We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #292 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good for a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay two weeks ago and overall the hotel was up to our expectations based on previous reports.i would try to get a pool view room as we had a mountain view and so sitting on the balcony was not an option due to the road noise. The room was fine but not quite five star compared to other hotels we have stayed in.Breakfast selection very good and food in general was very good. Service fine but around the pool area could be slow. Hotel was busy when we went and so getting a sunbed could be hard work at times, as some people put towels on in the morning but then went down town for several hours. I think the price of drinks was over the top and you are a captive audience so be prepared to pay five pounds for a small bottle of beer and ten pounds for a Gin and Tonic. I think the overall impression when you arrive is very good but I think depending which room you get will be the difference in your overall score. We were in a large party of people and saw a few different rooms and some looked a lot better than others so I guess it could be work in progress. Overall worth a visit if you can get a good deal.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    768
    405
    115
    69
    44
See reviews for
219
578
38
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. While we loved the madness of the Medina, Souks etc....This was a lovely tranquil place to return to.....We have never stayed in a five star hotel before, so not used to having everything done for us ( Kids grown up and recently flown the nest ) but we really have had a lovely time and already planning to return. From Porter to Concierge to Poolside staff etc.....We have no negative comments about this hotel......Thank you to everyone for a wonderful stay x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hotel was great overall especially the pool areas. Staff were fantastic and really went out of their way to please. The one note of caution is the rooms facing the road are very noisy and not really suitable for relaxing on the balcony with a book.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I am a return customer at the Sofitel due to the exceptional customer service and room quality at the Sofitel Marrakech.

I would like to thank Youness Chafik and Yasin who are the poolside managers for there attention to detail and excellent mannerisms.

Ahmed Defea the head moroccan chef was once again producing delicious cuisine with the restaurant staff delivering excellent customer service(Farah, Hicham, Anaz and Brahim).

I will be returning in June for my next visit to marrakech and recommend this hotel highly.

Antoine Winckler is running the best hotel in marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Plus side: lounging poolside on an Arablian Nights fairy tale couch/sunbed
Negative side: (a) really, really horrible concierge; (b) housekeeping unable to read labels, resulting in two nights without any shampoo, followed by a smorgasbord on the last day of 4 shampoos, 1 conditioner; 9 bath gels; and 3 lotions; (c) an oppressive floral fragrance piped throughout the hotel (which did nothing to counteract the indoor smoking odors) so if you have asthma or similar condition, be forewarned. Not at all what I expected from Softiel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Beautiful oasis while visiting Marrakech. Although it is at the pricier end of the scale, the lovely room and great service was well worth the money spent. Highlight is the fresh and delicious breakfast served every morning. Would gladly go back next time I'm in Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is excellent and we had a great time. The only downside was we had booked half board with Thomson holidays but the hotel charged us for all of our meals apart from breakfast. Neither Thomson nor the hotel will take responsibility. Therefore we have paid nearly £800.00 pounds for one weeks meals. Apalling!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, hotel manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We apologise for the misunderstanding .
Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel
Sofitel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#227 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.