in the hot humid hallway for over 12 hours before someone came by to collect it. I had previously stayed at 4 Sofitel hotels that week and all were a lovely experience...this one is not worth it!! On a positive note - the pool area and concierge were great. The restaurants, although lacking menu variety - had a great vibe!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#154 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#173 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Expedia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.