We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #241 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Sofitel is a gorgeous hotel with spacious rooms and a fantastic pool area. We stayed here for a week in February and were greeted upon arrival with delicious mint tea and refreshing towels. The hotel is located within walking distance to many great restaurants. We were even able to walk to the souks from here. The drinks are very expensive. However we found a grocery store, also within walking distance that sold everything from food, to liquor and beer. We had breakfast included in our rate. it was very good but sometimes it took awhile to get coffee. and when we requested bottled water to drink at breakfast, we were given a pot of hot water for tea. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our breathtaking view from our room of the Atlas Mountains.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    502
    161
    85
    53
See reviews for
303
740
47
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff and service especially achraf from the palais darkum Always helpful and smiling. The food was the best Moroccan traditional available, two pools one heated and on cold with a nice fire in the evening. And top up on those complementary freebie drinks in the lounge and 11.30am at poolside

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the sofitel in February for 4 days and where impressed by the staff, the location and the restaurants and pool. The staff are very polite and attentive, whilst the restaurant food is delicious and tasty, although very overpriced. The pool was beautiful and there is choice of 2. Location is brilliant in the new city, circa 10 mins from the airport and 15 min walk to the old city square. Only issue is that we had a room where the air con was not working and the portable device did not work well - so good luck in the hotter months.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with working air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here on business/ pleasure in November 2008. Lovely, grand hotel with really attentive staff.
Rooms big and plush and great room service. Pool area very relaxing. Spa treatments also very good.
Hotel only a very short taxi ride from the souks.
As work were paying for the trip dost didn't really come into it however I understand that the hotel is quite expensive. If you have the money to spend however I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the lounge and spa side and we didn't regret , it's the modern part of the hotel , the room are spacious and bright with a modern decoration , we had a beautiful pool view . The breakfast buffet was amazing , And there is a beautiful restaurant called orrangery that I would recommend . The most impressive thing about this hotel is the staff , I want to give a special thanks to all the staff of the hotel especially Saad from the reception , farah from the garden and nisreen from the room service who spoke perfect English and was very attentive and helpful .

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed at the Sofitel Lounge and Spa in September and I could not have been happier with my choice.

I was travelling alone, and as this was my first visit to Marrakech, I wanted to make sure that I stayed somewhere close to the hustle of the medina, but also removed enough that if I wanted a quiet day to relax by the pool I could do that as well.

The hotel is conveniently located in Hivernage and a short walk from the gates of the medina. It is situated in its own grounds and has two lovely pools. Upon arriving at Marrakech airport I was met by the hotel limo and driven directly to the hotel where I was greeted by the guest services manager. As I arrived slightly earlier than standard check in time, I was shown around the hotel and facilities and invited to relax by the pool while my room was being prepared.

The room itself was spacious, with a HUGE bed and decorated in a Moroccan style. The bathroom was big as well and very clean.

The pools are lovely and the perfect place to chill out. Make sure you get there early though as it can get quite busy, and you might have to get a lounger further away from the pool.

The hotel also boasts a number of restaurants and a nightclub. The food is of a good standard, and not overly expensive. I was also lucky enough to be invited to a private event hosted in the night club, with a special guest of honor...whom I met. All done very well and I greatly enjoyed the night.

All in all the hotel was very good, what you'd expect from an international chain such as Sofitel, and the staff were very attentive. If you are travelling to Marrakech for the first time I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a great 5 days at Sofitel Marrakesh. The rooms are large and comfortable with big balconies and the facilities are excellent. Pool heated to 30 deg for winter bathing. The best aspect though was the friendly and attentive staff. We had dim lighting in our room and when we commented on this they put in additional lighting within the hour. My wife had a birthday during our stay and the hotel provided roses, a birthday cake and a tray of goodies. Excellent buffet breakfasts. Can't compliment them too highly. The only reason I do not rate them 5 star is the exorbitant cost of the spa. But you can find alternative facilities down town at half the price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking one of the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#161 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.