We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the mahem of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #242 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“An Oasis in the mahem of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were fortunate to find a good value package for our first trip to Morocco, and not knowing what to expect were delighted when the somewhat shaky airport transfer experience deposited us at the front of the Sofitel. It was reassuring to be greeted by polite and smartly dressed staff and shown through to the reception lounge for a glass of Moroccan Tea (delicious). Here we had an efficient booking process by charming ladies. I liked that we were shown where the lifts were and told which floor and where to find our room. Nice not to be ushered around the place by some obsequious smurf as if you have had lobotomy, a cringe we have had to endure in other 5* places.
Prior to leaving the UK we had made a request for a room with a view if possible. The room, on the top floor, had a giant of a bed - very comfy too - and a little balcony with smashing views across the pool to the Atlas mountains beyond. Thank you Meriem, you excelled yourself. We found every aspect of the hotel we encountered to be clean, tidy, and comfortable. The staff were charming and helpful without being intrusive and always seemed to have a smile. There was an art exhibition in one of the halls for interest and Internet access available from a business room. The warm pool was great, just the ticket as the weather was not kind and all the sunbeds, hammocks, and 'Bali beds' were clean and there were the plentiful towels.
We ate in l'orangerie first night and Fatima guided us through the menu beautifully. Tasty. We found the variety at breakfast was plentiful and I enjoyed trying the Moroccan dishes - something for everyone. One thing though, an area in the outside seating that for us non-smokers and others like us could have enjoyed without the whiff of burning bush would have been welcome. I would seriously suggest this is considered by the Hotel. I saw at least one minor grump by a lady who asked the chap at the table next door not to puff over her and her food. She had my sympathy.
This hotel is ideally situated so we walked everywhere (crossing the main roads is cheaper than bungee jumping into crocodile pond and just as scary!!) except at night on our way back from the Souks when we used a taxi (staff will give you an indication of cost to assist with the Taxi haggle).
Thanks to the Sofitel and the staff our first trip was a memorable one and we will return - hopefully with our two little grandaughters.

Room Tip: Our 5th floor Junior suite was lovely but noisy neighbours were heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    492
    153
    85
    53
See reviews for
288
721
48
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

i had a beautiful experience in this hotel , we enjoy our stay ,staff wonderful !!
special thanks to all pool staff , specially younes who was very helpful and professional . thanks a lot to make our stay a amazing experience

Room Tip: try to take rooms atlas view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel Longe and Spa for 4 nights, returning on the 2Oth October. Our stay at the hotel was positive, overall. The facilities are what one would expect from a 5 star hotel. Friendly staff, large, well appointed room, huge comfy bed, decent bathroom. Bed linen is changed every day, and towels twice a day. The lighting was a bit on the dull side, but that is an issue of style over function. There are no tea or coffee making facilities which is a shame, but not unusual. Our room had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and garden which we found relaxing. Unfortunately the weather turned cool and rainy, which put a damper on our stay.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. If you want ordinary tea, be sure to ask for Liptons.

Drinks seem expensive, and the price varies according to which bar you are in. Two gin and tonics can cost 220Dirhams, about £16.00. A 330ml can of tonic is £4.25. However, the gins are at least double strength, so I suppose we can't complain too much. Beers are about £4.00 for a small bottle. The So Bar and the Orangery have live music every evening for about 3 hours and are good places to relax and unwind.

I found dinner in the main restaurant disappointing, but have never been a fan of "local dish" which seems to be an excuse for charging premium prices for low quality food. When I said I hadn't enjoyed the meal, (lamb and couscous) the chef came to the table and was very apologetic, offering to cook me another meal. His concern was genuine, but I really couldn't face more of the same. I've back packed in India and had no problem with the food, but this didn't float my boat, sad to say. When I'm paying western prices I do expect quality ingredients, not scrag end of neck, overcooked vegetables and a mound of tasteless padding.

On a more positive note, the staff were friendly and happily spoke to us in English. We experienced no discrimination on that score.

