We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here last year and had a wonderful holiday. All the staff I encountered were friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was nice. I can't recommend the lunch buffet - I felt it was a bit overpriced, although that's possibly more because I'm a vegetarian and there wasn't a lot of choice for me. The Orangerie restaurant was nice, ate there a few times during my stay. The best thing about the hotel was the club. The entertainment there in the evenings was good, and at around midnight it turned into a nightclub where locals came to as well. A great atmosphere, felt safe and never too crowded, and best of all could just roll into the hotel to bed afterwards! It's set far enough back to not disturb hotel guests, though, so if the club isn't your thing don't be put off.

If you go here you must go to the spa, the treatments were the best I've ever had!

The only reason I gave it a 4/5 rather than 5 was because the AC in the room didn't appear to work, although on speaking to other guests and the hotel it turned out that it wasn't broken and that it was as cool as it was going to get.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had wonderful holiday.
We reviewed your comment regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We apologise for the AC
and it was repaired.

We hope to see you in near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    544
    178
    92
    63
See reviews for
337
803
55
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel lobby is very big, nice furnished, there's a smell of perfume in the air, fresh flowers daily. The bar offers a wide range of cocktails, etc. It's definitely a place to relax, an incredible oasis of luxury and refinement near the Medina, which, of course, has a totally different atmosphere.

Two very large outdoor swimming pools, one of which is heated! Beautiful garden with palm trees, many chairs to relax, excellent pool bar offering many different types of (alcoholic or non-alcoholic) drinks. Attentive service. A lot of staff.

Breakfast buffet with a lot of choice: cereals, fruit, bread, eggs, meat, cheese, sweet stuff, mint tea, coffee, etc. etc. Very large selection served in a beautiful room with the option to eat outside in the garden.

We tested the restaurant L'Orangerie, which offers both French and Moroccan cuisine. Excellent service, tasty food, nice atmosphere.

The buffet lunch is slightly expensive (45 euros) but the selection is very large.

The Sofitel is the perfect hotel to relax by the pool and enjoy the Moroccan hospitality and splendid weather. Dolce far niente. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa on your visit to Marrakech. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.

Sincerely,

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed in Sofitel hotel with my children and their family , the hotel staff were extremely welcoming and especially with my grandson. Moroccan generally are very child friendly and the staff made our visit to Marrakech a memorable one.
I can not thank them enough for their hospitality especially Chafika , Aziza and Nezha who always had a friendly smile and a can do attitude .
I highly recommend this hotel for any age group especially for families with young children, there are so many swimming pool to choose from with warm temperature and shallow enough for babies.
The entertainment every evening was a added surprise, and general cleanliness second to none.

Room Tip: They have rooms above their night club which is noisy make sure you ask for quite room. We had to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa on your visit to Marrakech. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had 4 nights here at this beautiful hotel. Our rooms were meant to have pool views but were at the back of the hotel. When we queried this at reception the girl ( her name was like Hannah sorry can't remember it exactly ) was so kind and sorted it all out for us. Although the hotel was busy she managed to upgrade us to a 2 bedroom suite. It was amazing! Luxury plus!! Breakfasts superb, swimming pools amazing, service excellent! Drinks were maybe slightly dearer but measures very generous and wine not much more than we were paying in restaurants.night club good fun - watch out bottle of water 100 dirhams! didn't use spa but it looked greatWould recommend to everyone! Well done and thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa. They work exceptionally hard to make sure that every gust feels special. Thank you so much for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here 24th - 28th March as part of my husbands 50th birthday celebrations - I emailed the hotel in advance and we were given a room upgrade to a pool view. the room was lovely and the bed one of the most comfortable I have come across. the staff were all very helpful and the breakfasts were excellent. The sun longers by the pool were amazing - just like beds - ultimate relaxation! This hotel was definately worthy of its 5 star rating. It was lovely to be able to leave behind the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh and step inside the tranquility of the hotel. My only critisism would be that it was very difficult to get out of the shower which was over the bath as there was no handrail and the bath was surrounded by a tiled wall -10 days later I still have a large bruise on my leg and I am quite agile - anyone elderly would have had serious problems getting in and out of the shower/bath.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel marrakech Lounge and Spa

We hope to see you in near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have every stayed in, we are a family with one child aged 10 and the hotel was perfect, nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were lovely and the feather matress toppers were the most comfortable thing I have every experienced. The food was wonderful genuinely 5 star, although it is quite expensive there was a huge variety. We all loved the SoBar and the band who played live music in the evenings. The swimming pools were great too the heated one was just perfect and the sun loungers amazing.
We were delighted with this gem of a hotel so near to the centre of Marrakech and only 10 minutes from the airport we would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: our rooms were at the rear of the hotel on the first floor and very quiet, although rooms at the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel marrakech Lounge and Spa

We hope to see you in near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for four nights. Great things and not such great things.

Good things. Great ambience, really helpful staff ( special mention to head doorman who refused a tip despite being very helpful) lovely public areas. Very big and comfortable bed and probably the quietest night's sleep in any hotel room ever. Great breakfasts. Wonderful pool side area

And....ridiculous cost of drinks in the hotel, a room (no.60) which was dark, had no bedside locker on one side, curtains which didn't fit properly, a wardrobe that wasn't wide enough and had ill fitting doors, a bathroom door that wobbled on its slides and air conditioning that was frankly pathetic.

The room itself had fewer amenities than the Premier Inns that I frequently stay in and really was not worthy of this hotel...not even a hair dryer which every decent hotel has.

Would I stay here again? Yes certainly because ultimately the good outweighed the bad but I think that I would choose my room carefully.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#121 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#179 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Splendia, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.