We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Winter Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #244 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ideal Winter Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A wonderful experience and revelation! The hotel is impressive but the outside areas absolutely fabulous. Seating, lounging, resting, relaxing all catered for. It is like having all the furniture usually indoors except its outdoors. The breakfast buffet is the best I have ever seen and def worth having. Every fruit imaginable, freshly cooked omelettes, as well as full English, freshly cooked crepes, full continental and every bread you can imagine. The staff, ratio about 5 to 1 guest, are so polite, courtious and charming. It is not cheap, about UK prices for drinks etc but then again it is a 5 star hotel. Def need to have a guide if you venture out to explore the markets and recommend shopping at the government fixed price shops if you don't like being harrased and pestered around the markets.

Room Tip: Higher floor to enjoy the view of the Atlas mountains, overlooking the pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, General Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa. It was nice to hear that breakfast exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make sure that every gust feels special. Thank you so much for staying with us.
We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    547
    179
    93
    65
See reviews for
340
809
55
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I'm very disappointed with the service. I'm a gold participant of le club program and I didn't have a welcome drink or an upgrad. The worst thing was: they put us in a bedroom worse than I paid for.
We complaint several times and spent 2 days trying to resolve the problem.
I've paid for a superior room with bathtub in the lounge and spa, the newest one. They put us in the palais royal, in an old room, noisy and with 2 twins beds together. We are still waiting for our luggages for more than 40 minutes.
Not what I expected.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Directeur d'hôtel at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We reviewed your comment regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We apologies for the misunderstanding with the room and noise.
Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely

M.Ahmed Benkirane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Definitely worth a visit. Great photo history of morocco. Don't miss it. Also great staff. Great rooftop cafe. Food was excellent. The curator charming. It's worth while buying some beautiful prints to take home. Enjoy. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Buy a print.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
308 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is located outside the Medina, about 20 minute walk to the main square, Jemaa el fnaa.

The hotel has a beautiful exterior and reception area. Very beautiful art on display. Nice arabic perfume smell inside the hotel. Check- in took some time, as we had to fill in some forms, but we were offered washcloths, juice and delicious macaroons while going through the ordeal.

We were a little disappointed with the room, which did not quite add up to the otherwise beautiful lobby, gardens and restaurant areas. The room was more four star, and it was bit dated. It also felt a bit cramped. We had booked king size bed, but was given to single beds that where put next to each other, not as comfy as a kingsize bed. The lighting is not so good in the room, at least not if you want to read. There is a safe, a minibar, bath tub and nice bathroom soaps from LÒccitane. The room was clean. We never experience any turn down service, even though we were informed that this was provided.

Breakfast was nice and plentiful. Eggs to order, crepes, cold cuts, pastries, smoothie station etc. You can its outside or inside, and the decor is very nice. We had lunch at the pool restaurant one day. Not so exciting menu, your basic sandwiches, salads and hamburgers. We had dinner in the room one night. I had the lemon chicken tagine, and I did not like it....

The staff was very friendly, courteous and professional, without exception!

We spent only a couple of hours by the pool, the pool beds are very comfortable. They had some weird entertainment by the pool with 3 guitar playing and singing men was walking around playing old hits. It was strange......

If you want something to eat between 5 and 7 in the afternoon, it seems the only option was room service or to find a restaurant in the neighborhood maybe, as nothing was open in the restaurant. The hotel is in a very quiet are with mostly other upscale hotels and a few restaurants and some upscale shops (i.e Louis Vuitton), so if you want some action you will have to go to the Medina.

The staff will address you in french, but they do speak english.

Check-out went smoothly. Can be recommended if you like big hotels, though I am sure staying in a riad would have been a lot more charming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
podgorica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Marrakech once last position before crossing the Atlas mountains and desert, today a city of terracotta, modern buildings, boulevards, grandest hotels, the Medina, and the indescribable crowd.
I stayed In Marrakech with my familly, the first days of January. In the evening and in the morning you will feel a little cold, which disappears during the sunny day. Soffitel is really a great hotel. Very impressive whan you arrive. Huge and very cozy lobby with fresh mint tea, friendly staff at reception will convince you that you're in the right place. The rooms are large enough with a terrace overlooking the Atlas Mountains. Heated outdoor pool, excellent service at the pool as well, enough sun to make you look for shadow under the umbrellas. The guys on the pool will keep your place for the next day. Small tip. Breakfast is excellent. Spa very good.. Night club with live music is the right place for relaxation. Near the hotel there are several excellent restaurants of different international cuisines. Mmmmmm !!! Fair price. Ask Concierge necessarily. Nice guys. My suggestion is to take a local guide, who will show you everything worth seeing in Marrakech. It's very cheap. In Medina, you will find a lot of nice things for the house. Price is different, depend what you want to buy, and what quality you choose. You should to haggle, it's part of their tradition. I want to come back, definitely

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Alabans,England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is very impressive when you arrive and we received a very courtious and friendly welcome, and offered fresh mint tea.
Meeting our Kuoni representative in an hour we did not get a chance to really look at the room but were not happy. Our rep said he would see if he could get them changed but was told there were no other rooms available. Later we found 10 bad faults with our rooms definitely not 5 Star, would not put up with them in a 3 star hotel. We went down to reception, asked to speak to the Manager, told him the faults and that if they could not give us the standard of room we expected we would go to another hotel. He then upgraded us and gave us 2 lovely rooms with which we were very happy. I must say the beds were so very comfortable.
All the staff were very friendly and efficient and they did everything they could to make our stay in Marakesh a memerable one.
We enjoyed the food at the hotel though had planned to eat out most evenings to enjoy Moroccan cooking to the full. We had no complaints at all with the food or service and enjoyed the entertainment at the night club in the hotel.
There are 2 swimming pools, the one nearest the restaurants is cold but the 2nd pool is very warm. The Jacuzzi is not hot. The staff around the pool are excellent finding you a suitable sunbed and towels. The sunbeds are pretty fantastic.
Except for at first being given poor rooms everything else about the hotel, its position, style, service, staff and food made our visit to Marakesh a great experience and the Sofitel was a great choice of Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old block at the end of the swiming pool 380 which was really nice. We were fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#57 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#162 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#121 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#136 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#175 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Splendia, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.