On balance, I would recommend the Sofitel Lounge and Bar, especially if, as we did, you can get a good deal from a travel agency. Marrakesh itself is another story altogether, and those who are planning a trip should read the Marrakesh T.A. forum and take note of the negatives, which although in the minority, give a more realistic view of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I can say on average is was a good stay with good beds restaurant breakfast and staff but the overriding problem was the horrible AC noise from outside which completely made any time in the room impossible.
We asked to be moved. This took 4 days . The new room was great.
If you are unlucky enough to be put into the noisy wing I feel sorry for you.
Would have been 4 stars but for the noise.

Room Tip: Terrible AC noise outside of some rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very relaxing four day trip at Sofitel Loung & Spa. We were a party of 8 and booked superior rooms with pool view. Beds were really comfortable, rooms were a good size with a great balcony area. Only negative comment regarding the rooms would be the lighting. There are bed side lamps and a lamp on the table but no central lighting, so it is quite dark in the evenings when you are getting ready.

There are two outdor pools (one warm/one cold!) both which had plenty of sun loungers (individual and bed style) with staff replenishing towels regularly. There were quite a lot of flies when sun bathing by the pool which you are constantly brushing away, but not sure how the hotel could remedy this?! Spa area was really stylish although needed to book treatments in advance - there was no availability for Friday afternoon/Saturday morning so I was unable to book, but two other people in my party were able to secure bookings earlier in the week.

Breakfast choices were plentiful - egg station, crepe station, cold meats/cheeses, salmon, pastries, breads, fruit and yoghurts. Food was of a really good standard. I particularly liked the 'smoothie station' where they made smoothies to order. Lunch menu by the pool also had good choices and was reasonably priced. The bar area in the SO bar was nice & drinks were expensive for Marrakech but what you'd expect in a 5* hotel - vodka and mixer was £8/£10 but Morrocan wine was reasonable at £15 a bottle. Staff in the restaurants were really attentive.

There was an issue with one of our rooms (it was booked as a twin and upon arrival was a double). Reception were slow in resolving the issue. However, the hotel Manager introduced himself, asking how our stay was whilst we were at the pool and when I mentioned this to him it was resolved within 30 mins of the conversation.

Hotel is a great location, 10 mins from the main square and 15 from the airport. Really enjoyed my stay and would definitely return if back in Marrakech

Room Tip: Superior rooms with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just returned from 4 days at teh Sofitel in Marrakech.

Hotel was excellent, just a few things to consider:

1. Learn French, as they seem to get special treatment
2. Take some fly spray, as its not relaxing sunbathing by the pool constantly being attacked by fly's
3. Don't tust the reception staff, they can be very missleading, promise things and change their minds
4. Get down early for breakfast

The Hotel is very much an oasis from the chaios outside

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

First impression was the building and the interior design of the building which was we were expecting for as a palace. On the way walking in, we just hoped that our a-week holiday would have been unforgettable, YES it was horribly unforgettable one.

At the reception, the welcoming was SO COLD, 20 mins to get the check in process completed and get a room key. A guy who was checking us in, just left in the middle of the process (Dinner break?) and a young lady just took care of the rest without excusing or explaining anything to us, and we started again. (She said you filled in the form and I will be back) SO unprofessional. No information about the hotel facilities given neither any anticipation of our expectation. We discovered by ourselves each day.

On the following day, we asked where we could find the breakfast room, a girl just point to the right and say it's just over there.

Poor service of the Pool bar restaurant even though the pricy item on the menu which we were ready to pay. A lot of staffs walking around doing nothing instead of giving attention towards the guests.

Many technical issues encountered during the stay, the room was not at all what we expected. Bed was not comfortable at all, A/C didn't work and etc.

Having walked and seen so many staffs on the corridor each day, they just ignored us, didn't even say "Hi". In general, the service was horribly far away from what we call Luxury.

Very disappointing and highly not recommended.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#161 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.