We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic and elegant !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Tangier, Morocco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic and elegant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I am used to the sofitel hotels but I must confess that the incredible quality of service given to customers by the personnel deserves to give a five stars high luxury to this famous hotel .From the reception welcoming you with fresh orange juice to the extreme confort of the bedroom and particularly the mattress, the helpfulness and kindness of the waiters at the restaurants (including the efficient room service).The swimming pool is fantastic and the spa absolutely perfect.All bedrooms have a nice view but the best are facing the pool and the somptuous gardens.I recommand highly this hotel !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    451
    138
    78
    49
See reviews for
259
657
44
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay in a riad to experience some character and the real Marrakech. Having visited the Sofitel for an over-priced pool day we were so glad we did just that! We were told we were not allowed to sit at the tables at the pool-side bar for lunch and had to have it brought to our sun loungers. Having paid £60 for usage of the pool area for the day and a further £44 for a bottle of water, chicken panini, coke zero and a small cheese pizza and to not be able to sit at a table to eat is ridiculous! Considering the price of the food one would expect it to be magnificent, however it was TERRIBLE. The waiter was very standoffish towards us. If they don't want people who are not staying overnight at the hotel to use the pool area then they shouldn't advertise it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the hotel on a recent business trip to Morocco. Although the entrance, swimming pool area, dining area etc creates a great impression one would expect much more from the rooms and staff. I heard the spa was great and looks impressive but we did not make use of their services due to time constrains.

Our room was in the "new" part of the hotel but the overall quality of the room was poor, actually it was "scruffy" and rather something one would expect from a two star hotel. Many of the fittings in the bathroom (the shower head, the mechanism which should open and close the run-off water from the bath) were broken, carpets were dirty, the room smelly and the toilet (separate from the bathroom) smelled like raw sewerage. The ceiling in the bathroom also was in seriously bad shape. I suggest that this hotel review their cleaning and maintenance schedules and procedures to ensure that one receives a fresh, clean and properly maintained room.

Our room had a balcony but the view was onto a rubbish dump.

Although we arrived at 2pm our rooms were not ready and only got access to our rooms after 5pm. The staff generally was not very helpful or friendly and continued to serve me in French knowing that I (unfortunately) cannot speak French.

I will not recommend this hotel and suggest travelers look for alternatives in the same price class.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa. We do take all comments seriously and really appreciate in details all the feedback we can get. We really apologise for the misunderstanding with problems you had encountered.
Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.

Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigtuna, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We would like to express our satisfaction with all the fantastic staff and the wonderfull athmosphere at the hotel, especially we would like to mention Fatima Zehra, Abderrahim and Azzdin for the service at breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Directeur d'hôtel at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa.
We are please to read that everything you experienced "was wonderfull".

We hope to see you again soon at the Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa.

Sincerely,

M.Ahmed Benkirane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Travelled with my wife for a weeks break in March.

After a 20 minute check in process we were given room 062, ground floor looking onto a temporary fish pond in the gardens. This from is very dark and the temporary pond has a time controlled fountain due to it being full of fish from the pond being renovated. We asked right away to move room and were told to come back in the morning which I did to be told to come back in an hour. 4 times this happened during the morning/afternoon until I just waited at reception until the receptionist got the message I wasn't moving from there. This got us moved to another room. Now I didn't just ask to be moved, I offered to pay an upgrade to get a room move but as I asked in English the request was not received so favourably.

The new room was as we had expected the rooms to be in this hotel.

The pool area is very well appointed indeed, small cabana type areas and in general large bed like areas for sunbathing which are very comfortable.

We ate in the breakfast room, restaurant upstairs, pool bar and SO lounge. Breakfast we found to be disappointing by being a bit hit or miss over the seating and service, choice is good unless you are looking for hot choices.

The other restaurants have good food but are limited in choices and are horrendously overpriced.

Biggest issue we had was that if you wanted to have a drink in the evening there was nowhere you could do this and not be crowded out by smokers. All of the bars, public areas and some of the restaurants allow smoking, come on you are a 5 star hotel surely one inside bar could be non smoking?

Hotel is in a good area 5 minute walk from the walled city and 20 from the new quarter. A few bars/cafes/restaurants within a few minutes walk that have more choice, better quality and are half the price, but not fair to mention them in this review.

All in all a good break but could so easily be improved by a non smoking bar and a little more consideration to the non French speaking independent travellers.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.

Sincerely

M.Ahmed Benkirane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We could not fault this beautiful hotel. The whole place exudes peace and tranquility. We had beautiful large room with Verandah facing pool. We ate in main restaurant as had great choice. Food beautiful cooked and presented. Staff in whole hotel very attentive.

Flower arrangements, pictures and various woks of art all over hotel and in grounds. Huge gardens with two swimming pools (one heated). Seating round pool was more than adequate, not just the usual sun beds but cabin types, hammocks etc

Excellent position as not far from main Medina etc but very quiet area.

Room Tip: We advise asking for room facing pool and on high floor. Our verandah had morning sun and then shad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa. They work exceptionally hard to make sure that every gust feels special. Thank you so much for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely

M.Ahmed Benkirane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here one night and dined in the restaurant. From the beginning to the end it was perfect.
I planned to propose to my girlfriend on the night of the 1st of March 2013 and had asked for a certain dessert and song to be played whilst having dinner.
The whole evening planned out as I had asked for you and she said yes!!
A big thank you to Antoine (Resident Manager) & Abdellatif (Restaurant & Bar Manager) that made this a night I will cherish for the rest of my life.
Food was amazing and so was the service, hats off to you all.
When you pull up in the courtyard of the hotel you soon realise you are somewhere special.
We will be back soon!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Marrakech on your visit to Marrakech. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.

Sincerely,

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#154 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#173 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Jetsetter, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.