We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back from a 5 day stay at the Sofitel in Marrakech. We had a truly great holiday, very busy but a lot of fun, and the hotel really contributed to a great time.

It is in a great location - just 10 minutes walk from the Medina and 10-15 minutes from the New Town shops and restaurants. It is pretty central to everything that is going on.

The hotel is lovely with great facilities, from the Spa (expensive!), to the bars and restaurants, the leisure facilities (2 pools) and staff. Overall the staff were very friendly, welcoming and polite. I say 'overall' because there were a couple of staff who were "below par", but they were the exception not the rule. The concierges were excellent, always helpful, with great recommendations. If you do venture to this hotel we strongly recommend the guided trip to the Atlas Mountains (with Abdul as the driver/guide) - it was a great day!

The reasons I have not scored this hotel more highly are: our room was a little tired and dated and it is very expensive for what it gives you (e.g. breakfast was £20 per head and really not worth that).

I would still recommend the hotel as a Very Good option if visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    547
    182
    94
    65
See reviews for
343
811
55
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we were dropped of we knew we had chosen the right hotel. We had landed late and it was hot, the check in was easy and were given towels. We were shown to our room which was clean and had a good size to it. There was a tiny bit mould at the rear of the bath. But you could walk on the balcony in your socks and they remained clean. Massive comfortable bed, big tv and Bose radio.
We stayed half board.
The breakfast was great, this is not a English breakfast more French. So if you want bacon and eggs do not come. I had something different for each of my 7 days. The orange is just the best.
The dinner was three course and was superb. All the food was cooked well.
On our last day we had lunch which was brilliant.
The desserts are to a very high standard.
The staff are great and look after you all the time.

The pool is lovely you lie on large beds which are uncovered, covered with a sheet in a four poster bed style or covered with a parasol. There were alot if young trendy people there, and from what I can tell people pay just to come and use the pool. The pools aren't heated but Marrakech is so hot it's great to cool down. The poolside service is good and it's nice taking lunch here.

The price of drinks is expensive so if your a big drinker you will run up a massive bar bill. So even though this holiday has mainly been a dry one I still enjoyed myself. You drink mint tea instead of whisky.
We found the location great most of the main attractions are within 1 mile.
Yes I would stay here again it's not cheap but it's worth it.
I noticed alot if people moaning on here about stupid things.
Things aren't rushed here its too hot, just sit back relax. If it takes five minutes for something to come does it matter. It will come and it will be good.
This is Africa.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Of course its a luxury hotel so you expect excellent service and good quality beds and bedding.But the practical stuff that people dont tell you: the hotel has free wifi throughout which was great as i get quite cross at having to pay extra for wifi in already expensive hotels. Huge beach towels readily available and big comfortable sofa type pool side furniture. Food is very expensive, i admit i went across the road for very good breakfast in a local cafe at a tenth the price of the hotel offer. The staff were delightful, always helpful and friendly. The Sofitel chain is always good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A sensual experience of the city of Marrakech is heightened by the tranquil of this hotel. The smells of the general areas put you at ease and engaged. The poolside is the icing on the cake, expansive and alluring. Well, this experience is nothing without a wonderful staff and I would love to mention a few of them. Hind and Nassima at the bar area, thanks for letting me enjoy my stay at the hotel. Hind, I think is the assistant manager of the bar area, really very helpful, engaging and super nice. Ottman, you are the bomb, for making me feel like a king. Fatima at the reception, your smiles are enough for anyone to feel welcome. Fatima was helpful in many ways by simply being genuinely receptive. I've done my fair share of traveling and I can discern fake and professional from genuine.

Room Tip: It's always good to get an elevated room close to the pool area for the fantastic views, both po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We're here on a Thompson package for one week. The hotel and staff are very good. Pool area is fantastic - service around the pool and at meal times is friendly. The only downside is that beers and wine are staggeringly expensive - UK pounds £6 for a 33cl bottle of lager and £8 for a normal sized glass of their cheapest wine. Now I'm not a mean person, but the same lager costs £1.60p equivalent in the local supermarket. Just be aware that if you come here and drink as you might at home you won't be getting a reasonable bar bill at the end of your holiday. Other than that, its a really nice hotel with friendly staff. Oh yes, if you come here on a package deal, get a 'half board deal' - evening meals in the one main restaurant are also hideously expensive - a 3-course meal each for two people on average will set you back @ £100 in total without drinks included.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite or pool view normal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Treat yourselves! Just a great hotel all round. Rooms, pool area, spa, food and service are just amazing and everyone is happy and helpful. The location is good as you can walk to the souk, there is an onsite disco and there is a lovely spa and proper gym. There is a little delay in getting served with drinks as you are not supposed to go to 'the bar' and they must come to you - whether by the pool or in the hotel. The local beer 'Casablanca' was great! Drinks are expensive but there are other 'bars' nearby if you want a change. Be aware that alcohol is NOT widely available but there are a couple of good bars in the souk. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have been really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is amazing,the room the staff the food the pool all faultless
The 2 pools are fantastic, the hotel staff tend to your every need
Even have the choice to eat inside or outside and the place is spotless
Sun beds are amazing and the hammocks in the sunshine are so relaxing!
It isn't he cheapest but if you want quality service where everything is no trouble at all then you would it would be hard to beat the Sofitel. A true 5 star hotel and experience

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#57 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#161 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#138 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#174 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.